We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRUE New York Pizza!!”
Review of Luigi's Pizzeria

Luigi's Pizzeria
Ranked #680 of 1,766 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Prospect,Ky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“TRUE New York Pizza!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you are like me..a New Yorker (Italian) transplanted to Louisville Kentucky and missing true Italian Pizza....then search no more.......it's here!!!!! Luigi was so very nice telling us how he was originally from Italy..moved and lived in New York where he had a Pizza Shop then came and "retired" here in Louisville! Lucky us! He has much more than just Pizza-so there's lots to choose from.DO NOT pass this by....especially if you are right down the street visiting the Louisville Slugger Museum! Excellent Food!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    25
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real flop”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stopped here for lunch after the Louisville Slugger museum, as I imagine lots of folks do. It's the next block down. We should have looked a little harder. We were the first customers of the day, so they weren't busy. The service was fair to poor, the main guy (maybe Luigi himself) was rude. I asked to borrow the pizza cutter to make the slices smaller for our children. First he directed me to the cheap plastic knives which any parent knows won't work. I even offered to bring the pizza back up to the counter for him to cut. He reluctantly gave me the pizza cutter, but said it was very sharp (duh) and if anything happens, it's on me. Now if the food was cheap, I wouldn't expect good service, but a plain pie cost nearly $20 and we were charged the full cost for pepperoni topping ($3.75) even though it was only on half the pie. If the food was good, I could look past the service and the cost, but we've had a lot of pizza in our day, and this was certainly not one of our better meals. Walk a few extra blocks...it will probably be worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommy475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for families.”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We took the family here before visiting the Louisville Slugger Museum. Great thin crust pizza. Nice an crispy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yum! Yum!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We ate here after a visit to the Louisville Slugger Museum. Between us, we had pizza, calzone, salads and much much more. The food was excellent and the choices extensive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“average”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

we went and the food was good but the service was very poor and could definitaly improve. We were waiting at least 45 minutes for our food and there shouldnt have been any wait. The server gave another table our pizza and when we tried to flag him down he blatently ignored us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luigi's Pizzeria also viewed

Louisville, KY
Louisville, KY
 

Been to Luigi's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing