We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center
Ranked #83 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Do Not Recommend”
Reviewed 26 November 2007

I stayed here for one night while on a road trip and was not pleased with the quality for the price. Our rate was $95 but this seemed more like a $30 hotel room. The room was not clean, the phone didn't work and the furnishings were very old and gross- stained carpet, etc. The windows and doors were not well insulated and leaked cold air. We were on the ground level and all night long there was a lot of noise outside our room- people yelling, car alarms going off- despite the fact that the hotel was not busy and only had a handful of guests. Also, although this hotel is located next to the highway, it is not that easy to get to if you are coming from the south.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    35
    86
    72
    107
See reviews for
89
43
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2005

You certainly get your money's worth, and then some. For 42$ we got a spotless room, 2 comfortable queen beds, a decent size bathroom, parking, and a really convenient location. Decent amenities. The breakfast was fine, though nothing to write home about (then again what do you expect at this price?). The only problem we had was the noise. The walls are thin, and you can hear pretty much everything (especially when the neighbor starts banging at the door past 2am). Also, you can hear planes through the night. Not for light sleepers. Also, no restaurants within walking distance, but who would want to be walking in that part of town? Other than that, I'd say it's a good bargain.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gunnercade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 May 2005

Yes. The place is the pits, however in the case of the Derby it is the hot spot. The hotel is open corridor and everyone sits out side drinking and hanging around. The girls are not bashful, and the guys are testosterone driven.

The rooms are a mess. The only restaurant is the gas station in the parking lot. Their is no pool or other amenities.

I will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 June 2004

There are two good things about this hotel. One is it's right off Interstate 64. The other is it's really close to Churchill Downs! King bed in a tiny room, no coffee pot. The room we had (#102) had a ceiling in the bathroom that had been (not very well) patched where it had evidently fallen in on someone. Looked like it was not going to last through my shower. I do have to say the room was clean and the bed comfortable. It was only about $40. Ice and drink machines not but so convenient -all ice on second floor. Parking is really awkward. Beware if you drive a large vehicle. Cigs and liquor sold nearby, but no restaurant particularly convenient. Gas station in the parking lot. Unless you are headed for the Kentucky Derby, I'm not sure I'd stay here if I didn't have to.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinn05548, General Manager at Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center, responded to this review, 26 December 2007
I'm the newest manager for Days Inn Central/Univ/Expo having taken over just a few months ago. In that time, we have made quite a few positive changes to our hotel in an ongoing effort to address issues like the ones mentioned here.

We have totally repaired all ceilings in the hotel that were the result of previous water damage. All rooms now have coffee pots along with irons and ironing boards. The ice machines are still on the second floor, but drink machines are on the other two floors. In the next few months, we'll have a vending room on the first floor complete with all vending and washing machines and dryers. We've also painted the entire exterior of the hotel and replaced carpet in 1/3 of our rooms.

Future renovations for early 2008 include changing the 19" televisions to 27" and replacing all the wallpaper with a textured wall covering. We're committed to giving our guests a positive experience and invite everyone to see the changes taking place.

Please contact me if you wish to know more about what we're doing! Thank you!

General Manager
Days Inn Central (05488)
PH 502-636-3781
FX 502-634-9544
daysinncentral.louisville@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Old Louisville
Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#70 of 95 in Louisville
400 reviews
South Side
Sleep Inn Louisville Airport & Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Property: Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center
Address: 1620 Arthur St, Louisville, KY 40208-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're in Louisville, let Days Inn Central be your home away from home! A friendly atmosphere and exceptional customer service place you in the heart of a great hospitality experience. Amenity-abundant accommodations, great local restaurants, and a caring dedicated staff work to exceed all your expectations of the typical economy inn. This hotel provides the best for those visiting Louisville on business or pleasure. Visit us and discover what sets us apart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Central / University And Expo Hotel Louisville
Days Inn Louisville
Louisville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing