We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Woodhaven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Woodhaven
Ranked #5 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our fourth or fifth stay at Woodhaven, and it's always excellent. This is our default in-town getaway for years. We've been in the Rose Cottage, Derby room and Attic suite and all were comfy, cozy, nicely decorated, clean and well stocked.
The grounds are well landscaped, with LOTS of flowers--my wife spent about 45 minutes taking pictures of them.
The staff is friendly and breakfast is tasty and fresh: there is always fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, coffee, tea, eggs how you like them, pancakes or the excellent caramel french toast (I think this is assembled and baked, not so much discrete pieces of toast), and typically there is at least one "special" for something a little different.
Maybe my only complaint would be that the rooms tend to be a bit crowded and have little storage, so it can be hard to find somewhere to put your stuff.
Can't wait to go back. We always try to book so we can actually enjoy the place--either by arriving early, staying late, or two nights back-to-back.

Room Tip: The ultimate in privacy is the Rose Cottage, with the Attic Suite coming in second. If you need min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    22
    11
    3
    9
See reviews for
25
109
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Everything about our stay at the Inn at Woodhaven was deluxe. Rooms were great, breakfast was amazing, and general environment was totally welcoming. All future stays in Louisville will be here - have stayed at a lot of B&B's but this one truly stands out.

Room Tip: We really liked the Master Suite. Quiet and very spacious. Great bathroom too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasTraveller1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The Derby Room in the carriage house was our choice for a one-night stay at the end of an active (and hot) vacation hiking Red River Gorge and Mammoth cave. The bed was cocoon like in its comfort. The two person jaccuzi tub soothed our legs and feet. There was even a tot of sherry available in the room without having to go to the main house (where a wider selection is available to guests if you so desire.) Breakfast is sumptuous and cooked to order. Fruit, yogurt, granola, and baked goods are available before you even get to the menu! The location is in a suburb so you won't be exploring Louisville without driving. But you may not want to leave at all!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin_F_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband planned an anniversary getaway here for us for our first stay in the Garden Room. We loved it and have since stayed in the Carriage House and the Rose Room. Everything is done with excellence and attention to detail. You are totally spoiled when you stay here. The gardens are lovely, the porch is a great place to curl up with a book, and there are tons of treats and surprises around the common areas and in your room. The breakfast is gigantic, and offers many options, as well as organic fresh fruit. This is a wonderful place to stay. Close to the Mall of St. Matthew's and the downtown area-Belle of Louisville, small shops and restaurants on Frankfort Ave. and Joe Ley's Antiques on West Market St. You can do lots or little, and stay at a wonderful b and b. We will be going back again!

Room Tip: You can see the rooms on line, but if you want to check availability, it is best to call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kytraveler413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Beautiful, historic property in downtown Louisville, KY. We stayed in the converted carriage house. Very beautifully restored and lovely landscaping. Our room was called the Cupola Room and it was the entire upstairs. Steep staircase and outside the room lounging chair with a lamp to read and not disturb your partner. So soft linens and large number of pillows adorned the Queen-sized bed. One drawback is that the bathroom was not within the bedroom itself. There was no shower, but the bathtub had a handheld shower attachment. The food was delicious and abundant. There were nightcaps of liquors of all kinds. I would definitely return for another visit -- have one planned for August. Delightful innkeeper -- thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBGrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We arrived very late but our key was ready for us. Ahhhh...was the only thing I can think of to say about the wonderful bed in the Rose Room. The comfort, linens, pillows, everything! Best night's rest I've had in a long time. The surprise availability of a variety of liquors was much appreciated. We enjoyed everything from the color of the paint on the walls, to the antiques. I felt pampered and wished we could have stayed longer. Breakfast in the dining room was lovely, with raspberries and cream, warm croissants, and many other choices for entrees. Charming, quaint, Victorian seem inadequate...see for yourself if you ever have the chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house, in the Rose Room, gorgeous, spacious bath, full of creature comforts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleenonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Come just for the breakfast. The breakfast menu always includes the signature French toast, eggs, bacon, etc. Then there are usually specials. This Saturday my husband had the brie and ham omelet and I had a potato, cheese and sausage casserole. The fresh fruit was raspberries. You are encouraged to have more than one item. The food is very good.

We have stayed here several times over the last several years. We have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the decor is beautiful and fascinating.

You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I prefer staying in the main house, but the Hearth Room with the fireplace in the Carriage House is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
East Louisville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
East Louisville
Breckinridge Inn
Breckinridge Inn
#63 of 95 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Woodhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Woodhaven

Property: Inn at Woodhaven
Address: 401 S Hubbards Ln, Louisville, KY 40207-4074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Woodhaven 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Woodhaven is a bed and breakfast located in Louisville Kentucky. The Main House and Carriage House are on the National Register and were built in 1853. The award winning Rose Cottage was built in 1998 using details from each of the original buildings.Eight overnight accommodations are in the Main House, Carriage House or Rose Cottage and all offer high end amenities and comfortable furnishings. Breakfast is bountifull and made with local organic products. We serve in our formal dining room or we can deliver to the guests room. Guests also have complimentary soft drinks, and cookies and coffee, tea and snack stations in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Inn at Woodhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing