We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will definitely come back”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dupont Mansion B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dupont Mansion B&B
Ranked #2 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will definitely come back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We had a wonderful stay here! This is a beautiful place! The rooms are beautiful! Genny the Innkeeper is so cheery and so nice! Genny's breakfast was great! We loved this place and will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    28
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
231
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My partner and I wished we could have spent more time in Louisville, largely because of the wonderful experience of staying at the Dupont Mansion. Not only is its old-world elegance (although it is up to date with modern amenities and spotlessly clean) a delight, (complete with decanted wine in every room!), but the neighborhood was a revelation: it is a treasure trove of Victorian mansions and gardens, all beautifully and lovingly restored. Genny was a paragon of southern hospitality, from her warm greeting through her getting up at the crack of dawn to cook us a delicious breakfast. Our ensuite room was spacious, elegant, quiet, private, and thoroughly comfortable. In short, we cannot recommend the Dupont Mansion highly enough to anyone who appreciates travel and beautiful accomodations, even those who are generally wary of B&Bs (and no, I am not a relative or friend of the owners!).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyotrilyich7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Severals month ago, I was searching for a bed and breakfast in Historic Old Louisville. My husband and I wanted an elegant, intimate place to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. I was born and raised in Louisville. My husband is European and so, therefore, we had our wedding in Europe and we currently reside there as well. So we had decided to do a celebration in Lousiville for the ones that could not make it to our wedding last year. One day, several months ago, I starting calling around to different bed and breakfast places in Louisville. Something about the Dupont Mansion stood out to me once I had talk with Herb (the owner) over the phone. I explained to Herb about my situation of living so far away but wanting to celebrate our anniversary in Old Louisville. He was not fazed one bit by us living so far away. Instead he seemed very delighted to deal with us and willing to give us a chance to celebrate at his beautiful bed and breakfast. From that moment on, I dealt with Herb's wife, Gayle. Gayle showed such true southern charm during our party planning. Again, although I was far away, Gayle was always willing to answer any questions or concerns I may have had during the months that we took to plan our party. Upon arriving to the bed and breakfast, Ginny (the housekeeper), was so hospitable and polite. She told us about the history of the Dupont and she even had a batch of warm peanut butter cookies waiting for us in the kitchen. My husband and I stayed in the Grover Cleveland Room. It was just an elegant, bright, cozy room with a beautiful large bathroom and tub. Every morning, we had a lovely, tasty breakfast served by Ginny. There were nice morning conversations at the breakfast table with Ginny and the other guests at the manison. Every guest we spoke with were having many pleasant experiences as well. Last, but definitely not least, our anniversary celebration was held in the Dupont and across the street at The Inn at the Park. Originally, we were to have part of our party outside in their gorgeous courtyard. However, with the heat index being well over 100 degress, Gayle was so kind to offer us the opportunity to experience inside both their beautiful mansions for the party. Both mansions (located across the street from each other) were very pleasant and comfortable for everyone during the celebration. Everything was perfect from the beautiful decor to the mouth watering bacon wrapped dates and vegetable h'orderves, a scrumptous dinner of delicious roast beef with hoarse radish cream sauce, and a moist chocolate cake for dessert. This all being served by Sherry and her lovely kitchen crew. Also, we had a beautiful harp and piano player. Our guests are still talking about our party from a month ago. The celebration will forever be remembered as a warm spot in our hearts. Thank you very much to Herb, Gayle, Genny, Sherry, John, and Helga for their utmost hospitality during our stay and celebration! We will definitley come back for many more anniversary celebrations to come! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymoonersandstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted a romantic getaway just to relax and get away for the weekend. We could not have picked a better place. The Dupont Mansion was amazing!! The house itself is exceptional! We arrived late after checkout at about 9. Ginny called to make sure we were not lost. Right as we were walking up to the house she was waiting to welcome us at the door. Ginny is wonderful! She made our experience even more special. This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast and we will for sure be back to do it again! I HIGHLY recommend the Dupont Mansion to anyone! I cannot think of one thing that could have made our experience any better. :)

Room Tip: Feels right at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessta81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

This was my first B&B experience and I loved it!
The house has a southern charm, it is beautifully and tastefully decorated, the owners are super friendly, and the breakfast was healthy, (big), and delicious. I was a bit disappointed I didn't get to experience the presence of Uncle Freddie's ghost, but I enjoyed the stories about him.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erol08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

I've been to a few B&Bs so I can say this one is top shelf. Excellent service does not begin to describe the experience. The innkeeper was terrific--she did not make us feel at home, she made us feel this WAS our home. The property is excellently maintained, spotless and elegant. Beautiful furniture consistent with the period perfectly appoints the home throughout, The owner hit the sweet spot--restoring it to the elegance of the Vctorian period but incorporating enough modern amenities and design sensibilites so that you feel like you are staying in a fine hotel, not a museum. Our room (Edison) was fantastic, comfortable, amazingly quiet! Never heard any outside noise from other guests or from the city even though we were in/near downtown. Extremely spacious bathroom.with all modern amenties (shower, Jacuzzi bath). Outside the comfortable stay, if you are into old restored homes and the history that often accompanies them (yes, it is "THE" duPont family for which it is named), this is the place for you. Don't forget to check out the doors---yes, the DOORS, especially on the first level. They are, well, you just have to see them. Note--all bedrooms I believe are on 2nd floor, reachable only by stairs (no elevator).

Room Tip: Thomas Edison room best value--comfortable, very quiet, spacious bathroom. Rumor has it as the owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in the JP Morgan room for a long weekend getaway. Not only were the furnishings of the house lovely from the period antiques and draperies to the original wood floors, but the house was also very comfortable. We enjoyed hanging out in the back yard/deck area and also the parlor one evening with our books, curled up on a sofa. Genny was such a gracious hostess and catered to our every request. The room and bath were very clean and well appointed including a jetted tub that I took advantage of one night during our stay. Breakfast was a treat every morning. I would say the only negative is in the surrounding area which is in transition, but this would apply to all the B&B's in the area since they are in the historical district. Everything about the home exceeded our expectations and there is no where else in Louisville we would ever consider staying but the Dupont Mansion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnockoutBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dupont Mansion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dupont Mansion B&B

Property: Dupont Mansion B&B
Address: 1317 South Fourth St, Louisville, KY 40208
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DuPont Mansion B&B is an historic treasure with modern amenities. The tall ceilings, ornate fireplaces and carved woodwork look and feel like the circa 1889 Victorian Mansion that it is. Yet the high speed free WiFi throughout the Mansion, flat screen TVs in all guest rooms and Jacuzzi tubs in every bath (two are double) provide luxury beyond anything imagined over a century ago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dupont Mansion Hotel Louisville
Dupont Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing