We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Louisville Downtown gets an "okay"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Marriott Louisville Downtown gets an "okay"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

I recently attended a week-long conference in Louisville and stayed at the Marriott Louisville Downtown. I found the room comfortable and the bed and linens made it a perfect night's sleep.
I did ask for a refrigerator and had to call a second time when it never arrived and I do think housekeeping didn't do a great job cleaning, A water glass was left, an old coffee was left...and they also came rather late in the day. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and helpful and generally the accommodations were fine. Brunch was nothing to rave about...I would even say the food was not terribly impressive but for being at a conference, the hotel was just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojosmojo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the comfortable beds but diappointed with the challenges on some of the touch points of your stay. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping and restaurant teams so that we can continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    295
    67
    31
    17
See reviews for
101
138
34
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Attended a two day conference at this hotel and was impressed with the service by staff in all preparations for meetings, and very impressed with the great food provided at breaks, breakfast and lunch. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of town with plenty of activities around.
The rooms were what one would expect at a 4 star hotel and the food in the lounge was exceptionally good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your conference experience at the Louisivlle Downtown Marriott. We are glad that you enjoyed the service and the food served throughout the conference. We take pride in the fact the Louisville Marriott consistantly has scored in the top 5% of all Marriott Hotels for our conference service scores. Thank you again for acknowledging this and we will be sure to share your commnents with our team.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
171 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

It was my birthday weekend and we decided to spend it at 4th street live and this hotel was close for walking to 4th street.
I went with my boyfriend and another couple( his best friend who'd just got back from serving 2 weeks prior) we used the valet when we arrived and they checked us in and got us rooms next to each other.
My boyfriends friend brought him back this very expesive flashlight surefire z2x combat light that he served 3 terms with in Afghanistan and Iraq.
It was irreplaceable , he had used it in combat and gave it to my boyfriend as a gift, so it has sentimental value.
The flashlight was in my boyfriends back pack, he never took it out the entire time we were there, the backpack stayed in the room when we went out for the night.
It wasn't until the next day on our drive back home that he noticed it was missing.
We searched the entire car incase it had fallen out and it had not.
My boyfriend called the hotel and has emailed them.
They just said nothing came up in lost and found, they spoke to the maid and also looked at the hallway cameras and couldn't find anything.
Well of course it did not show up, if by some chance it was left in the room, you can see it is valuable, so it may have been taken and it's quite small that it can be hidden.
I have stayed at many hotels, wrote quite a few reviews and if you were to look over them you'd see that this has never happened before, I've never left a hotel without all that I arrived there with.
What would be nice is just acknowledgement of the issue and an apology.
Other than this the hotel itself was clean and in a good location for downtown, had this not happened I would have given a 4 start rating not a 1, this was my first 1 rating of any hotel I've stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize that we were unable to located or determine what happened to the missing flashlight. If you can contact me direct at paul.kiley@marriottlouisville.com or 502-671-4204, I would be happy to speak with your further.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel 22/23 Jun 12 for business.
Checked in/out was excellent-given a King Guest room. Excellent staff and customer service skill and awesome fitness/Rec facility.
Hotel close (walking dist) to everything-bars, clubs, pubs, restaurants and tourist venues.
Had dinner @ Hard Rock and cocktails @ the Pub on 4th Street Live.
One of the most friendliest state I been to.
Went for a run on the Waterfront Park along the Ohio River and Old Louisville on 4th Street. Visit Slugger Field and Museum, Fort Duffield near West Point and General George Patton Museum @ Fort Knox.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GalavantingJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDFLM, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank your the kind comments from your stay with us. We are glad that you have great visit and ejoyed the friendliness of the city. Waterfront park is a favorite running spot for our guests and we are thrilled that you could take advantage of it during your stay. Please come back and see us in the future.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The Marriott has an exceptionally helpful staff, is in the middle of downtown, and has clean, quiet rooms. It's my pick for meetings in Louisville. Fourth Street Live is a block away, and has several good, casual restaurants with outdoor seating. It's a short walk to the waterfront. Request an upper floor room with a river view.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichBustrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We are excited that you had a great service experience and found time to take advantage to the many things that downtown Louisville has to offer. We appreciate the strong endorsement and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOWLING GREEN, KY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel is a excellent hotel and we would highly recommeded it. Three blocks from 4th st live and walking distance to many places....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geminis1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had a great stay and were also able to take advantage to many of the leisure activities located within steps to the hotel. We look forward to hosting you once again when your travel plans bring you back to Louisville. Thank you again for sharing your guest experience.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here for a meeting at the Marriott. I found the staff to be extremely courteous and friendly. The room was nice and well appointed. The meeting rooms were large and convenient. I always find it slightly aggravating that a hotel like this charges for WiFi service in the room and a lesser motel (probably down the street it's complimentary. Other than nice location that is close to many restaurants and not too far from the river.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We are excited that you had a great stay and were able to get out and enjoy Downtown Louisville. We will review your commnets at our staff meeting and appreciate you taking the time to share with our team.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#6 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Property: Louisville Marriott Downtown
Address: 280 West Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing