We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Bed and Breakfast experience!”
Review of Dupont Mansion B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dupont Mansion B&B
Ranked #2 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We had never done a Bed and Breakfast before I can tell you that we will definitely return to the Dupont Mansion! Gerry made us feel so comfortable and welcome! We arrived early while people were working on painting and planting and putting the finishing touches getting ready for Derby week. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. My wife and I weren't feeling so good but we were trying to have a special 25th wedding anniversary and thanks to all of the suggestions we did!(A very short walk to the Italian Restaurant at the end of the alley, another wonderful experience). Every room was so well appointed and super clean!(I am picky and I am saying everything was perfectly clean!) Because we were a little early we got to see them all and I can say that I would have been happy staying in any of them. We stayed in the Edison room and I will probably ask for it again due to proximity to the guest kitchen and one less flight of stairs. BTW I would recommend thinking out your wardrobe and bringing 1 small bag we brought our closets so that we would have choices...lugging 2 suitcase up the stairs was no fun...lesson learned! We espescially liked the option to have breakfast at a small intimate table vs. The large table with the group of guests everyone was very nice and if we had felt better we probably would have joined them .I would recommend this B&B to anyone especially if you are one of those people who were disappointed in a previous experience, I think that this is exactly how they are supposed to be run!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Dupont Mansion B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The DuPont Mansion is one of those classic historical home renovation stories which with much work and foresight leave us all with a beautiful residence to stay in.
Why only a " very good" rating?
Wi-Fi is inconsistent which is always annoying.
In our case, the hostess did not get back until after 9:00 PM, thus leaving us alone in the home for many hours after we were able to check in at noon.
Odd - yes. A one time happening - we are sure it must be.

Room Tip: DuPont Suite is a sweet room, but a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a gem tucked away in the historical part of Louisville. This location was perfect for my business stay. All the nostalgia of the finest turn of the century charm with perfectly modern accommodations. I was able to easily navigate in and out the busy Metropolitan area of Louisville into the busy merchant areas to the bridges that lead me into my Indiana accounts too. The best part was returning each evening to a quiet and elegant place to unwind and plan for the next day's travel. The inn keepers are sweet and take the initiative of serving beautiful breakfasts to delightful treats in the evening. I felt safe and cared for while I stayed in an exciting growing entrepreneurial location in Kentucky. Truly relaxing and perfect reminder that Kentucky is the state of "The Unbridled Spirit" I will return.

Room Tip: Second Floor Rooms are terrific....There's also another self-serve kitchen that is stocked with...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianamite73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a great place to stay in Louisville, Ky. Our room was nice size and the bathroom was huge. Breakfast each day was different and gourmet quality. We spent each of our two days walking around the historic neighborhood with our cameras and enjoyed eating at the local Amici's Italian restaurant as well. We also took a day tour "City Taste Tours" it was great too. A fun combination of sightseeing, tasting, history and stories of Louisville and numerous stops into different neighborhoods, well known landmarks and quaint local Mom & Pops. The only thing that bothered us a little bit the first night was the noisy planes that fly over this neighborhood, and the city buses..... but Ginny (manager) had recently added nature sounds and white noise alarms. The second night we did not hear anything at all..

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms on the back side of the home are quieter as our room was in the front on the s...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We spent 3 nights at DuPont Mansion hoping for a Spring retreat and exploring Louisville. DuPont Mansion was a perfect get-away located in Old Louisville. The Mansion is beautifully decorated to take you back into another period, with a very welcoming setting. We could have easily spent the entire visit exploring the neighborhood, but escaped to some of Genny's recommendations, such as a Bourbon tasting, Cave Hill cemetery, a performance at the Yum Center. We enjoyed dinners at restaurants within walking distance capped off by a Bourbon and wine available in the sitting room at the DuPont. The breakfasts were delightful, accompanied by Genny's stories about the mansion, neighborhood, and Louisville life. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, which was very comfortable with a fireplace and wi-Fi. The bathroom was exceptional- clean, roomy, and comfortable. We will be planning another trip to explore Louisville again, including a return to the DuPont!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms require strong legs!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Dupont Mansion B&B was wonderful. We were in the Morgan room which was totally quiet and very comfortable. The shower was wonderful.
Ginny was very welcoming and helpful. Her breakfasts were delicious.
The location is great in that it is easy to get downtown, plus being on the edge of the historic district of Old Louisville we had very nice walks a few evenings.
I recommend it and in fact had our local friends stop in for a tour so they could recommend it to other visitors. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peg677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in this remarkably historic and tastefully decorated and furnished period home. Inn keeper was entertaining with storytelling about the DuPont family, history of the home and Old Louisville area. Recommendations on where to eat and sites to visit were as if she knew exactly what we would enjoy. Breakfast was proportioned beautifully and were delicious. There was bourbon, Cabernet Sauvignon, chocolates, bourbon fudge, snacks or drinks for guests to enjoy at any time. Definitely a choice for our next trip to Louisville.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarlaBroton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 97 in Louisville
1,938 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 97 in Louisville
1,394 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 97 in Louisville
4,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 97 in Louisville
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dupont Mansion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dupont Mansion B&B

Address: 1317 South Fourth St, Louisville, KY 40208
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range: £95 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DuPont Mansion B&B is an historic treasure with modern amenities. The tall ceilings, ornate fireplaces and carved woodwork look and feel like the circa 1889 Victorian Mansion that it is. Yet the high speed free WiFi throughout the Mansion, flat screen TVs in all guest rooms and Jacuzzi tubs in every bath (two are double) provide luxury beyond anything imagined over a century ago. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dupont Mansion Hotel Louisville
Dupont Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing