We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Dinner Cruise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson

Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson
Ranked #7 of 32 Tours in Louisville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Belle of Louisville is the oldest operating Mississippi River style steamboat in the world. She and her sister vessel, the Spirit of Jefferson, offer river cruises perfect for all ages. We offer cruises nearly year-round, and have special events throughout the season.
Eastover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My Sister and I took the Dinner Cruise on The Spirit of Jefferson on Thursday, October 12, 2013. It was very enjoyable and relaxing cruising up and down the Ohio River. The Buffet was out of this world. You wouldn't want any better tasting food. It was catered by Hall's Catering of Louisville and they've been cooking since the 1950's. We will return to Louisville again in 2014 and plan to take this cruise again or one on The Belle of Louisville. It's well worth the time and money. Go do it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    84
    53
    18
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Top thing to see in Louisville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

if you are a person that believes there are no bad days when on a boat, with an appreciate for old steam paddlewheelers........this is a must. It is one of the last steam powered paddlewheelers in existence (100 years old) that you can board for a cruise and enjoy it. We went on the lunchtime tour through the locke but chose to skip the lunch, which was recommended. We enjoyed it enough to do again, but that's because we are boat people. Take your video camera down to the engine room and wow at the old engines and boilers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boatwhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
325 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Evening on the River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I signed up for the dinner cruise on the The Spirit of Jefferson. This ship is designed to look like an old riverboat but it runs on twin diesels. It is a 2 hour cruise that kicks off with the buffet dinner as soon as they head out into the Ohio river. The dinner was good, not exceptional, and plenty of it. The bar kept busy the entire trip. They had a DJ and the gals were having a good time. On the decks you can have a seat and watch the scenery go past. It's a good idea to pack a jacket. An enjoyable evening that I would recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyosoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
395 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Good Leisurely Cruise on the River”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We had a hearty meal on the lunch cruise on the Spirit of Jefferson. They served a wide array of foods in the buffet and tasty desserts. The DJ kept us entertained with music, a lot of old favorites. He also gave information about the river and sights along the way. After an early and busy morning of sightseeing we were glad to relax at lunch and sit back and enjoy the scenery and site son the river. They are having a big celebration next year for Belle of Louisville's 100th Birthday. The Belle is the oldest operating paddle wheel, sorry we didn't get to go on it and tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Ride, Poor Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you decide to take a ride on the Belle of Louisville (which we highly recommend) consider the ticket price as the price for the ride because the food is not very good. The experience of riding on a steam powered paddle boat was awesome. The scenery along the river was enjoyable. The "Paddle Wheel" cocktail was excellent. On the down side, cleanliness is not a priority. And the food - well, it is served buffet style - the fried chicken was cold and dry and all the vegetables were canned. Didn't try the roast beef since it looked like it had been cooking for days. Like I said, consider the price of the ticket as the price for the ride and you'll be OK.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ferd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson also viewed

 

Been to Belle of Louisville & Spirit of Jefferson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing