We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Protect yourself and property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center
Ranked #82 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Protect yourself and property!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

To say this motel is noisy is an understatement! If it isn't the truck/car traffic whizzing by on I-65 out front, it's the garbage truck emptying the dumpsters of the gas station 150 feet from your doors at four AM. Let's not even mention the all night traffic of people driving in and out at all hours! And women walking the parking lot from room to room. Need I say more? Near non-existant wi-fi, (they'll tell you they have it, but it's not true, and they really don't care) one open to the heat cubbyhole on the second floor has two ice makers, good luck getting much ice out of them, and a spartan breakfast they seem really proud of. Don't trust your car being safe, if it's damaged, they'll claim it didn't happen here, since they have "security". Three nights here, and I saw the guy one time walking across the parking lot!

Room Tip: Somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcrnn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    35
    88
    73
    107
See reviews for
90
43
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is falling apart, no joke. The concrete is chipped and cracked and the ceiling is warped from water damage and stains everywhere, inside and out. The exit sign and lighting for the second floor stairwell was hanging by the wiring and there was caution tape everywhere, including in the railing. The parking lot is shady, with some unpleasant persons lurking about. Many of them hang at the gas station right in front of the property. My partner was harassed several times by housekeeping, the second day of our stay. I had booked three nights and they were requesting we leave a day early. They wanted us to speak with the manager and it was just a mess. The only good things about this place was the older gentlemen who checked me in and the shower was pretty nice. Other then that, it was not worth the money. Also the tv is outdated and has a horrible picture and the net worked about half of the time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel staff was very nice, the maid service was great.the only thing I say is that the hotel rooms need updating

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimyata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This Days Inn was exactly as expected for the weekend of the Kentucky Derby.

The price of the hotel was less than most others we looked into. And since we booked a little late for the occasion, we were lucky to get a room. However, you get what you pay for. It is a place to stay during the Derby weekend, with no frills... Which suited us just fine.

The hotel offers a continental breakfast in the morning including biscuits and gravy in case you wanted a southern experience with your morning muffin.

The hotel was older, but clean. And suited for our needs for this particular trip. It wasn't a five star hotel by any means but the staff was very friendly and they exhibited that southern hospitality that seems to come naturally with the people of Kentucky.

We were told at the end of our visit that they would be renovating over the next year which is a good idea. Like I said, the hotel was older but again, very clean! It is situated right off the highway next to a liquor store and a gas station. There are other places in the city that may provide more creature comforts than this Days Inn but it was a perfect spot for our needs and quite affordable for Kentucky Derby weekend.

It is only a few miles up the highway to Churchill Downs. So for convenience and for hotel staff friendliness I give my experience a thumbs up.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CTSkiTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Old Louisville
Quality Inn & Suites University/Airport
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#71 of 97 in Louisville
408 reviews
South Side
Sleep Inn Louisville Airport & Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Four Points by Sheraton Louisville Airport
South Side
Red Roof Inn Louisville Fair And Expo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center

Property: Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center
Address: 1620 Arthur St, Louisville, KY 40208-2727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Old Louisville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 97 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center 2*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're in Louisville, let Days Inn Central be your home away from home! A friendly atmosphere and exceptional customer service place you in the heart of a great hospitality experience. Amenity-abundant accommodations, great local restaurants, and a caring dedicated staff work to exceed all your expectations of the typical economy inn. This hotel provides the best for those visiting Louisville on business or pleasure. Visit us and discover what sets us apart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Louisville Central University & Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Central / University And Expo Hotel Louisville
Days Inn Louisville
Louisville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing