We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy service can ruin a good meal”

Mussel & Burger Bar
Ranked #14 of 1,770 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lexington, Kentucky USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lousy service can ruin a good meal”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Family wanted to take us someplace nice when we visited Louisville, and M&BB won the toss. On a Tuesday evening we considered it a good sign that there was a wait to be seated. Once at the table, the waiter turned up almost immediately to take our drink orders - which turned out to be water, all around; and we ordered an appetizer (Nachos) for the table to share.

When the appetizer was delivered we placed our food orders. Since we'd just returned from France where mussels were standard (and exceptional) fare throughout Brittany and Normandy, we decided to stick with good old American burgers ... and one Philly Mushroom sandwich. We had to ask for flatware and napkins but, once we had them, the nachos were excellent.

Forty-five minutes later, while the tables around us came, were served and left, we flagged down the waiter and asked about our food orders. His rather sharp response was that other tables had been waiting longer than we had. I'm sure that was true but our food did show up within the next few minutes.

The burgers were good and well-prepared but exceptional only in the variety of toppings available. The Philly Mushroom sandwich (on a French baguette) was more of a bread-and-mushroom thing. I've had better at Subway.

We did see the waiter once when he brought more water to the table and once when he delivered the check.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank comunikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    138
    31
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
274 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“I love this place.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I eat here anytime I am near this place. It is located in a terrible spot, but the food is amazing. I had the Cubana Burger, again. For an extra dollar you can substitute the steak fires for any other potato. This is a must if you like truffle. The steak fries are thick slabs of fresh potatoes fried crispy. Not some frozen variety potato. They come with a truffle mayo that if wonderful. I've never eaten dessert here because I'm so full from the burger.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Mussels!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Probably the best mussels I have ever had! M&BB has so many mussel choices that it is difficult to make up your mind. I've had or tried probably six different recipes and they were all outstanding. Appitizers fall in the same catagory. Can't speak to the burger side of the menu as the mussels are just too good ...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellence from beginning to end”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

When you dine at M&BB, you're going to have to make some tough choices. The first is which direction you want your dining experience to head. Do you want to go the oceanic route, with mussels brined in some of the best broths around or do you want to follow the path of the cow and experience some of the best burgers in Louisville? Either choice is valid and both will leave you well satisfied.

You can, of course, cheat and get an order of mussels in the appetizer portion and follow it with some prime beef, but then you'd be missing out on the short rib nachos, one of my absolute favorite starters in Louisville.

My recommendation - go with whatever you're in the mood for that evening, because after you've visited you're going to be coming back again.

If you come between the hours of 6:20 pm and 8:45 pm, chances are you'll be waiting for a table, even on weeknights. There is a bar area (with fantastic drinks and a good beer list) that has tables, but they also fill up.

My go-to choices:
Starters-
Short rib nachos

Sandwiches-
BBB Bacon Breakfast Burger (onions, aged white cheddar, maple syrup aioli, maple glazed pork belly, fried farm egg, sweet potato fries with smoked pineapple dipping sauce)
Short Rib Grilled Cheese (braised short ribs, gruyere cheese, caramilized onions on homemade brioche bread)

Mussels-
Mexican (Guajilla broth, cilantro, queso fresco)
Moules Basquaise (Chorizo, olive oil, lobster sofrito broth, piquillo peppers, Piment d'Espelette, onions)

Sides / Afters -
Strawberry milkshake
Maple glazed bacon beignets with a scoop of their homemade ice cream

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theAmishWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Ole Burger”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Can't speak to the mussel part of Mussel & Burger Bar, but if it's a big old juicy burger you want this is your place. On menu are some really fancy burgers like the Southern Belle Burger and the C.E.O burger with foie gras and truffle oil fries. My favorite burger, however, is the Good Ole Burger. Served piping hot on a chewy pretzel bun with crispy coated fries, it's not an everyday meal if you want to keep your cholesterol in check. But with the popularity of this restaurant, the occasional visit is worth the wait and the calories. There are healthy choices on the menu, but the burgers are so darn delicious that it's hard to be good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank derbycitylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mussel & Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mussel & Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing