We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eh, clean hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
99 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eh, clean hotel ”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy, average hotel. It was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. There was a convention in town, which made it kind of loud outside of the room (inside was quiet). It is within walking distance, but not a close walking distance to the river.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rabulione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    300
    75
    31
    19
See reviews for
107
145
35
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Generally I find Marriott's pretty good, staff try hard etc. At this Marriott I think they find it easy to fill the hotel so don't try that hard. I'd booked a twin bed room and was told it was a river view room when I checked in only to find the view I had was of the wall of the convention centre opposite. When I queried it I was told that actually it's "a river direction view room"! Why bother?
That kind of set the tone, the room was fine, clean etc if a little spartan. I joined a colleague for breakfast in the Club Lounge. It was okay.
Overall, quite expensive & nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: If you actually want to see the river go for a high floor, I was on the 8th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PXJSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
PXJSingapore,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your feedback even though we failed to meet your expectations on your recent trip. Let me assure you that this failing is the exception rather than the rule.

Our hotel tries to provide world class customer service and we clearly did not do that during your stay. We would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again in the future. When you come back to Louisville please reach out to me directly at: eamon.obrien@marriottlouisville.com so I can ensure you are most comfortable while here.

In the meantime, we will continuously train our staff on explaining our various room types/views to our guests to ensure that the room types requested are honored whenever possible.

Thank you again,
Eamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel for someone needing to stay downtown. It is within safe walking distance to Yum Center, shopping, and restaurants. The Sky Walk is connected to this hotel. The food is really good as well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I enjoyed a stay at the Marriott in downtown Louisville while I was attending a conference. The location was terrific for me since it had a walkover to the convention center where I attended meetings. There is a lot to do within walking distance of the hotel...restaurants, museums, riverfront. It is a block away from the free 4th street trolley and the free Market St. trolley. These free trolleys can take you to most of the places you want to go downtown. My room was on the 10th floor, and was very quiet with a very comfortable bed. The room has a coffee maker and frig, but no microwave. The hotel has 2 very nice restaurants on site. The buffet breakfast is good, but costs extra--not included in room price. The use of the computers in the business center did not cost extra like so many hotels---nice touch. The staff at this hotel was outstanding! They were always very helpful and friendly. In fact, we found all of Louisville to be this way.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CajunCountryBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
CajunCountryBR,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel and city. We are so thankful you decided to stay with us and more excited that you were able to experience much that Louisville has to offer. While we are hosting Derby this weekend, the city has a ton to offer throughout the year!

We look forward to serving you again on your next trip. In the meantime, I will enjoy some Benjy Davis from your fine city.

Take care,
Eamon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruceton Mills, West Virginia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice now for conventions, two nights each time.

The pros:

This hotel is spacious and even though it houses a lot of guests, the elevators are generally fast enough to clear the lobby of even convention sized crowds.

Staff are friendly, there are plenty of them, and we felt well taken care of.

The convention space is large and we felt that even though we were in the city, our teens were safe in the hotel.

The in-house restaurant/sports bar (Champions) is excellent.

The beds, although only double sized, were comfortable, and room amenities above average. The only complaint about the beds was the pillows. One was a small thin feather pillow while the other was a huge 2 foot square lump of solid, dense fill. Neither was really appropriate as a pillow for sleeping and I was glad that I'd brought my own pillow.

The cons:

Internet is not free (although in some circumstances such as a convention your group might be able to negotiate this point).

Parking access is clunky and the booths are not staffed 24 hours a day. When you're staying in the hotel this is not a problem, but keep your room key for your final departure or you may not be able to exit the garage.

The mini-fridge in everybody's rooms tended to freeze anything put inside after about 12 hours. The garage elevators (there are only two) were very slow and created huge queues.

Electrical outlets: To plug in my cpap machine I had to pull up the mattress and reach far behind the bed to get to an outlet which was already in use by the clock radio and bedside lamp. I had to choose between knowing what time it was or being able to see. Even at the desk there were only two outlets. With three teens staying in my room with me, those two outlets looked like the snarl seen in the movie "A Christmas Story".

Tip: if you are using the hotel parking garage and there is a big line for the garage elevators, try talking to one of the bell boys or the front desk for the location of the nearest stairs. If you are fit enough to carry your luggage down a few flights of stairs, you can save some waiting.

Food:

I'll cover the Champions Restaurant in another review, but in short, it is a nice in-hotel restaurant serving excellent food quickly, and for a reasonable price. There is another restaurant in-house, but it was too pricey for our group. There is also a Starbucks in-house.

A short walk away is "Fourth Street Live", a collection of restaurants and shops including Gorton Biersch and Hard Rock, as well as a large food court with all the usual suspects (the food court closes at 6pm).

There is a Papa Johns Pizza located on the opposite corner of the hotel, near enough for a quick takeout pie.

Room Tip: High Floors have a terrific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copperdragon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 2 night while we were in town for the Derby Half Marathon. The hotel is easy to get to off of the highway and valet parking was a breeze. I recommend Marriott mobile check in service, we were parked and in our room within 15 minutes!

We were on the top floor with a view of the city. The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. My only complaint would be the closet which was shallow and tiny and almost felt like an after thought.

We ate at the italian restaurant and also at Champions which are both in the hotel lobby. It was nice to have decent food options without having to leave. The location of the hotel is within walking distance to other great restaurants, 4th street Live, and a CVS. We were also right across the street to the convention center which made for a very convenient trip to pick up our packets for the race.

Overall a great stay with reasonable rates and friendly service. We'd be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katydid1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here for the Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon. Hotel was perfect. Directly across the street from the expo at the Convention Center, lots of restaurants near by and only a few blocks from the start/finish lines. Booked through the marathon website for $135 plus tax. Parking was $22 underneath the hotel. Had a nice riverview on the 16th floor (of 17). Comfortable beds. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a downtown hotel and especially for those in town for the half or full marathons.

Room Tip: Request a riverview or north-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcityplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eamon_OBrien, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
jmcityplanner,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. And congratulations on running the marathon! Being well fed and well rested are two very important things for race day so thank you for allowing us to serve you.

Next time you will have to come and visit Louisville when you don't have a race so you can enjoy all that Bourbon Country has to offer.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,783 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Property: Louisville Marriott Downtown
Address: 280 West Jefferson, Louisville, KY 40202
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Louisville Marriott Downtown is an ideally located hotel in Louisville, KY - situated in the heart of the city connected to Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk. Our hotel is near many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at our 4-star hotel in Louisville enjoy many luxurious amenities including an on-site Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are on-site as well for delicious dining options for dinner. To start your day, you can enjoy a signature Starbucks Coffee at Louisville Marriott Downtown. Choose Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country in Kentucky! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing