We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Woodhaven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Woodhaven
Ranked #5 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have stayed in many B&Bs and this one is a stand out. The house is beautiful and tastefully decorated (not too fussy) and the breakfasts were AMAZING. Plus, Marsha had delicious snacks out all day too so we never went hungry. The only downside was that I wasn't crazy about the location. It wasn't very close to any of the Louisville attractions and it was in a really suburban area with nothing very remarkable nearby. It didn't take long to drive anywhere, but I would have preferred being able to walk to some places. If you don't mind having to get in your car, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hya3fh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    22
    11
    3
    9
See reviews for
25
109
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

our group of five stayed at this Inn April 16 and 17, 2013, and it was especially interesting to me because as a child I had a friend who lived in this house when it was a private home. Marcia has managed to save the wonderful old features like the diamond paned indows and architectural ormamentation and still provide air-conditioning and private baths with each room. She has added a lot of decorations in every room. The stairs are high and steep, and that might be a problem for someone who hates stairs, and there is no one to cary your luggage up for you. I gather there are also accommodations in a cottage on the grounds - we did not use them. The breakfast was almost too good and had too many choices for those of us who normally hve a piece of fruit and some cereal. There is a computer and printer in the living room you can use for your boarding pass, if you need to do so, and wi-fi in hte rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We've stayed at the Inn at Woodhaven on three different occasions and have thoroughly loved our rooms (all different ones), the character of the home, the hospitality, the many extra touches and the fantastic breakfasts. We've taken our parents and our daughter to stay there on different occasions and we've given stays to friends in the form of gift certificates. We like it that much.

It is such an amazing collection of properties in what feels like a very safe neighbourhood. While the surrounding area isn't of the same character, that's okay. The Inn is a little historical oasis of an escape near modern conveniences. It's an old farm house that the city has grown around. We always rent a vehicle when we're there and the drive to Bellarmine University (under 10 minutes to get there and where our son has been for 5 years) and downtown has never been an issue.

Parking has always been a little tight while we're there but doable. It's been a comfort that there are always freshly baked snacks and chocolates at hand in the common area. My husband is a diabetic and it's comforting to know something sweet is near at hand.

There are so many details in the home to enjoy and marvel at. Lots of art, antiques, and comforts. I also like that it's a place to feel "comfortable" in. It's not too pristine or pretentious. It's a place to relax in and feel at home.

The beds have been excellent. Sometimes we've had silky vintage linens on our beds. I must say the last bed we stayed in (in the Master Suite) had quite a hard mattress compared to the others we've slept in. Still, we slept well. I remember on our first stay, in the Derby Room outside the main building, I declared it was the most comfortable bed I'd ever slept in. The vintage linens were so sweet, with touches of crocheted lace on the edges, and it was a canopy bed. We had our own, private little sunning spot outside the door and around the corner.

With the spacious Master Suite and it's very high 4 poster bed, was a side room with a daybed where our adult daughter was able to set up her own private suite. She LOVED it! It's on the 2nd floor and off of it is a little balcony and stairs to ground level. There was enough seating there for all of us to sit in the sunshine and watch the birds.

I appreciate the big bowl of fruit that is there every morning and that there is a great selection of "help yourself items" including the fruit, juices, cereals, and baking. And there is a menu as well with daily specials. Anything we've tried on the menu has been very, very good. I would expect everyone would find something to suit their tastes on the menu.

We also LOVE the steam showers. LOVE THEM! What a nice extra. The Inn at Woodhaven will remain our go-to accommodation in Louisville.

Room Tip: We've loved all 3 we've stayed in and we hope to stay in the attic suite next time we go, es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harmony, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Woodhaven reminds me a great deal of the better Inn's outside London -- only Woodhaven provides a higher level of hospitality. We were blown away by the absolute charm and ambiance in this wonderfully restored home. The house itself is magnificent. The guest rooms are decorated with stylish flair and loaded with comforts. It was clear to us the Innkeeper is doing what she was born to do - she has the gift.

Woodhaven is a perfect base camp for business travelers, romantic escapes, and fraternal gatherings. Personally, I can see myself returning for the purpose of writing and creative planning for my business.

Breakfast is outstanding.

When in Louisville we'd rather stay at Woodhaven than The Seelbach, The Brown, or The 21C Museum Hotel.

Room Tip: The Woodhaven web site provides a 20% discount for last-minute booking. Look under Specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmarillioSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We needed an escape at the last minute. Marsha and her staff go above and beyond to accommodate every visitors unique needs. Each room affords a spacious floor plan and unique decor. We will definitely return in the days ahead.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheltontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Great location, beautiful home, great breakfast. Everything is close by. Loved the assorted cakes & cookies left out each day, especially the gingerbread ones! Woke up each morning to the smell of pancakes, sausage, eggs and other assorted goodies cooking in the kitchen.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to 'The Attic', which was way more room than I needed. It was beautiful thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidramichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

While the Inn itself was scenic, the service was disappointing. No one was at the entrance to greet us - we had to go and find someone. The first day we were there the phone rang and I did not answer it in time; five minutes later one of the ladies knocked and was about to get her key in the door by the time I opened it - she was putting linens away. Not changing them, not bringing them by our request - just putting them away. Our last day we were called again two hours before checkout (while my wife was in the shower) and asked if the HVAC workmen could come in. Then our credit card was run before we verified which one to use. Overall; disappointing service in a scenic house.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexington T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
East Louisville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Homewood Suites Louisville East
East Louisville
Breckinridge Inn
Breckinridge Inn
#62 of 95 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Woodhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Woodhaven

Property: Inn at Woodhaven
Address: 401 S Hubbards Ln, Louisville, KY 40207-4074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Woodhaven 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Woodhaven is a bed and breakfast located in Louisville Kentucky. The Main House and Carriage House are on the National Register and were built in 1853. The award winning Rose Cottage was built in 1998 using details from each of the original buildings.Eight overnight accommodations are in the Main House, Carriage House or Rose Cottage and all offer high end amenities and comfortable furnishings. Breakfast is bountifull and made with local organic products. We serve in our formal dining room or we can deliver to the guests room. Guests also have complimentary soft drinks, and cookies and coffee, tea and snack stations in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Inn at Woodhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing