We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Gem in Old Louisville.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 20 Louisville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in September for two weeks, whilst we visited our daughter at the University of Louisville.
John and Ricardo are superb hosts and the Manor is an amazing , stunning place.
Everything was perfect, from the room we stated in, Louise's Country Cottage, to the delicious breakfasts and John's incredible knowledge of Louisville.
When we needed to extend our stay one extra night, nothing was too much trouble.
It was a home from home and we will be staying nowhere else when we return to the city, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurleySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had two wonderful nights in the Rocking Horse Manor's 3rd floor Patricia's Hideaway room. Hosts John and Ricardo know their property well. When we arrived we got a full tour of the B & B with historical stories about the original home and its restoration. Located on "Millionaire's Row" in Louisville, it is one of many amazing homes in this neighborhood built in the 1800's. Since this was our first time in Louisville, John mapped out plenty of things to see and do in the area. Don't miss the Churchill Downs museum and tour. His restaurant recommendations of Amici's (Italian) and Buck's (Bourbon bar and fine dining) both a short walk from the B & B were terrific. Highly recommended for excellent guest service, delicious gourmet breakfasts, and an ideal location for any visit to Louisville.

Room Tip: Patricia's Hideaway on the third floor is a spacious room. There is no elevator so you might wa...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 129dennisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

From the moment we arrived in Louisville we were made to feel at home at Rocking Horse Manor. John and Ricardo are the two friendliest people you would ever want to meet and they were happy to share their knowledge of the city. In addition to being wonderful hosts they have made sure that this B&B has all the amenities one would ever desire (refrigerator for storing left overs, complimentary soda, coffee, cookies, and the list goes on...). As a B&B fan, I can say that this is the best one I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Located close to downtown Louisville, upon entering the Rocking Horse Manor it's like entering another world - the sprawling Victorian house has been restored so carefully - the tiles, carpets, wallpaper: all is exquisite. John and Ricardo were wonderful, charming and knowledgeable hosts who made us feel at home instantly. They prepared and served a beautiful, fresh breakfast with tasty coffee in a lovely dining room - such a treat. The room was small but pretty and had everything we needed, there's a cute garden and easy parking out front. Great value and a wonderful stay - would return here without question.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This fabulous B&B in Historic Louisville was so much more than I expected! A friend booked our stay so I had no idea what a treat I was about to experience. After a very long day attending a conference it was wonderful to be greeted by John at the door and welcomed inside this Victorian retreat of beauty and solitude. We were given a tour of the three story manor as well as the lovely back garden and encouraged to make ourselves at home. John also shared information about the local restaurants, museums and the Gas Light District. The entire Inn was spotless, full of history, smelled divine and the top floor offered a charming sitting room with tea, coffee and a fridge full of complimentary sodas. We stayed the night in Louisa's Country Cottage and I can honestly say I slept as well as I do in my own bed. Though there were other occupant's in rooms above and beside us we were totally unaware of this until the next morning when we met them at breakfast. These rooms are extremely comfortable, quiet, equipped with WiFi, television and private bathrooms. When I woke the next morning to return to the conference my first thought was, "No! I just want to stay here and wallow in this lovely bed!" Then I remembered breakfast was soon to be served which was definitely an incentive to rise and descend the gleaming staircase. A scrumptious, flavorful breakfast was served in the dining room with the smoothest coffee I've had in years. Soon afterwards we waved goodbye to our lovely hosts feeling satisfied and extremely content to begin our busy day. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who appreciates beauty, history, cleanliness, good food, lovely hosts, soft sheets and serenity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The modern conveniences integrated with the historical aspects of this property made our stay perfect. The central location and the guidance offered by John gave us the opportunity to experience the art and culture of Louisville.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 220vickiea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Located on the transitional edge of Old Louisville, the inn is a handsome Richardsonion Romanesque house chock-full of anything remotely related to the Victorian era. The decor was in extreme need of some judicial editing. After staying here, I've come to realize that a full house of interesting items can be way too much of a good thing. John and Ricardo are extremely obliging, if not terribly attentive. Breakfast was delicious, and among the best we've had at a B&B. The big suite had an annoying tick in the HVAC that was solved by turning the fan to the lowest setting. All in all, not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: This place is on the airport flight path, so third floor occupants may suffer from UPS planes landin...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 97 in Louisville
1,942 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,397 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#29 of 97 in Louisville
4,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1022 South Third Street, Louisville, KY 40203-2914
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range: £56 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1888 Historic Rocking Horse Manor Bed & Breakfast is the house built for one of the Bourbon Barons of Victorian Louisville, Max Selliger, of Max Selliger & Co. Distillery in 1888. Stay in a former Bourbon Baron's home and enjoy the craftsmanship that went into the great homes of Old Louisville. The Rocking Horse Manor is a totally restored 1888 Richardsonian Romanesque mansion. All guest rooms offer all the amenities the modern traveler requires, including in-suite baths, individual room temperature controls and high-speed wireless internet access all throughout, while the house maintains the Victorian architectural features including original stained glass, pocket doors, hand-carved fire place mantels, 12 1/2 foot ceilings, original parquet floors with intricate inlaid borders and original Italian Marble mosaic tiles in the expansive foyer. Enjoy a glass of Bourbon in the parlor or library with wet-bar or outside in the courtyard with its various seating areas in both, sun and shade, large fountain, and view of the impressive façade of the original carriage house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing