We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We walked over the Ohio River to Indiana!”

The Big Four Bridge
Ranked #5 of 171 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Duffield, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We walked over the Ohio River to Indiana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The park on the Louisville was very clean and easily accessed. We were pleasantly surprised with the speakers along the bridge playing music. We were able to still at our own pace without concern of holding up other walkers. Benches and trash cans were plentiful. The Indiana side was disappointing, as it had not been completed. We were able to exit the bridge into Jeffersonville through the construction site. There was no labeling or instruction as to facilities in the town. We wondered around a bit and was able to locate a restaurant to get something to drink before our trip back,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    865
    287
    41
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“This is how you do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I am completely impressed with Louisville and this is just one of many reasons why! What do you do with an old railroad bridge that spans a river near the downtown corridor? If you're a forward thinking city planner like those in Louisville you turn it into the star attraction for a vibrant riverfront park. It was awesome to see the revitalized bridge serve as a place for walkers, joggers and bicyclists to share such a fantastic space. It was clean, well maintained and fun. I applaud the city for banning dogs which goes a long way to keeping it clean.

This really is how you do it, city planners take note, Louisville is showing you how its done! This is a can't miss stop if you are looking to walk and enjoy a wonderful view of the city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pablo_a2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sellersburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
355 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great views and exercise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

After eating at a nearby restaurant, you can walk dinner off on the bridge. The walk up can wear some people out, but it levels out at the top. The views of downtown were great. Music was piped in at the midway point (they played the Beatles when we visited). The only drawback was the bridge is not open to dogs (thanks to those who are inconsiderate in cleaning up after their pets). Great asset to the community.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ManningAvenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owensboro
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to take a stroll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is even better now that the Indiana side is now open. Walled it twice while we were there, definitely got our exercise. Too bad we heard you can't wall over at night without the chance of being mugged. They (Louisville PD or Jeff PD need to patrol more often and make it safe for night time walks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daves W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“seems like the area is revitalizing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I took a short Sunday walk, mainly to take a peek at Jeffersonville, IN. I also heard from a shopkeeper that this was only recently converted into a pedestrian bridge. It is accessed from the Waterfront park on the Louisville side. The Jeffersonville side has lots of construction still. The Louisville Waterfront park also has some construction. It is a nice stroll, and life on the Ohio River brings up images from Mark Twain. There were lots of families and bicyclists out and about. I hope work on this area near completion soon. IT seems like a nice urban outdoor activity for all. Also interesting to learn about the bridge's history and that it was named for the 'Big Four' railroad companies at the time it was built.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mt188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Big Four Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing