We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent and Charming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbine Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbine Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Magnificent and Charming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

This house is a dream com true. It has so much history and you're walking like into a dream.
Richard is a great and interesting host.
Rooms are gorgeous, breakfast is over-delicious and everything is so clean and neat.
There are NO minors in this B&B.
We are very demanding guests...

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
53
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted to go away without traveling far from our city Lexington, KY. Columbine in Louisville, KY was highly recommended by a co-worker and I agree with everything she said about the Columbine. The home and garden is so lovely and well maintained. The room that we stayed in ( the Austin Room) was Awesome!! The breakfast was great and cooked to perfection each morning!!!

Finally, you could not asked for a better host than Mr. Rich and Bob. We loved our entire stay and would stay again if ever in the area. We really appreciate how they opened their home and made us feel so welcome. I highly recommend!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Austin room on the third floor is private and spacious. It has its own private bath with a whirl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janlyn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Island, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved the house, the yard was so beautiful with all the trees, flowers and waterfalls. Rich was an excellent host and we enjoyed our breakfast. Rooms were well maintained. Will stay again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Rick May was the perfect host! He was there when we needed him, gave excellent advice on restaurants and entertainment, and unobtrusive when we were content to just enjoy his lovely home. The Home is fabulously beautiful! The bed so comfy, room was warm, hot, hot water in the bath.... everything just right. It was our first stay at a B&B and we will never stay in a hotel again! The weekend we were there was cold and snowy, but you never knew that from inside the home! The location of the Columbine is on a beautiful tree-lined Boulevard about 30 blocks from Downtown and three blocks from University of Lousiville- close to everything you could want or need. We would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Did not have a swimming pool or fitness center. We stayed on the second floor where there are 4 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbineBB, Owner at Columbine Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks for your kind words. What more could a guy ask for...engaging, respectful guests who bring me homemade cherry strudel! Talk about a job with fringe benefits. I hope you can stay again soon. Hopefully, next time you are town the weather will be equally accommodating! By the way, I wanted to note that we are only 15 blocks from downtown proper (Old Louisville is actually part of downtown) and only 1.5 blocks to the University of Louisville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, KY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Three words - nutella french toast. That alone I would say is reason enough to stay. Quite honestly, this place is absolutely "amazeballs" as was the adulation used by my friend, Gavin throughout our party's stay. I loved every minute I spent here. Especially sitting out on the second level veranda with a good book and a cup of tea. What a great way to unwind! Atop an awesome breakfast, there were well-supplied, floor appointed ice and refreshment stations as well as an excellent selection of restaurants within walking distance.The only downside I've found was the hike from the car to our suite with all of the luggage supplied by the female faction of our group. Which really can't be blamed on the establishment or the hosts.This place is dripping with character and charm from the furnishings to the captivating company found in its innkeepers. I applaud you Rich and Bob for opening your home and creating such a wonderful retreat with the rest of us to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgitt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
244 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here in celebration of our 15th anniversary. We could not have chosen a better place! This was our first experience staying at a bed and breakfast and it was wonderful. The owners/ Inn keepers were perfect host. Our breakfast was wonderful, our room was wonderful, our bathroom was wonderful. Everything about this house was wonderful. This is a very beautiful home with so much character. As we entered this home, we felt at home. This was a home away from home. I loved the antiques in this home,the many sitting areas and the stunning dining room table! I have stayed in many hotels in the past, and none of those hotels surpassed the quality of service we received this past weekend. We will definitely be back. I've already recommended this place to my parents and my friends! I would like to thank Richard and Bob for a perfect weekend, thank you for preparing our meals according to our dietary restrictions. That alone is a huge deal and is greatly appreciated. With my husbands Celiacs disease and my acid reflux, we have struggled so many times in the past trying to get a good breakfast while traveling. Thank you for your many stories, very enjoyable. Thank you for the warmth you all gave us this past weekend. Thank you for sharing your home with us! We will be back.

Also, I forgot to mention the beautiful garden in the back. Everything about this place is 5 star. I would definitely recommend this place to couples,families, singles.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonifromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent one night in Louisville this weekend, and echo all of the positive sentiments and experiences of your other reviewers concerning Columbine! The house is beautifully restored and maintained. Rich is an informative, solicitous, attentive, and very engaging host. We stayed in the Magnolia Room on a very hot, humid night and couldn't have been more comfortable. Comfortable bed (double, not queen), good night's sleep. Rich's French Toast was amazing! This was an excellent choice, a very good value, and we would certainly return if ever our travels take us again to Louisville.

One warning: when you call for reservations, you'll get Rich on his cell phone --- poor connection, but don't let that put you off!

Room Tip: Magnolia Room is spacious and --- unlike some of the other rooms --- has its own in-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddraj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Fairgrounds
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Airport
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#6 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Bed & Breakfast

Property: Columbine Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1707 S 3rd St, Louisville, KY 40208-1917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy this historic bed and breakfast mansion with its unique Greek Revival facade situated in the heart of old Louisville. In an area known primarily for its magnificent Richardsonian Romanesque architecture, the Columbine's white columns and portico front stand out from the rest. Enjoy the others, but come "home" to the Columbine Bed & Breakfast where history and hospitality go hand in hand. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing