We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent all around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buck's Restaurant & Bar

Buck's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #30 of 1,748 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Old Louisville
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“decent all around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was the second time I was there... the first time about 5 years ago. Not much had changed... the piano man was still singing the old standards, the tables relatively full of families and couples chatting. Cozy is not the right word but it's close. I had a fried chicken breast with a bourbon crust. It tasted exactly as the name suggests. I was most impressed with their bourbon list and made sure to try at least one that I had never heard of... two small things. The bartender did not have big round ice cubes for the bourbon drinks(yes, a small thing but the bourbon was 20USD) and the men's bathroom definitely needed attention: always running sink, dangerously low toilet roll (and none other handy), and a definite need for a good scrub and a splash of paint. All in all though, everyone seemed to enjoy what they ordered, the server, though new, was very accommodating, and the piano man sang what my mother wanted to hear... Yes, I would go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yankabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    60
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in a great neighborhood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed a very delicious lunch here with fabulous service. I tried the tomato soup with blue cheese crumbles recommended by our waiter and it was fabulous! We also enjoyed the crispy fish with chili sauce, the hot brown with fried green tomato and Buck's burger with sweet potato fries. All of our entrees were perfectly executed! We will definitely be back, hopefully for dinner next time!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyDerbyGirl270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Neat Place, reminded me of Charleston, SC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

First visit to Louisville on a road trip to St. Louis so researched and decided to try Bucks. Great choice ! Greeted by white flowers ( my favorite) all over the restaurant. Baby grand piano with white jacket piano player on a Monday night (?') playing great soul music. Wonderful cocktails at the bar and then our dinner. Buck himself was present the whole time and is the epitome of a southern gentleman. We hit it off immediately with him . Excellent service, genteel hospitality and the best food ever. Scottish salmon was divine and my husband loved his succulent pork chop. We definitely plan to return and spend more time in Louisville, this was an overnight stop on the way to St. Louis, wish I could have spent the time here instead. But this in a must place to visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
211 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ambiance and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Friends recently took us to Rick's in Louisville and if we lived in the area it we be one our regular dining establishments! Our evening started with an introduction to Rick Bartlett the resident pianist who serenaded the patrons during dinner with soft melodies and a marvelous soothing voice. Upon learning that we were visiting from the "Roll Tide" state Rick tickled the keys and sang "Stars Fell on Alabama" for our enjoyment.

Lorrie and I shared an appetizer of a crab cake served over a fried green tomato. Delicious. My entree choice was a filet mignon medium rare that was done to perfection. It was so tender that I cut a few pieces using my butter knife and had no problem carving through the beef. Lorrie selected the pork chop which was a very generous portion that Lorrie was not able to finish. Not wanting to leave anything behind I offered to finish the meal. My pork selections normally run toward BBQ ribs or pulled pork but this chop was very good and tender. I wish I could give a description of dessert but I was too stuffed to try anything.

When in Louisville you really should put Rick's on your itinerary for a special dinner evening!

Austin & Lorrie

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
733 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“They do everything right.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Four of us came for lunch. The ambiance is very warm and classy. The food was excellent, their specialty, the Crispy fish with chili was a delight and something we will remember. They have a huge selection of bourbons that are almost overwhelming, but fun. Will add this to our favorites when we return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank McWett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buck's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Buck's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing