We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get your act together! Your service stunk!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
LaPorte, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Get your act together! Your service stunk!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

A group of 10 families recently stayed in this hotel. We were traveling with teen girls on a volleyball team. We booked 10 rooms for two nights, about $3,000, however you refused to allow our girls to eat a Papa Johns pizza at the tables in the breakfast room. There was NO OTHER customers in the area. No other hotel has told us "to leave" the table area. Parents had purchased beverages there. Short bartender "complained loudly" that she would lose her job if we ate pizza in there. She was so obnoxious. I asked the front desk if we could use the tables. The clerk stared right through me and told me NO, we could eat in the lobby, sitting on the floor or standing.
One family was given a handicap room with only one bed. This was for the two parents and a teen daughter. They were told it was the only room available. There was no pull out in the room. No one at the desk would assist them in any way. The daughter slept upright in a chair in the room. Not acceptable service.
Why would you charge our charge cards full 2 nights plus a $50 deposit before we even stayed here?
The manager with the long dark hair was the only friendly person at the desk the entire weekend. The other younger clerks were bored with us each time we asked a question.
They lacked professionalism and training.
The only positive note, the rooms were clean, the breakfast staff was excellent. The new waitress in the bar area was understanding and friendly although couldn't help us with the girls eating the pizza at a table.
The breakfast layout was a bit hard to understand. If you needed juice, you had to ask for it. The breakfast ladies were great. Most customers didn't know that the kitchen would make a waffle upon request.
Since this hotel is right across the street from the fair grounds, I don't know how you could possibly service the crowd that you may draw this summer. Good luck during fair season. We will never come back or recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No rooms are good if the service is bad!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndianaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    79
    49
    22
    15
See reviews for
59
40
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Carlisle, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

FACTS: My daughter's volleyball team stayed at this hotel (which is now a Four Points) the weekend of March 8-10. The 10 rooms were booked as part of a block in December 2012. Our room rate was $129+tax.

I will start with the positives:
1. The location was great. It was right across the street from the Kentucky Exposition Center (where we were my daughter's team was playing). I was also told it is a very short distance from Churchhill Downs.
2. The rooms were very nice, clean and the set-up was great. (We had mostly king suites with pullout sofas.)
3. I rated the sleep quality at an average because there were a couple times in the night when I was awoken by planes taking off and landing at the Louisville Airport. However, I was actually surprised it wasn't more often given how close it is to the airport.
4. The bar/restaurant was clean and comfortable. It was a great place to relax. (For food and service, see below.)

Now for the negatives:

1. When we arrived we were surprised to find out that the hotel had changed ownership. Many of the members of our group drove around for quite awhile before we were able to get ahold of them and tell them about the change. It would have been nice to get an introductory email stating we shouldn't be looking for a Country Inn & Suites and it was actually a Four Points by Sheraton now. When we asked the desk staff about it, they said they didn't have our email addresses to send an annoucement which was a lie because we all proved they had emailed our confirmations.
2. We reserved a block of 10 rooms. All were supposed to have 10 king suites with pullout sofa beds. However, two families in our group were given rooms with no pullout sofa. The hotel claimed we only blocked 8 rooms which is ridiculous because there are 10 players on the team. We even showed them the block confirmation which clearly showed 10 king suites with a pull out sofa.
3. One of the families was assigned a handicap accessible room while no one in their family was handicapped. While that is not a huge deal to us, it would have been if someone in need of handicap facilities arrived to find no handicap rooms available.
4. The same family who was given the handicap room found out the morning after we arrived (when they were trying to get ready to go to the tournament) that they had no electric in their bathroom. When they called the front desk, they were basically given a 'tough luck' speech. They were told they would have to stay in their room because no other rooms were available. While that may have been true, there are better ways to communicate that other than, "Tough luck, you can complain to the manager when he comes in on Monday or you can talk to the 'owner' Anna when she comes in Sunday morning."
5. On our arrival night, the parents on the team went to the restaurant for a cocktail and some ordered food. Two adults ordered a sandwich with fries and two players ordered mozzerella sticks. When the food arrived the fries were cold (some were still frozen in the middle). The mozzerella stick were also still frozen and had to be returned to the kitchen. The food prices were out of line with the quality of the food that was presented but the waitress (I wish I could remember her name) was very nice and worked hard to make sure everything was good the second time around.
6. On Saturday night after being at the volleyball tournament for almost 10 hours, we returned to the hotel and ordered pizza for the team. When the pizza arrived we were told by the bartender/bar manager that the girls were allowed to eat the pizza there or she 'would get fired' and she 'wasn't going to lose her job over a pizza'. While that was kind of ridiculous, especially given that it was delivered so rudely, we moved the players further into the lobby where they were forced to sit on the floor.
7. After 'pizza-gate', several of the parents wanted to move back into the bar/restaurant around 10pm to have a night-cap and were told the bar was now closed even though the posted closing time was 11pm. We were a little shocked by that given the bar was still quite crowded. However, our waitress from the previous night came to the rescue again and got us the drinks we needed herself. It appeared the bartender/bar manager wouldn't even help her although she was more than willing to get drinks for the men at the bar she was flirting with.
8. While at the tournament on Saturday one of the parents noticed money was missing from her bank account. Several more of us checked our accounts to find they we were also missing money. After further review, we found the hotel had charged us even though our stay wasn't complete. Not only were we charged the room price (of which 2 of the 10 rooms was overcharged), they added $60 for 'incidentals'. When we arrived back at the hotel and asked the front desk personnel about this one of the clerks was extremely rude. Basically, it was another 'get over it' attitude. The other clerk (I wish I could remember her name) was VERY pleasant and worked very hard to fix the errors. This was another situation, (along with informing us of the hotel change) that would have been fine if we had been made aware of it at check-in.

The theme running through this whole review is an incredible lack of customer service, especially since the new company only took over within the last month. The hotel itself is very nice. However, even given how nice the hotel itself is, our club will never stay there again and I will recommend to anyone who asks that if they value customer service, they should not stay there either. Several of the people in our group had reservations there for upcoming events in Louisville even changed their reservation to other area hotels because of the disappointing level of customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Please be cautious about giving a credit card for room charges because you will be charged way over what the charge should have been. We were charged 200 for a security deposit but was not informed about this and was accused of smoking in room which did not occur...a total of $512.71 for a $112.71 room charge for one night...we were traveling because my sister passed away and going to funeral the next morning...what a shame....we are in process of getting 200 of the money back from our bank but please do not stay here or past with cash...we were told cash was not accepted

Room Tip: Do Not Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CollegeStudent42533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nick r, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
According to our no smoking policy, which guest is made aware of and then guest initial it by $200.00 charge for smoking in 100% nonsmoking facility, therefore extra charge is valid on top of the guest 1 night stay charges. The total guest was charged is $312.71 not $512.71.

Thank you

Nick Rama
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, IL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This hotel was fine, not great not awful but perfectly fine. This trip we are staying in CI & S's to take advantage of a sale. The only thing wrong with the room is the TV, we were expecting a flat screen we could plug my laptop into but it was a regular old CRT that cut out to a red screen a few minutes after it was turned on. The wifi was OK and the room was clean and very big. Nothing to rave about either way just another data point.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadcacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed 4 nights in October during a busy trade show. Located directly across the street from the fairgrounds. Easy parking, easy loading and unloading. Pool area was clean. The workout room had more than the standard motel equipment. Had to turn on the air myself as the system was shut off - no problem with that if they are not wasting energy. Most enjoyable was the regular smell of fresh baked cookies in the lobby, the breakfast attendant always saying good morning, the extremely helpful front desk attendants and the offering of coupons to help us save at the grill across the street. The room was spacious and clean. Bed comfortable. They could use more vending machines. Also it was nice to get the USA Today in the lobby. Breakfast room is big and open with some hot choices. Can use 2 lobby based computers and also print. A practical and friendly location. I couldn't suggest much that would need changing.

Room Tip: there is no restaurant or spa. If you want the quietest rooms get the front of the hotel facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norm n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Joseph
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Located close to interstate system, U of K Cardinals sport facilities and to Churchill Downs. Host was helpful to inform us restaurants and other business in the area. Gave good directions on several places we wanted to see while in Louisville. Room was quite and clean. Ask for directions to "Frank's Deli" a very small deli with carryout only, I haven't seen an old time over the counter sandwich- deli butcher shop like this in a number of years. Yes I have been to N.Y, Chicago and Frisco, but Frank's is out of the history books with GREAT SANDWICHES.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

I like to stay on Country Inn when I travel on business and I can say this one was not one of the nicer ones I have stayed at. The rooms weren't bad, but the location and hotel construction is the reason I marked this one as average. Also, they are apparently changing chains so at some point they will cease to be a country inn (at least that was my understanding from the girl at the front desk). I might/might not be back to this location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcoolman1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
South Side
Courtyard Louisville Airport
Courtyard Louisville Airport
#44 of 97 in Louisville
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Crowne Plaza Hotel Louisville-Airport KY Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
Address: 2850 Crittenden Dr, Louisville, KY 40209-1116 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville Airport North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Fairgrounds , South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derby City Delights. Whether you’re here for business, pleasure, or both, the Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport offers a perfect location for exploring the city. Our free airport shuttle will take you to and from Louisville International Airport (SDF), which is about five minutes away. The Kentucky Exposition Center is across the street, and we’re also close to Churchill Downs, the University of Louisville’s sports venues, and downtown’s many attractions.Service with Style. Everything you need or want is here, including a fitness center, pool, spa, business center, and helpful staff to guide you around the hotel and city. Enjoy classic American dishes and drinks at our restaurant and lounge. Our two state-of-the-art function rooms are ready to stage memorable meetings and events.Home away from Home. Our 117 spacious guest rooms are designed to help you relax when you’re on the road. Get a good night’s sleep on a plush Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Bed. For your convenience, each room features a refrigerator, microwave, and free extras like wireless High Speed Internet Access and bottled water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville Airport North Hotel Louisville
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Louisville Airport North
Country Inn Louisville
Louisville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing