We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood but not as Europeans know it”

The Fish House/Cafe Beignet
Ranked #145 of 1,781 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Neighbourhood: Highlands
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Highlands
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seafood but not as Europeans know it”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

A fun informal place staffed by some lovely people but none of the seafood had been near the sea for quite a while. It was a shock to find every single part of the seafood platter was deep fried. We called it "KFS" (Kentucky Fried Seafood) but with charm!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Feefifofum41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“This little place has character and good fish!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The FishHouse is a great small restaurant. It’s definitely nothing fancy but this place has a lot of character and GREAT FOOD! The Gulf shrimp are fabulous and I also had the Fish ( Scrod) which was really good. they are known for their corn bread coating. The staff is extremely friendly as well. I highly recommend! Oh… and the beignets are good and I have had them from New Orleans!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana/KY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fishhouse Restaurant, Louisville, KY”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Not an elegant place, but so very friendly and the food is so good!
We will definitely go back. Outdoor seating is available and parking is no problem.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Worth a two hour drive.”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have fallen in love with the Fish House Cafe. We frequently drive two hours from Bloomington, Indiana to Louisville just to have breakfast at the Fish House. The omelettes are great, the beignet are the best outside of NOLA and the fish sandwiches are great, even for breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmett009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great oysters”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Was a very good treat. I had the fried oysters and my wife had the seafood platter, both delicious. We are going back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish House/Cafe Beignet also viewed

 
Louisville, KY
 

Been to The Fish House/Cafe Beignet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing