We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy AND fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Classy, elegant, great art! I went with my daughter, son-in-law, and four year old granddaughter. There were several fun things that captured my granddaughter's fascination; the image of the sleeping couple on the lobby floor, (she had to lay down between the couple),the falling letters by the elevators, the round smoke billow things, the music playing in the gallery, some of the art, the pigeon, and, of course, the red penguins. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable. the bath towels are big, soft, fluffy and smell good (not cheap, scratchy, and smelling of bleach). My granddaughter thought we should go ahead and live there. Rooms made for tall people. We liked that too. Great down town location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KYQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi KYQuilter,
We love hearing that you and your family had such a good time during your stay with us. I'm glad that you mentioned "Sleepers"--this artwork is so much fun to experience! Be sure to visit our properties in Cincinnati and Bentonville--I think you'll enjoy their museums and guestroom amenities, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
There are newer reviews for 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We liked the museum addition to the hotel. Not sure about the red penguin but found it cute and fun to have them on the room floors to move around. We found parking in the garage 1/2 block from hotel a money saver than valeting for $25. We stayed in the second floor above Proof...it was noisy to stay that close. Overall, a nice stay and staff pleasant.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wonderlust1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hello Wonderlust1012,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at 21c. We are happy to hear that you found our team members to be pleasant and that you had a nice stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had brunch at Proof the morning after the Derby, and truly enjoyed touring the lobby/art museum in this hotel. Proof, the restaurant, had a fantastic brunch menu! Still hoping to figure out how to make the Bourbon Bellini!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Sue4LSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Sue4LSU,
Thank you for choosing Proof on Main for your post-Derby brunch! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Wow !
My wife booked us here for a 2 night stay to enjoy our 30th wedding anniversary. From the very first moment you enter the opened doors, you are made to feel special about yourself, and feel welcomed by the entire staff.
No need to go on and on reciting everything special about this place.
The other superb reviews serve to that end.
This was a really wonderful experience.
If you stay here I have to believe that you, like my wife and I, will be superbly happy about your stay in every way possible.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hi Bob,
Thank you for choosing to spend your 30th wedding anniversary at 21c. We feel honored that you celebrated with the red penguins!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I had been walking along the other side of the street and saw the penguins. I thought- wow this is neat but did not realize what it was. Later on as I was searching gallery addresses, I realized it was the same building and the penguins are all over. Alas they are part of the collection and not for sale.
There are two floors of art, a restaurant, and above is a hotel. The show now is Cuban work. But I assume anything here will be interesting. Go and see. Its right downtown near the hotels and easy to get to. Then stay and eat at Proof. See my review on the restaurant page. It was good..
Can't speak to the hotel part but how can it not be neat?
All the staff are very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hello CSSnowshoer,
We are so glad to hear that you discovered 21c Museum Hotel. The Red Penguins by the Cracking Art Group can be found throughout our property. They love to visit the hallways on the guestroom floors, and make their way to the restaurant and museum galleries. Be sure to visit again soon--our exhibitions change regularly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent the weekend in Louisville and stayed at the 21C Hotel in the Museum District. Every wall, the floor, the exhibits are all art. If you get bored, you can view the many unusual mixed media exhibits including a cart with pigeons in it. The staff was very friendly and I would recommend this hotel as something different and truly amazing

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello Rickhp,
Thank you for choosing to stay at 21c Museum Hotel during your visit to Louisville. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed exploring the museum galleries, and found our team to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were there for the blow out after derby party. We are soooo not cool enough for that scene, but were welcomed warmly. It was the kind of transcendent party you grieve the loss of in your thirties. The good, music, atmosphere were all perfect. It's the kind of party you hold in your bones to enliven you and remind you your youth isn't entirely gone.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the rooms because we didn't stay there.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank stbrigid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi stbrigid,
Thank you for choosing 21c for your Kentucky Derby celebration. The Derby is such a special and unique time in Louisville, and we feel honored that you spent Derby night with us! We love that you had such a good time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 97 in Louisville
1,939 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,397 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#30 of 97 in Louisville
4,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 97 in Louisville
1,727 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 97 in Louisville
891 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: £188 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing