We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoke in a non-smoking room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Louisville East
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
West Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smoke in a non-smoking room”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This hotel is in a semi industrial area but if you take the back road you head right into a main shopping/eating area. Walmart is 5min away. We reserved a non-smoking room but it was evident that someone definitely smoked in this room. When we told the front desk, she said that "yes that happens" and then offered us Fabreeze. Not happy. Otherwise everything was pretty good. We were in town for the Mid America Truck show so the prices were jacked up. Would not have paid what we did otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Manager at Best Western Louisville East, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.We do apologize for the smoke smell you had in your room. As stated at check in, we are an all non smoking property and charge a fine of $250 for evidence found of smoking. We also take measures to deep clean the room at that point to try and rid the smell the best we can. As it was Mid America Truck show time, the hotel was sold out and we were unable to move you rooms to make you more comfortable. We will talk to the front desk agent and teach him/her a better response to that type of situation. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Lori Garrow
Assistant General Manger
Best Western Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    123
    94
    47
    31
See reviews for
172
96
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Room was very big but very dirty. There were rings on the table from the previous person that may have stayed there. Wanted to leave my drinks in the fridge but, that was very gross and looked like it had never been wiped out. The water pressure in the shower was terrible, and the toilet was even worse! I will never stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chachi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Manager at Best Western Louisville East, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Lori Garrow
Assistant General Manager
Best Western Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Louisville hotels

MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Would not stay there again, in spite of the nice people who work there, and their decent breakfast. The location was next to two long-term motel/hotel places, behind car dealers and a Wal-Mart. Yuck. A couple of construction workers were standing right outside the back door smoking and drinking when we arrived, such a classy touch. The site I expressed purchased my stay thru, said it was a three-star hotel, which was why I had booked it. I don't even know how that is possible. It's a plain ole BEST WESTERN. It's not a Best Western Plus or anything like that. I'd say it might be a step up from a Super 8, maybe. It was dirty (and we asked for a different room and that was dirty too). The bathroom wall in the second room, by the toilet, looked like there was diarrhea splatter on it. There was some large, weird, greasy marks on the one wall of the room and on one wall of the tub surround. I was wondering if it was or was not removable, so I grabbed a wet washcloth. Yep, it wiped right off, without scrubbing. Wonder why I could do that and housekeeping couldn't? The beds were fine. There was a smallish flat screen TV (we didn't use it). In our first room, the phone didn't work. It was plugged in, but had no dial tone, and was missing many of it's buttons. In the first room, it had obviously not been vacuumed. In the first room, the tray with the cups, etc...was dirty. It took more than ten minutes to assign us a new (also dirty) room. There was some issue with the computers, I was told. It was 11 something at night, so I just wanted to get in a room and settled for the second room, only because of that, and I had no faith that I would find a truly clean room in the property. Anyway, I don't care what kind of lipstick they put on that pig (new tile in the entryway or paint on the walls), as long as the bathroom door is coming off of the hinges so badly that it gets stuck shut (and judging by the wear, it has done that a long time), and they can't clean the place properly, it will still be a 1.5 star hotel in my book. Never again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famgetaway5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Manager at Best Western Louisville East, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Lori Garrow
Assistant General Manager
Best Western Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarksville tn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

From the outside the hotel looks great, but once inside its not as nice as it seems. The parking is limited unless you park in the back of the hotel. The room was ok kinda out dated. I thought the bathroom was dirty and would not take a shower. The ac/heater made a popping noise all night long and kept us awake. Then the housekeeper knocked on our door at 0930 and since we were asleep and didnt answer she came in saw us and walked back out. Then the housekeeper kept coming back knocking on the door, I mean check out time is at noon right? Never stay here.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Manager at Best Western Louisville East, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We have addressed the issues within the room and with the housekeeping department. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Lori Garrow
Assistant General Manager
Best Western Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Overall, this is a great hotel; great value. Layout of the rooms are nice, linens were clean, service was good. The location is not bad in that it is near interstates and within short driving proximity to a few restaurants, service stations, etc., but it's off on a side street. Not a big issue, just worth noting.

Also, the bathrooms could have used some detailed cleaning. It looks like housekeeping has been a bit lax on their jobs recently. Nothing terribly visible, but some subtle residue and a lack of freshness can be observed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Manager at Best Western Louisville East, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We have addressed the houskeeping department and by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Lori Garrow
Assistant General Manger
Best Western Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

From the pictures online this place did not meet the expectations. The rooms smell. And the elevator is kinda scary. The bathroom is very small. And the desk chair has stains on it. The clean remotes are kinda cool but kinda weird but whatever.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sryan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Manager at Best Western Louisville East, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. We are having our housekeepers keep a watchful eye on the chairs now and by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Lori Garrow
Assistant General Manger
Best Western Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Couldn't get a room downtown so stayed here. Great decision. Easy drive into city and less than half the rate. Huge room with fridge and microwave. Everyone we dealt with was very friendly. Hotel was slammed with teen volleyball players which stretched the staff but never caused a problem for us. Only (small) gripe....no toast or muffins or any sort of bread on breakfast buffet. Odd.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank julesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori G, Manager at Best Western Louisville East, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Lori Garrow
Assistant General Manger
Best Western Louisville East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#43 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Louisville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Louisville East

Property: Best Western Louisville East
Address: 9802 Bunsen Way, Louisville, KY 40299-2548 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Louisville East)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Louisville East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Louisville, Kentucky hotel featuring recently renovated guest rooms and enjoy a host of convenient amenities at a great value while traveling. The Best Western Louisville East is conveniently located with easy access to key attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options.Area Attractions:Churchill Downs – 12 m KY Fair / Expo – 10 mKentucky Derby Museum – 12 m 4th Street Live – 11 mLouisville Slugger Museum – 12m Skyview Park – 2 mCaesars Riverboat Casino – 25m Oxmoor Mall – 4 mTom Sawyer State Park – 7 m St. Matthews Mall – 4 m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Louisville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Envoy Hotel Louisville
Best Western Envoy Inn And Suites
Best Western Louisville
Louisville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing