We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Relaxing Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 15 Louisville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2013

John and Ricardo really love taking care of their guests. It's very obvious they take pride in their place. We stayed there to celebrate our one year anniversary. The aesthetics were pleasing. The room (Victorian Suite) was beautiful and smelled like lavender. They provide extras on request. We had chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us. John gave a lovely tour of the home and our room and recommended an amazing restaurant nearby. Later we enjoyed the cozy backyard with some of the complimentary drinks and snacks. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was phenomenal (florentine quiche with hash browns, fried ham, banana parfait, and a blueberry muffin). They even have DVDs to watch either in your room or the third floor sitting room. We loved it so much that we want to make it a regular getaway and definitely a tradition for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessecacox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We often stay at B&B's. None are as good as Rocking Horse. We have reviewed Rocking Horse other times we have stayed. Jon and Ricardo continue to excel. Highly recommend for anyone traveling to Louisvilke.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

What a great place! Warm and sincere welcome from John and Ricardo who made us at home the minute we walked in. They have great knowledge of the area and - unusually for us as we like to do our own thing - we did everything they recommended and the experiences were exactly to our taste. Lovely leisurely breakfast - just wish we could have stayed longer in this beautiful Victorian home. We would have no hesitation in recommending this great find.

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary and this was our first time staying at a B&B. From the very moment we arrived, we were treated like family by John and Ricardo. John immediately showed us around the beautiful house and gave us excellent tips on what to do and where to go. Their recommendations couldn't have been more spot-on. We stayed in the Sulliger Annniversary Suite and it was equipped with everything you could ask for, including a two-person whirlpool. I was going to stay at another chain hotel but based on pictures and reviews of this B&B, I decided to give it a shot. My wife and I couldn't have been happier with our stay and urge everyone to let John and Ricardo show you the true meaning of hospitality and comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Most of the previous tripadvisor reviews are right on the money about this place. John and Ricardo are gracious hosts, the proximity to Louisville attractions, and wonderful restoration and preservation of this home make for a very pleasurable stay. Enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of the Grand Victorian Suite after taking in a Louisville Bats game. Stay here and you'll want to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb_544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night during our road trip down to Nashville and then over to the Smokies. This was our anniversary celebration, complete with dinner at 610 Magnolia (which we could walk to from here) and we definitely chose the right place.

We stayed in Louise's Country Cottage and the room was beautifully decorated. The bed was comfortable and the clawfoot tub was great. I only wish I had time to enjoy a bath in it!

The bed & breakfast itself was also beautifully decorated. The owners know so much about the history of the building and we really enjoyed hearing about how it was a bourbon baron's house! They also know quite a bit about Louisville and suggested that on our way to 610 Magnolia we stop in at Buck's for a drink as well as wander around historic Louisville and take in the old gas-lit lanterns. We had a great walk down to the restaurant and were so caught up in looking at old houses that we didn't have time to stop in at Buck's until after dinner -- but so glad we did. What a unique ambiance and we would have missed it if it wasn't for the suggestions John & Ricardo gave us.

Breakfast was delicious -- first course was a yogurt parfait with a small piece of AMAZING coffee cake and the second course was a cheese-egg souffle. I loved the table settings -- Martha Stewart would have been impressed!

We were sad to leave after only one night and hope in the future we can stay here again. Great location in historic Louisville and great owners. Loved our time here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband surprised me with an overnight stay at Rocking Horse Bed and Breakfast for our First Anniversary. The moment I stepped into the house, I felt as if we had traveled back in time to a world of antique romance and charm. Every stairway, corner, room, and hallway is thoughtfully arranged and decorated.
Our room was very quaint, comfortable, and feel like home. The service is wonderful- free WIFI, complimentary beverages and snacks, cozy bathrobes, and DVD's available to watch. And the innkeepers were so welcoming and cooked us a delicious breakfast!
Overall, the Rocking Horse Bed & Breakfast exudes a sense of relaxation, romance, and charm, and we would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone!

Room Tip: Delicate rosebud decor, lace curtains and doilies, vintage lamps, and beautiful antiques make "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 102 in Louisville
2,067 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#30 of 102 in Louisville
4,243 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#4 of 102 in Louisville
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Louisville
Inn at Saint James Court
Inn at Saint James Court
#10 of 15 in Louisville
9 reviews
East Louisville
Inn at Woodhaven
Inn at Woodhaven
#7 of 15 in Louisville
200 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 102 in Louisville
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1022 S 3rd St, Louisville, KY 40203-2914
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range: £54 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1888 Historic Rocking Horse Manor Bed & Breakfast is the house built for one of the Bourbon Barons of Victorian Louisville, Max Selliger, of Max Selliger & Co. Distillery in 1888. Stay in a former Bourbon Baron's home and enjoy the craftsmanship that went into the great homes of Old Louisville. The Rocking Horse Manor is a totally restored 1888 Richardsonian Romanesque mansion. All guest rooms offer all the amenities the modern traveler requires, including in-suite baths, individual room temperature controls and high-speed wireless internet access all throughout, while the house maintains the Victorian architectural features including original stained glass, pocket doors, hand-carved fire place mantels, 12 1/2 foot ceilings, original parquet floors with intricate inlaid borders and original Italian Marble mosaic tiles in the expansive foyer. Enjoy a glass of Bourbon in the parlor or library with wet-bar or outside in the courtyard with its various seating areas in both, sun and shade, large fountain, and view of the impressive façade of the original carriage house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing