We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff. Clean hotel. Crappy utilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Louisville
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Let me start by saying, the staff at this hotel and the restaruarnt Sway were wonderful. The hotel and rooms were always clean. I have zero complaints about any of the staff or amenities. While a bit dated in style (looks like early 1980s Atrium-style hotel like many Embassy Suites), it was updated with modern decor.

Here's my peeve: the AC in our room sucked monkey nuts. If I'm spending more than $150 at a hotel, the AC had better reach ice box temps if I want it to. There's nothing worse than getting out of a shower and walking into a warm clammy room. That's exactly what happened in our room.

The "thermostat" wasn't really a thermostat at all. You set the temperature you want, but it doesn't display the actual room temperature (nice little mental trick there). I set it to 56 all weekend, and it never got below about 73-74 degrees. I can't say more exactly, but it was warmer and more humid than my house, which I keep at those temps in the daytime. Worse than that, I don't think it was pulling the humidity out of the room. The floor felt wet to your feet, as did the bed sheets. It clearly was not working properly, and a comment to the staff resulted in no improvement (they came to the room, I think, and set the temp to 64: no change).

I can understand (maybe) if it it unseasonably hot outside and the units can't keep up, but during our stay, it was 75-83 outside the entire weekend.

Also, the toilet barely flushed water down the drain, let alone toilet paper. Finally, the plastic/fiberglass shower/tub felt like the floor was going to give out.

We really enjoyed our stay in Louisville, and would have enjoyed a perfect weekend. We'll be back to Louisville, but not to the Hyatt. There are cheaper hotels closer to our destination that can't possibly have worse utilities.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 1208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tochtli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Especially 4th Street Live. We stayed here for a wedding and found it fun to be on the next block from a very alive area of music and fun. Close driving distance from Churchill Downs, Louisville Slugger Museum and other attractions. Nice hotel, bagel shop and restaurant on site. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Bathroom is a little small, but has lots of counter space. The rest of the room could use more light. Our room was not ready when we got there, so they gave us an upgrade to a larger room - it was worth the wait. We got our exercise walking from our room to the parking garage! I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you are going to live in a hotel in downtown Louisville, i would recommend this Hyatt or the nearby Hilton...both are located on the entertainment epicenter called Fourth Street. Everything downtown seems to be a walk away from the hotel. The pool is smaller than most hotels I have stayed at with a prime downtown location. I had free in-room WiFi but I believe this was due to my loyalty status with Hyatt, otherwise it might have been paid WiFi. I wish the hotel had cheaper parking for guests, especially long term guests. It would have been cheaper to park at a nearby garage than use the one located at the hotel. I am a fan of the bar/lounge (Sway) located in the lobby of the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biztravkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Hyatt was a great home base in Louisville! Sitting at the mouth of 4th Street Live this hotel provided a clean and elegant place to rest between fun events. We attended a concert at the Louisville Palace and were able to walk to the venue. Plenty of breweries and restaurants were steps from the hotel. I would certainly recommend this place to people who want to be surrounded by fun!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelH872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If in Louisville the Hyatt Regency is right in the middle of tons of stuff all within walking distance. It is great that now 4th street is a Pedestrian walkway. There is always music going on amongst other things. The hotel also has a great southern breakfast spot!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just an ok place to stay. Very good location to the downtown area. Within walking distance of many sites and area attractions. Some are a pretty good walk and there are trolleys and cabs as well in the area. The rooms area somewhat unimpressive with no safe or refrigerator, you can ask for a refrigerator. The meeting rooms were nice. We were crowded in a few because we had a large group but for the breakout sessions there were nice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This a perfect location. Located across the street from 4th Street Live. The hotel and rooms are very clean. All of the staff are professional and helpful. I recommend eating dinner at the hotel restaurant and having a beverage in the lobby bar. Great atmosphere!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Indy251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Galt House Hotel
#31 of 102 in Louisville
4,234 reviews
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 102 in Louisville
2,065 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#20 of 102 in Louisville
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#12 of 102 in Louisville
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Louisville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Louisville

Address: 311 S 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2997
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Louisville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#17 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: £88 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Louisville 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open-Atrium style property, 393 guestroom hotel. Property features complimentary Hyatt Stay Fit Gym access, coffee maker, hair dryer, high speed wireless Internet and voice mail. High-speed access in meeting room and guestrooms. Connected by skywalk to the Kentucky International Convention Center and 4th Street Live!, Louisville's newest entertainment venue with over 300,000 square feet of specialty restaurants, bars and retail. Hotel is minutes from Churchill Downs, Papa John's Football Stadium and Louisville International Airport. Walk to Waterfront Park, Muhammad Ali Center, Slugger Field, Frazier Historical Arms Museum, Louisville Science Center, Actors Theater, Louisville Slugger Museum & Factory, Kentucky Center (home of the touring Broadway Shows, Louisville Orchestra and Ballet, and art galleries). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Louisville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Louisville Hotel Louisville
Louisville Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing