We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forced my family”
Review of Glassworks

Glassworks
Ranked #16 of 32 Tours in Louisville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glassworks houses the Mark Payton Glass Center and Flame Run. See live demonstrations in Glassblowing and Flameworking on our daily tours. Make a project in our Walk-in Workshop. Shop around in one of our two galleries. Hours are 10-5pm Monday - Saturday. Closed Sundays.
Kimball, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Forced my family”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I forced my family to check this out & they were very surprised how cool it was to watch them blow glass! Mark did & great job explaining what they were doing from the other side of the glass. The self guided tour was a little weird, and the gift shop was a little expensive, but it was something you don't see everyday & it was interesting. Make reservations if you want to flame your own...

Helpful?
2 Thank Mk2olson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    9
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not much to see.”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We wanted to make a piece of art. All they offered was an ornament. We wanted to make an actual piece of blown glass...not really an option since they di not have a person that day to show us that level of blown glass. The glass was ridiculously priced. Not to mention nothing great. They did have a few vases, and a bowl or tow, but really pricey.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at Glassworks, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your time at the Mark Payton Glass Center. The Glassworks facility is actually comprised of two separate businesses. We, the Mark Payton Glass Center, deal with flameworked and flat glass. Flame Run, the company across the hall, does all of the glassblowing. While we do not offer blown glass projects at MPGC, we do have over 50 different fused glass projects that you can make in our Walk-in Workshop. We also offer flameworked projects by appointment.

It is very easy to get confused by all of the changes in ownership over the years, however it sounds as if the review you wrote is mostly directed towards Flame Run, as they are the company that deals with blown glass.

Again, we apologize that you did not enjoy your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting but not worth the money”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Some of the other reviewers mentioned that it was free, but we had to pay for the tour (I think it was $8 a person?) It's self guided, so they give you a sheet of paper and point you in the right direction. There are two different viewing areas. The first is where 4-6 people are blowing glass ornaments (we went right before Thanksgiving). You have an overhead view so you are able to see the entire process. In the second area, there were 1-2 artists working with much smaller pieces--they started with these glass rods and made miniature size pieces. Both areas were unique and gave a lot of insight into the process. My 11 year old was fascinated, but my 8 year old was a bit too young to appreciate this.

In the gift shop, there is an art working area where we were able to make our own glass ornaments--they were having a "special" where they were $20 each. You are given a 5 minute class on what to do with access to many different materials. If you plan on doing something like this, keep in mind that your end product won't be ready that day--I think it takes 1-2 days to go through the kiln. We ended up having our finished ornaments shipped to us. They were pricey, but the kids really enjoyed having such a unique souvenir from our trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
1,104 reviews
407 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Fantastic Glasswork & Fun Watching It being Made”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

This is a great stop to view and buy some fantastic glassworks. All kinds of beautiful designs from earrings to large elegant vases. We liked sitting in the viewing area watching a worker making glass balls. An interesting and slow process requiring a lot of patience. Great place to stop and shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great learning experience!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is not your typical museum-tour vacation stop. However, if you are in the area, definitely check it out! They have a seating area where you can view the glass making workshop. Very cool! A big thanks to Rudy for explaining what we were seeing. Just ask questions! It was very interesting and a great learning experience. The glass items for sale were over our budget but we still enjoyed it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MacgyverFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glassworks also viewed

 

Been to Glassworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing