We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We visit Lexington several times a year to see our daughter who is a student at UK. We spent all day at the Breeders Cup races at Churchill Downs yesterday and decided to stay in Louisville last night instead of driving back to Lexington.
Having been a Conde Nast Traveler reader for many years I have wanted to stay at the 21c Hotel.
It was everything and more than I have read about. It's an amazing experience from the moment you see it until you drive away.
Incredible service. Incredible decor. Incredible art Incredible everything.
I will be scheming every day about when we can return!
Even if we were there only a few hours our stay will be one of my favorite memories forever. When we checked in my feet were very sore from the long day at the races. Since i had no luggage I had no shoes to change into, but the moment I got to my room a gentleman was at the door delivering me a pair of spa slippers. I will remember that forever (and wearing them in the lounge that night too!).

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwilaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

916 - 922 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here in August while traveling for a 2 day bike ride to Bardstown. The hotel is very unique. The hotel lobby is a small museum with traveling exhibits. Vissionary. While we were there, the exhibit was from Cuba. The art was very interesting and thought provoking. The rooms are different sizes but all nicely appointed. The hotel staff is very eager to help and very nice. The bar and restaurant also try to be different and special and offer an innovative menu. The bar tender had some great herbal potions and mixes great drinks and has an outstanding knowledge of the Bourbon country nearby. many Bourbons to choose from. This is a truly unexpected gem in the south. Hope that after I write this review and people start going, that I will still be able to afford it. This is a boutique hotel with flare.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and different.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 474EddieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed one night at this hotel and couldn't have been happier! From the valet, to the concierge to the beautiful art gallery.. everything is a gold star! The room was so large, I was shocked it was just a basic room. A shower AND a tub!! Booked massages through the hotel which were very reasonably priced. The bar is fantastic with wonderful staff... ask for a red penguin visitor, too!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This hotel has some great art and the rooms are very comfortable. But as a parent, I had to be careful what parts of the Hotel we went into. We were greeted at the reception desk by a very helpful lady and behind her was 4 nude statues of African children probably about 7-8 years old. My kids were quite shocked (they're 5 & 7) and kept pointing to the anatomy. It was something you would probably see in a National Geographic. I was not bothered by it but was a bit shocked. Down stairs they had a display room full of photos of transvestites. We kept the kids out of there as I didn't feel like explaining why the men were dressed half naked like women. There's also a very large side profile of a nude lady in the bar which you can see when you're outside the hotel if you look through the window. My kids did love the hotel and the rubber ducky in the bathtub was a cute touch. The amazing dropping letters by the elevator was the coolest thing. Can't even explain it but the kids loved that and looking around the hotel. It really is in a great location too. Parking is actually next door and not connected to the hotel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stromamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

21C in Louisville is one of the most interesting & beautifully appointed Hotels I've ever had the pleasure of visiting. It's stylish without trying too hard. Often times when something is so talked about, it can be a disappointment. This was definitely not the case. The staff was amazing. 21C is defintely worth a trip even if you are not staying here. Located on Museum Row on Main Street, the location has a lot ot offer. I visited most of the other museums and although they all have there own niche, 21C is my all time fave. I will stay here antime I am in Louisville and encourage others to do the same..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Codysmom4475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Not only a top-rated hotel in the country, but also an experience you will never forget. Fabulous rooms, wonderful and helpful staff and a great gallery of art to admire. They even have a limo you can rent that is completely bedazzled with red jewels...definitely a show stopper!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANG1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is certainly a fun place to stay. There's art pieces on the sidewalk outside, even a limousine that's covered with some sort of beadlike thing. Inside, the lobby and beyond are a museum with a great interactive piece by the elevators.

The staff is good humored, knowledgeable, skillful and helpful.

Our room was small, but tasteful and pleasant. Details and fixtures were nice. The desk was a particular cut above the usual hotel desk, even featuring an Aeron chair!

Two negatives, though. One is that the courtyard facing rooms are really dark in the early part of the day, so dark that you have to have lights on. That's not all bad in that it makes it easier to sleep in. The other thing is that our beds were springy and saggy, well below expectations for a "boutique" hotel.

All in all, though, this is a fun and memorable place. It would be nice if they'd do something about those beds, though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 97 in Louisville
1,941 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,397 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 97 in Louisville
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 97 in Louisville
4,050 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 97 in Louisville
892 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: £187 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing