We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Gem! Great Find Must Return”
Review of Glassworks

Glassworks
Ranked #15 of 32 Tours in Louisville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glassworks houses the Mark Payton Glass Center and Flame Run. See live demonstrations in Glassblowing and Flameworking on our daily tours. Make a project in our Walk-in Workshop. Shop around in one of our two galleries. Hours are 10-5pm Monday - Saturday. Closed Sundays.
North Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Real Gem! Great Find Must Return”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My husband is a glass artist. While in Louisville for the 10th annual Lebowskifest, we saw an ad for Louisville Glassworks. Decided to check it out. So glad we did. Took the tour and saw so many unique and beautiful creations. Watched folks making blown glass in the huge furnace. Sat in on a class with Amy Lemaire an artist who teaches lampworking and makes very unique beads. They also have a store with pieces from local artists for sale. Walk-in make and take projects for adults and kids. They were prepping upstairs for a wedding. Great venue for special occasions in a beautifully restored building. Can't wait to return and sign up for some of the projects they offer. We will be back next time we are in Louisville for Lebowskifest. Check out their website for what they have to offer and don't miss it if you love art and industrial architecture.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank gacayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    9
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a good time”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My 10 yr old daughter and my sister and I participated in the make and takes. I do agree with other reviewers to say it is kind of like a ghost town when you walk in. The person at the info desk was not helpful. We made it into the shop and asked about make and takes. Thankfully I had reviewed the website prior to going in and knew that we could do a multitude of projects to be shipped home. When we first went in, we were only offered the suncatcher make and take since it could go home same day. I asked about the other options that would fire there and ship later. So we had a great time making magnet sets and a pendant. They show you how to cut the glass and what to do and you are left to your own creativity. If you are looking for a make it like this sample - you will be disappointed. You are completely left up to your own creativity. That was nice, but that caused us to underestimate the time we spent there. We were probably there for over an hour and we rushed. There were glassblowing demonstrations going on, but that did not keep my 5 year old's interest, so they had to go somewhere else while we were making the magnets to keep them from going stir crazy. Overall, the experience was nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ychris7722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and entertaining”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Glassworks was not only educational but very entertaining. We watched more than one type of glass artistry, and the artisans were very informative as they worked. Although we didn't purchase any glass, there was a good variety available. On reading some of the other reviews, I feel that we were very fortunate to arrive when the artists were actually working. The project workshop looked like fun. This is not the usual "tourist" attraction with a lot of facilities and accomodations for tourists. It more a peek at artists at work. We three adults enjoyed it very much.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PKCPortales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go to Corning Glassworks in NY”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This, sadly, is not anything to write home about. They advertise that they are always doing things there, but every single time I have stopped by, it is like a ghost town. Simply a huge building with a whole lot of nothing going on. If you want a great museum and glass workshop experience, go to Corning in Western New York state. They know how to really present glass, glass blowing, the history of glass making in a genuine museum dedicated to the long art of glass making.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank sunnyside-cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M, Manager at Glassworks, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed your last visit. We are currently under new ownership and management as you may have learned on the news recently. With this new ownership we are looking to redirect the tourism program. The mission of Glassworks is not to inform the public of the history of glass art over time but to show it's importance in modern times. Glassworks is locally owned and operated by it's artist. We house artist studios, galleries, and tours. The tours are a live view into the studio. It's not rehearsed and performed but it's a one of kind work of art that you can witness being made. Sometimes the work takes well over an hour to complete in a room that is well over 100 degrees. It is very likely you came at a time they were taking a break. The building is large and can sometimes be very empty this is because we rent our spaces out to large events over the week end and during the day they are empty. Hopefully you will stop by again and if you do please give 502-992-3270 a call or consider are guided tours on Saturdays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, OH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very interesting experience, probably not for kids”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We visited Glassworks after reading about it here on TripAdvisor. We went into it knowing that it got mixed reviews, and that some visitors had poor experiences with it if they went when there was no glass work being done. It is kind of an odd destination - they call it a self-guided tour, although really it's just a 10-minute movie and a paper handout explaining about the types of glass work that are done in that building. We would have considered this a pretty poor experience, but just as we were getting ready to leave, one of the artists fired up his torch and we were able to sit for about an hour and talk with him one-on-one as he worked to create a glass pendant of a horse's head. Being able to watch that process was very interesting and definitely worth the price of our admission. I really enjoyed the chance to watch him work with the molten glass. I don't think this would be a good venue for kids - not much to do, and requires some patience. But we really enjoyed it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tess237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glassworks also viewed

 

Been to Glassworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing