We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our (wonderful, "life-saving") HOME away from home-literally!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our (wonderful, "life-saving") HOME away from home-literally!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The river is rising and we are once again making advance reservations at our beloved 21c! to flee to if/when we are flooded out! They are the single MOST understanding people possible! - who allow us to keep changing our reservation to "match the mood" of the river (the height the water is rising to.) We have to be out at a certain height or we are dangerously stuck. They allow us to add to the days and nights we think we will need to stay, cancel early when the water drops back down and we can return home, etc. Spring of 2011 we had to be gone from our home 49 out of 60 days. Two of our "escapes" were to 21c, the 2nd time for nearly three WEEKS. They graciously gave us a discount (rather than our having to take out a mortgage on our room) AND allowed the rest of our family -our three cats- to join us! BLESSED 21c was there for us in EVERY way and provided not only tea, sympathy and sincere interest in our ongoing dilemma, but a lovely, large, comfortable, perfectly clean room, lent us a small refrigerator for our snacks, always offered superb service, 24hr. use of the computers, fabulous art to entertain us, great food at Proof, friendly door guys and an experience that rather than being an ongoing nightmare, was actually rather fun!!! Yes, home is where your heart is, but 21c will ALWAYS have a place in ours too. Porter W and George B, Louisville, Ky.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelholic111643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi Porter and George,
Thank you for sharing your story about your visits to 21c. We love hosting you all! You are so positive during your stays which must actually be quite a stressful time for you. We understand that guests stay with us due to all types of circumstances, and it's important for us to make our guests feel welcome and pampered. Thank you for choosing 21c as your "home away from home!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    191
    49
    17
    11
See reviews for
150
466
54
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

If you have minimal time in town and want to good social chic atmosphere and enjoy art, I would suggest a stop here. The menu is limited, but the bar is not. If you are more of a picky-eater, I highly recommend reviewing the menu prior to planning your visit. Most of the items are appetizer/finger foods. The bar serves well balanced cocktails and the ambiance is warm and inviting. The best part about visiting this location is that there is an great art museum inside with a wide array of works, more on the contemporary side (note: not really suitable for young children).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi Stan,
Thank you for visiting 21c and Proof on Main during your visit to Louisville. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your cocktails and the art on display in the galleries. Be sure to visit again soon as our cocktail menu is seasonal and our art exhibitions change every few month. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Driving by this hotel you would blink and miss it, and boy would you be missing out! The museum part of the hotel is really nice to walk around and look at while having a glass of wine. It is a nice relaxing thing to do while winding down. We loved the camera wall that is at the entrance of the elevators. The whole vibe of the hotel was just a relaxed and cool experience. The rooms were almost as if they were a loft apartment. They were very comfortable.

The breakfast area has a European breakfast hall vibe to it. They cure their own meats in house. The breakfast meal was so delicious. If I lived there I would stop there just for the breakfast alone

*We were told as well that you can play pranks on other guests (that you are there with) and request them to put one of the red penguins in their hotel room anywhere…i.e.. shower, tucked in bed, behind the curtains! But shhhh its a secret! What a fun prank to play on a friend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaC119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Hi Rosa,
Thank you for choosing to stay at 21c Museum Hotel during your visit to Louisville. I'm glad you enjoyed interacting with the art. "Text Rain" by Camille Utterback & Romy Achituv and the "Red Penguins" by Cracking Art Group are especially fun and engaging works! We look forward to seeing you another time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I'm far from a prude but unless you want young children exposed to nude imagery in the restaurant and throughout various views--be careful! That said, good value, contemporary design, some of the most comfortable beds and pillows ever. And a fun alcove with live interactive video where you're the star!

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing Main Street with the entrance to the restaurant below--noisy even on a Sunday--p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Hi JamesMaxx,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We intend for our exhibitions to inspire discussion, and certainly do not want to offend anyone. 21c is committed to presenting art that is thought-provoking, not simply provocative or titillating.

Images of the nude human body are included in the collections of established museums worldwide; those currently on view at 21c Louisville include photographs of a performance (located in the bar at Proof on Main), and of two young figures posed as Classical statuary, who have lost limbs due to civil strife, featured in the lower level exhibition, "Aftermath: Witnessing War, Countenancing Compassion."

We hope that you and your family will return or visit us in Cincinnati or Bentonville- each property features two major art exhibitions a year, and the same comfortable pillows and beds. We also offer guided, public tours on Wednesday and Friday afternoons at 5. These informative tours are appropriate for all ages.

Thank you again; your comments are invaluable. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had our work christmas party here, they set us up in a gallery downstairs, and it was an amazing time. The food was perfect and the service was impeccable. Terence Hart the events coordinator worked with all our needs and budget to ensure we had a great experience. By far the best place for an event.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Josh,
Thank you for sharing your review about your experience at 21c. Our museum galleries provide such a unique setting for corporate and social events that it's hard not too have fun while you're here! I'm glad you mentioned our Event Manager, Terence Hart--We are so lucky to have him on our team! Terence works very hard to ensure that everything from the décor to the food provided by Proof on Main is perfect for our events. I'm glad you had a great time! We hope to host you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is such a unique hotel and we really enjoyed our stay here. The art surprises you throughout the entire space, and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. It was more than we typically spend on accommodation, but it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat_arit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at 21c Louisville. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The museum is great. The staff was very friendly so don't feel weird about going in just to see the art. I found the art to be meaningful and nicely presented. It is really worth taking a look at, even if it's just a quick walk through while you are going to the Slugger Factory or on the Urban Bourbon Trail.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Misswestmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Associate Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Misswestmore,
Thank you for visiting 21c Museum. We are glad to hear you found our team to be friendly and welcoming. Our museum galleries are open 24 hours a day and seven days a week! We love when guests stumble upon our museum when exploring historic Main Street. Be sure to check our website for new exhibitions to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing