We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbine Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
248 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here in celebration of our 15th anniversary. We could not have chosen a better place! This was our first experience staying at a bed and breakfast and it was wonderful. The owners/ Inn keepers were perfect host. Our breakfast was wonderful, our room was wonderful, our bathroom was wonderful. Everything about this house was wonderful. This is a very beautiful home with so much character. As we entered this home, we felt at home. This was a home away from home. I loved the antiques in this home,the many sitting areas and the stunning dining room table! I have stayed in many hotels in the past, and none of those hotels surpassed the quality of service we received this past weekend. We will definitely be back. I've already recommended this place to my parents and my friends! I would like to thank Richard and Bob for a perfect weekend, thank you for preparing our meals according to our dietary restrictions. That alone is a huge deal and is greatly appreciated. With my husbands Celiacs disease and my acid reflux, we have struggled so many times in the past trying to get a good breakfast while traveling. Thank you for your many stories, very enjoyable. Thank you for the warmth you all gave us this past weekend. Thank you for sharing your home with us! We will be back.

Also, I forgot to mention the beautiful garden in the back. Everything about this place is 5 star. I would definitely recommend this place to couples,families, singles.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonifromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
54
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent one night in Louisville this weekend, and echo all of the positive sentiments and experiences of your other reviewers concerning Columbine! The house is beautifully restored and maintained. Rich is an informative, solicitous, attentive, and very engaging host. We stayed in the Magnolia Room on a very hot, humid night and couldn't have been more comfortable. Comfortable bed (double, not queen), good night's sleep. Rich's French Toast was amazing! This was an excellent choice, a very good value, and we would certainly return if ever our travels take us again to Louisville.

One warning: when you call for reservations, you'll get Rich on his cell phone --- poor connection, but don't let that put you off!

Room Tip: Magnolia Room is spacious and --- unlike some of the other rooms --- has its own in-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddraj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gapyeong, soko
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were not expecting to be this blown away by the Columbine or Louisville. From the moment we stepped in the Columbine - a grand piano, beautiful stained glass, collections from around the world, etc. etc. we were wow-ed. The inn-keeper was very welcoming and informative. The house has lots of charm and character, also many nooks to hang out; porches, decks, garden. The location is among other mansions on 3rd street and not too far from St. James and Belgravia Courts. Louisville is a very charming place to visit for those who have never visited. Things that are a must: The Belle of Louisville, The Big 4 Bridge walk at dusk, NuLu, Mansion walking tours, BBQ, and more! And how could we forget the 10 star breakfasts at the B&B that were delicious but not too over the top. Thanks Rich - we'll be back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ellesse505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbineBB, Owner at Columbine Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our bed and breakfast! We are very proud of our inn and feel incredibly lucky to have shared our home with so many wonderful people over the last 10 years. Your opinions are very important to me and I appreciate you taking the time to share them with other travelers. It is especially important and reinforcing to me as an innkeeper because you wrote the review of your own volition. I enjoy being an innkeeper and take pride in my work. I chose to buy and operate a bed and breakfast because I enjoy assisting travelers and hosting people in our home. I really value feedback from my customers for my own personal growth and the benefits to future guests. I do not solicit reviews for this reason as I believe it offers me an unintentionally biased review and that does not help me grow as an innkeeper nor does it give a user of tripadvisor completely unbiased information. So to you and the other guests who have taken the time to review the Columbine because you wanted to...my sincerest thank you and I hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
653 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Upon arrival, you will be awed by the beautiful home. It is visually enchanting and has many warm and welcoming amenities. The hosts are interesting and knowledgeable. The b&b has restaurants within walking distance and parking at the site.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I wanted to take my (now) fiance away for the weekend to propose to her, and looked for someplace special. I got incredibly lucky that I settled on the Columbine. The mansion and surroundings were elegant and interesting and the breakfasts have spoiled me on french toast from here on out. Seriously, incredible food. And to top that all off, Rich was an excellent host. There to provide interesting story after interesting story when you wanted, but not intrusive if you're looking to spend some quiet time.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Magnolia room. Would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

A wonderful inn and innkeeper! Rich was the perfect host serving wonderful breakfasts and always ready for a chat. This inn was comfortable and full of antebellum charm. Our bed in the third floor guest room was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. We were a quick and easy cab ride from downtown as well as the Highlands neighborhood and could easily walk to the University of Louisville campus.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emptynester3395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

What a well-maintained and stunning piece of Louisville architecture! We had a very private room on the third floor and slept in an amazingly comfortable bed. I loved walking through the house and checking out the artwork and stained glass. Rich, the innkeeper, is pretty funny and always spinning a story. Breakfasts were hearty and well presented. The neighborhood itself is great for walking and taking in the old buildings and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Top floor "E" is quiet and private - especially if nobody is in the other two rooms on tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmptyNesters007-38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Fairgrounds
Holiday Inn Airport & Fair/Expo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Bed & Breakfast

Property: Columbine Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1707 S 3rd St, Louisville, KY 40208-1917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy this historic bed and breakfast mansion with its unique Greek Revival facade situated in the heart of old Louisville. In an area known primarily for its magnificent Richardsonian Romanesque architecture, the Columbine's white columns and portico front stand out from the rest. Enjoy the others, but come "home" to the Columbine Bed & Breakfast where history and hospitality go hand in hand. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing