We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay. Great start to our honeymoon.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 21 Louisville B&B and Inns
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
“Great Stay. Great start to our honeymoon.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This quaint, beautiful property in "Old Louisville" was the perfect getaway to start off our honeymoon. The stay was beautiful and the rooms of the house were charming. Breakfast was also wonderful! We would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking for a nice, romantic evening away from the normal hustle and bustle of life! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    17
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
168
25
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We decided on a last-minute trip to Louisville, and chose the Rocking Horse as our lodging destination. The building is beautiful and charming, and very convenient to downtown and other neighboring destinations. Adrian (the innkeeper) was very welcoming, and shared a number of interesting facts about the building and Louisville...and he is an AMAZING cook. Our breakfast was incredible. The back patio area is very welcoming (and may be the perfect spot for a surprise engagement!). We stayed in one of the third floor rooms (Patricia's Hidewaway), and the only slight negative, was that it was a tad warm at times. However, it was also around 100 degrees outside. The room was spacious and quiet. Thank you for being a gracious host!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was the final night to a eight day trip, before heading back home. Plus a surprise B & B stay, not your regular Hotel/Motel. We deserved a great place for the last night and found it....

We were thoroughly satisfied with the feel and enjoyable ambiance of the Rocking Horse and reception from Adrian. The great hospitality extended from the greeting, finding a nice restaurant for dinner, the backyard for an evening nightcap, and enjoyable breakfast the next morning. The Manors history, restoration and feel of the period was a plus for us.

The best review, is that we would stay here again with no hesitation....

Thank you, Rocking Horse Manor

Room Tip: May want to consider the difference in bathing facilities if you have any age or physical issues. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

All of our former trips to Louisville have been in the winter months and I was not sure how Louisville would look in the summer. When the opportunity presented itself to find out, I found the description of a Bed & Breakfast which sounded extremely interesting.

The pictures of the home were beautiful and we quickly made our reservations! When we arrived, the home was even more beautiful than we had expected and we were met at the front door by our wonderful and friendly inn-keeper, Adrian. We fell in love with Adrian and have been treated like Royalty every minute of our visit. Rocking Horse is exquisite, sparkling clean and beautifully maintained. We were treated to a "fine dining experience" each morning at breakfast in the lovely dining room. We stayed in the Chelsea 's Garden room which was a large room and separate bath beautifully appointed. We hope to have the opportunity to return to this lovely B&B.

Thank you Adrian for your attentive care.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Loved our stay. Adrian took wonderful care of us. Lovely bed and breakfast in "Old Louisville". Close to downtown and the university. My husband and I would stay here again. We stayed in the " Louise Country Cottage" room. Very comfortable king bed. Good size room with plenty of space.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family4Traveling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is what a Bed and Breakfast should be. A very nice and well kept and meticulously maintained historic Louisville Mansion. This B&B is located in the “Old Louisville” portion of town along with all the other wonder mansions in this area.
The Inn keepers are very inviting but are not intrusive to your privacy. They seem to know when you need them and when you need your privacy. Once inside, all the historic surroundings will make you feel like you just stepped back into 1888 Louisville, But with all the comfort of more modern technology. Even with other guests in the house you still feel as if you are at home alone and can relax. We even snuck down to the dining room late at night to grab some of the homemade cookies that they set out for the guests.
Bed was very comfortable, bathroom clean and equipped with all the necessities that you could possibly need.
Breakfast is very good and is served by the Inn keepers in a lovely dinning room. And they give you a few choices for breakfast the night before so you can anticipate the morning banquet.
The only problem I have with giving Rocking Horse a good review is that this will entice other to go and could possibly lead to excessive bookings which could lead to us not being able to stay at Rocking Horse when we want to.
If in Louisville, you must stay at the Rocking Horse.

Room Tip: Best room...Grand Victorian Suite...awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalWeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua Tree, CA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Each time I am in Louisville, I stay at Rocking Horse Manor. The B&B is in a beautiful building and is well managed. On this trip, my spouse accompanied me and very much enjoyed the stay.

The B&B is well situated. It's within walking distance of Central Park and Old Louisville as well as downtown (Hotel Brown, et al).There's ample on-street parking right in front of the B&B, as well as a large parking lot two doors down.

The Wi-Fi works well and the breakfast portions are very generous.

Thanks to Adrian, John & Ricardo for another great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmarieJoshuaTree_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 97 in Louisville
1,909 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 97 in Louisville
1,366 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#26 of 97 in Louisville
3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Seelbach Hilton
#17 of 97 in Louisville
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rocking Horse Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1022 South Third Street, Louisville, KY 40203-2914
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1888 Historic Rocking Horse Manor Bed & Breakfast is the house built for one of the Bourbon Barons of Victorian Louisville, Max Selliger, of Max Selliger & Co. Distillery in 1888. Stay in a former Bourbon Baron's home and enjoy the craftsmanship that went into the great homes of Old Louisville. The Rocking Horse Manor is a totally restored 1888 Richardsonian Romanesque mansion. All guest rooms offer all the amenities the modern traveler requires, including in-suite baths, individual room temperature controls and high-speed wireless internet access all throughout, while the house maintains the Victorian architectural features including original stained glass, pocket doors, hand-carved fire place mantels, 12 1/2 foot ceilings, original parquet floors with intricate inlaid borders and original Italian Marble mosaic tiles in the expansive foyer. Enjoy a glass of Bourbon in the parlor or library with wet-bar or outside in the courtyard with its various seating areas in both, sun and shade, large fountain, and view of the impressive façade of the original carriage house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing