We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like a "Diva"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Treated like a "Diva"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I loved this hotel. The staff was welcoming. The room was exceptional. art in the room, high quality toiletries. The art was fabulous. I will be back! Plus the hotel can support small events in the art gallary!

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the end of the hall - you can hear hall activity - but given this is a higher end ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Patty,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at 21c Louisville. We are glad to hear that you loved your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    182
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
137
449
50
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel was fun! The art is extraordinary. The staff is pleasant and upbeat. I came to Louisville with some of my staff to talk to a local company about a possible merger. The woman who checked me in gave me great ideas of where to take my staff for dinner and drinks, which was good because we were in town for three days and talks were prickly at best so the company we were visiting was not really in the mood to take us out at night. The staff even put a basket with some local Louisville stuff in our room the day prior to check out. This was really quite thoughtful. I hope I have the chance to visit Louisville again soon, just so I can stay here.

Only bad thing and the only reason I did not give it 5 stars... the housekeepers must try harder in the bathrooms. Oh my...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabe I, Director of Operations at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi William,

Thank you for the incredible feedback. I'm delighted you enjoyed our authentic hospitality and contemporary art exhibits. However, I'm very sorry we failed to meet your expectations in regards to bathroom cleanliness. Your comments are invaluable and have been used as training tools. We hope to welcome you back to Louisville or one of our properties in Cincinnati OH and Bentonville AR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

It is impossible to sped through the lobby. Art installations are everywhere. Staff kind and helpful. Rooms vert clean and modern. Totally worth the extra few bucks. Fantastic location near museums and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Wendy,
Thank you for taking the time to share a review about your visit to 21c. We are glad to hear that you found our team to be hospitable, and that you enjoyed your guestroom accommodations. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was in Lousiville for work and 21c is only a couple of blocks from the office. What a great place! So much to look at. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. They suggested some wonderful restaurants to try. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Samantha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at 21c during your business trip to Louisville. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

You know you're in for a treat the moment you walk into this hotel. This is the second time that I've stayed at this hotel, and both times I've been very impressed. The hotel seems to understand that art should be beautiful, interesting...and playful. I was impressed with how good all of the art on display is, but also with how they integrate it into the design of the hotel. It makes the art approachable, giving the hotel and elegant feel without making the art seem stuffy or distant.

The rooms are nice. They're decorated well and there's room for a king size bed and a desk. The bathrooms have a shower with unique bath products.

The restaurant and bar are like the rest of the hotel. They have an hip and elegant, yet approachable, feel. The bar can mix up a variety of craft cocktails, and they also have a decent bourbon menu. The restaurant is a comfortable place to dine, and the menu is good, featuring food that had some creative thought put into it.

The hotel also features a gallery downstairs, which has an excellent display of contemporary art, making it truly a museum hotel.

The hotel's location is in the heart of downtown Louisville. This area doesn't seem to be heavily populated, but there are a number of unique, independent businesses which have popped up in the area. This seems to fit in perfectly with the vibe of 21c.

Overall, I would say that I was happy staying at a hotel that impressed me the second time I stayed there as much as the first. It's one of the more memorable experiences I have ever had in a hotel, and will make for a good memory if you're looking for something very unique.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seamonkeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Seamonkeee,
Thank you for the lovely review. We are happy to hear that you found us to be a true "museum hotel." We loved that you were impressed by 21c each time you visited, and we hope to continue to do so! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was a really fun place to stay in Louisville. The staff was exceptionally nice and accommodating. They seemed to really care about you and wanted you to enjoy yourself. Very clean comfortable rooms, nice amenities, comfortable beds. My husband had great fun with the penguins. Loved the idea of the hotel being an art museum. Very very cool installations. Go see the public bathrooms on the first floor!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello h0lly99,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at 21c Louisville! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

When booking a hotel for our stay, 21c looked interesting, but the rates were so high, I could not imagine paying that much for anything without a balcony and view of South Beach, but after dining at their restaurant, Proof on Main, we went through the lobby and large museum on the lower level. FANTASTIC, a must see for contemporary art lovers. So this is to say we are sorry and do not let the same happen to you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Sales Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Louisville, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear HelloJoeOne,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to 21c. We are glad you enjoyed Proof on Main and the museum galleries! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#9 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Louisville

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Louisville
Address: 700 W Main St, Louisville, KY 40202-2634
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#5 Business Hotel in Louisville
#6 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Louisville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21C Museum Hotel Louisville is more than just a place to spend the night - it's a 91-room boutique hotel, contemporary art museum, award-winning restaurant and cultural civic center nestled in the heart of Museum Row in historic downtown Louisville. With over 5000 square feet of art-filled meeting and event space, 21c guests enjoy authentic Southern hospitality and accessible luxury while exploring the work of contemporary artists in America's only museum dedicated solely to art of the 21st Century. Whether you are visiting Bourbon Country, spending a day at Churchill Downs, or hosting a lavish Southern wedding, 21c is a modern epicenter for culture, activity and artistic expression. Applauded by Travel & Leisure Magazine as "one of the most ambitious unions of art and hospitality ever undertaken," and hailed by The New York Times as "an innovative concept with strong execution and prompt and enthusiastic service," come meet the infamous Red Penguins and discover how 21c Museum Hotel Louisville is redefining the art of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Louisville
Hotel 21c Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing