We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every Portion Is Close to Perfection”
Review of The Oakroom

The Oakroom
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oakroom is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #258 of 1,768 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Muhammad Ali Boulevard
Description: As the only AAA Five Diamond rated restaurant with the largest wine selection in the state of Kentucky, our award-winning staff infuse naturally grown or raised ingredients to bring you impeccable service and extraordinary cuisine.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Every Portion Is Close to Perfection”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

That is the Oakroom. An extraordinary meal every time. The chefs earn the Five Diamonds here. I don't know how they do it every time. Devotion, I guess. Maybe they care more than the average upscale pro.
Anyhow, it shows, and you can taste it, too. Really picky foodies, who have turned away dishes by the master chefs on TV, are ready to roll on the antique carpet and beg for more in the Oakroom. Picky clientele, international private jet set sails in periodically. But the service is meticulous regardless of what you are ordering. If it's a glass of ice tea, it will arrive as if angels have poured it. Listen up. There are angel voices hovering around. Even around your cocktail. Comin pretty close to the food of Paradise. It is nearly wierd and disconcerting. Don't blink, you'll think you be dead and have gone to Heaven. But nah. It's still a horsey town, and outside, it's still purgatory: win some, lose some. But while you are sitting in the Oakroom, you are definitely winning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    28
    9
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD and NYC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I only visited once for wine and appetizers”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Partly because that was all I could afford. I've lived on the E. Coast and my wife is from Manhattan. This place is just like that although ambience, history is awesome as is the food and wine selection. Service is superior. If you want to celebrate an event this is an outstanding place to do so!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
1,104 reviews
570 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Fabulous! A Gourmet Dinner!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent! Dinner at this fabulous restaurant is wonderful for a special occasion or someone seeking a fine dining experience. It lives up and surpasses its Five Diamond rating. Chef Patrick prepared an elegant and delicious five course dinner for us featuring seafood as we requested. Each dish was beautifully presented and luscious. The service was also very good. The décor is rich woods with a warm yet elegant feel. Anyone seeking a unique gourmet and fine dining experience will definitely be pleased with The Oakroom.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
333 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Going Back in Time”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

really cool place. I was told that Capone used to frequent this facility back in the day and you could just imagine him sitting here having a drink or a cigar in the oakroom. Really cool!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fanciest, Most Amazing Dinner of My Life”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

One of my wedding gifts, back in 2004, was a dinner at the Oakroom. Admittedly, it was years ago, but I am looking forward to going back next time I'm in Louisville. It is still, to this day, the fanciest dinner I ever had; my memories of this dinner are happier than the marriage that followed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WDavidTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie D, Manager at The Oakroom, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
David,
Please come back in for a visit! Chef Patrick is doing really fantastic food and I'd love to get you into some fabulous wine pairings! We are so happy that you've maintained such a fond memory of us, we look forward to creating some new ones.

Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oakroom also viewed

 

Been to The Oakroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing