We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific History Lesson”

Muhammad Ali Center
Ranked #8 of 171 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of historic downtown Louisville, Kentucky, the Muhammad Ali Center is a cultural attraction and international education center inspired by the ideals of hometown hero Muhammad Ali. The Ali Center features 2 levels of award-winning exhibits, a five-screen orientation theater film, historic Civil Rights era media footage, video of Ali fights, interactive boxing fun, two art galleries, children's Hope and Dream wall, meeting and event space, retail store and more.
westchester county, ny
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Terrific History Lesson”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Plan to spend at least 2 hours in order to enjoy the movie and see all the exhibits. Had too much fun boxing !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dh24yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    203
    49
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

This was a great way to spend a rainy day in Louisville. Excellent interactive exhibits and history that I never knew or had forgotten. Well worth the money plus they gave us a AAA discount!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kheltzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great gem! ”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We went with our young kids, ages 5 and 3. We got there at the exact time a field trip of about 100 6th graders got there. Hectic to say the least. The movie was great, and I loved all the interactive exhibits. My kids (husband) included really enjoyed the boxing ring. It was a nice museum, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A friend and I actually found the center by chance after walking out of the Louisville Slugger building. After about 3 hrs, on because they were closing I found a new appreciation for Ali. I remember watching the fights with my dad when I was little. Ali is an amazing man. If your in Louisville stop in and learn about this man. The museum is about 3 floors and I think they could add another. The layout is easy to follow with lots of information about this amazing man.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ENORM211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It was worth the trip but seemed to be laid out incorrectly. Additionally, if you don't want to know exactly what you are going to learn/see in the hands on part of the center, watch the movie LAST not FIRST. While there is a lot more to do after the short film, it kind of spoils it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MelissaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Muhammad Ali Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing