We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic interpreters add to this museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frazier History Museum

Frazier History Museum
Ranked #11 of 168 things to do in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Frazier History Museum is a world-class museum that provides an unforgettable journey through history with ever-changing and interactive exhibits, daily performances by costumed interpreters and engaging special events and programs. To complement our amazing permanent collection, which includes thousands of items from famous world leaders and one of the country's largest toy soldier displays, the Frazier Museum offers an ever-changing selection of intriguing temporary exhibits. Every day, we offer live historic performances, bringing visitors face to face with some of the people and events that changed the world forever, as well as with average people whose moving and important stories you've probably never heard. The Frazier Museum is located on downtown Louisville's "Museum Row" in a beautiful 100,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art facility originally called the "Doerhoefer Building," a late 19th century, Chicago-style commercial structure. The Frazier Museum has three floors of exhibits, an education center, Museum Store and tournament ring, as well as event spaces available for rent, including a beautiful Rooftop Garden featuring seasonal blooming flowers and our Fourth Floor Loft space that accommodates up to 360 people seated.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Historic interpreters add to this museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We enjoyed this museum that is the exclusive home of the Royal Armouries USA. The history of armaments is displayed on the third floor with everything from bronze age to 20th C. The second floor contains many historic artifacts from US history such as Daniel Boone's family bible and a George Washington sword. We watched a demonstration by an interpreter who portrayed a Samurai warrior and explained his weapons and armour. There are several demonstations throughout the day. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mumzie1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    158
    59
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tropicalfire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great! But not my cup of tea.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

If you are into swords and rifles this is the place for you. Unfortunately I am not. But there is still a lot of history to be learned here and the museum itself is a very nice place. Admission was $10.50 ($2 off for seniors) and a hefty $8 extra if you want to see a film about the NFL. Why in the world the NFL is in this museum is a mystery to me. There is ample parking but for a small fee - $5 the day we went. If we ever return to Louisville my wife would probably want to revisit it, but not sure I would.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tropicalfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good history -- comes alive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My kids love this museum, and especially love the historical interpretors. Essentially, they have an actor give a talk about a certain character and time in history. It is a really good way to learn. There is also an area where they do a swordfight. And the rotating exhibits and the summer camps are really good too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FridyGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Little Gem of a Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This museum might be small, but it is stocked with artifacts!! I'm not really into weaponry, but the Royal Armouries collection is fantastic. In addition to the display of armaments and weapons, you get very well done explanations of the weapons, the battles, and the history of Britain.

Also, do not miss the American history collection and exhibit on the second floor. It covers the Native Americans before the European conquest to America through its wars. Well done.

If you're into miniatures, the toy soldier collection is fabulous. I was really amazed at the number of toy soldiers. It seemed that around each corner, there was another display case with the miniatures.

We did not see the live-action shows, however, so I can't comment on those.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn60785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sellersburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
350 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lot of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I came here originally to see the Gridiron Glory exhibit in 2014 (which in itself, is a must see for NFL fans), but afterward ended up touring the entire place. The historical artifacts, such as Washington's rifle and bourbon history display, were all interesting to look at. Good place to come for history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ManningAvenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Frazier History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing