We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mussels!!!”

Mussel & Burger Bar
Ranked #13 of 1,766 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
562 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Mussels!!!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The mussels were excellent. I had the goat cheese salad and appetizer size mussels. Both were excellent. The service was great. The beer selection was awesome. I do wish they had draft beer. Wine in a jar glass is silly - get wine glasses! My husband's burger was delicious. The sweet potato fries were wonderful. We will go back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chouette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    133
    31
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING mussels... great atmosphere...”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We went for an early lunch on a Monday morning and the place was empty. We were the only table for 45 min. The service was good, I am assuming because it had to be with only one table to serve. It was three of us, all picky-NY'ers and we ordered the beer and blue cheese mussels which were some of the best mussels we'd ever had. The soft shell crab sliders were also divine and it would've been nice to have 1 more in the serving. The french fries were an impeccable side and dipped into the mussel's sauce was an added treat. The veg-burger was a bit spicy and unexpected as we weren't able to finish it because of that. The caesar salad, with actual anchovies on top (yay!) was awesome, considering it was just a salad and there's just so much you can do with that. The atmosphere would've been perfect for a martini and burger at the bar for a late night date or with friends and I would definitely return here, even if just for that. The beautiful bathrooms (someone once told me to judge a restaurant by its bathroom to REALLY see how clean the kitchen is) were the nicest I'd ever seen. My next trip to Louisville I will definitely come back here and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. My ONLY tidbit of helpful info is to make sure you order a large side of fries or bread to make sure to dip into the mussel sauce if you order mussels. It truly was the BEST part of the meal. ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taylormccomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“incredible burger, not so good service”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a newer burger place that I had heard so much about. We arrived around 6pm and there was a 45 min wait.

The burgers were so good, but I felt that our poor server could not handle all the tables he had.

next time we will do carryout or come even earlier

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouisvilleWildcatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“eclectic”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I had heard good reviews and was expecting a 'joint' with a name such as it has. The decor gives the impression of an upmarket menu but then you are greeted with Mason jars as water, and wine, glasses. I can only describe the menu as rather novel fast food. I had fish tacos with red cabbage which were quite good although the fried fish was still dripping oil. Our waiter's knowledge left a bit to be desired.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 9690304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

If you are looking for a fun, hip, out of the ordinary restaurant, this is it. Great food, craft beers, casual. I will be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HalDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mussel & Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mussel & Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing