We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel...perfect location!”
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We came to Louisville for 2 nights prior to going to Bardstown so we can watch the Super Bowl. The location of this hotel is about 2-3 blocks away from the 4th street square which is where all the restaurants and bars are in the downtown area and all walkable. The staff at The Brown hotel are helpful, courteous and super friendly. We stayed on the club floor which was fun. You need to use your room key to get to the floor and there is a free continental breakfast in the morning and free picky foods and wine and beer in the evening. Carol was the staff who worked in the club room and she was helpful and friendly. Bed was super comfy and the room was very clean and smelled great!! Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Louisville. The fact that this hotel is almost 91 years old and still has it's original furnishings makes this historic hotel have so much character. And don't forget to try the "hot brown"!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice thoughts on our staff.
Delighted to hear you enjoyed our club floor, which does offer a great value.
We hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,361 - 1,367 of 2,011 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

The staff is first rate and extremely helpful. it is a nice old hotel.

The restaurant was very good. The staff in the restaurant was both helpful and knowledgeable.

I would recommend this hotel especially given the alternatives in Louisville.

.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 343rickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Brown still has an older, but still classy feel to it. Rooms are spacious enough, Free wifi. Parking is extra. Did not have a chance to try the English Grill. Friendly and helpful staff. Location is close to the Fourth Street pedestrian zone. We walked from the hotel to the museums on Main street, but not really that close. Louisville is an easy driving city. We reserved our room with the name your price tool on you know who's site, and saved about 30%. Would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Radio9phs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Located somewhat away from the action, it is quiet but not really convenient. The historic lobby is lovely, but our room although large, had fraying carpet, out of date wiring and a small bathroom, Some of the staff were very helpful, while others forgot to service our room.
I had called days before, asking for a room with a view. We were put on the 4th floor with the view of a parking lot across the street, whose lights were on all night. Asked to change, but the only rooms we were shown were on the same side of the building; so we stayed in the original.
The bed was comfortable.
We ate at their restaurant downstairs, fancy food, lovely decor and good service, but don't know if I would bother, for the price. Had much better food in other places...All and all just ok

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tobysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The venerable Brown Hotel in downtown Loo-ville is basking in the glow of its recent renovation that is in lock-step with the renaissance of the entire town. It is so nice to be in adult-sized bedrooms with nice amenities and furniture and accompanied by an (again) adult-sized bathroom. In terms of context, perhaps there have been too many stays in mid-priced “business” hotels that have a boring sameness about them. The Brown has good-sized and well-decorated rooms, complete with a separate sitting area and a separate desk area. Classic prints of horses festoon the walls in the case you had forgotten where you were. All the furniture has a luxurious feel about it. The public rooms also have an adult feel about them. For a traditional all-American experience, have the famous Hot Brown sandwich in the lobby bar accompanied by a favorite beverage. Looking forward to a return visit to an American classic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pendolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderfully written review and comments on our recent renovation.
Pleased to see you enjoyed our large guest rooms and bathrooms. The hotel had over 600 rooms when it first opened in 1923, and following a renovation we now reduced the count to 293 rooms.
Please call my office when you return to Louisville – I would be pleased to handle your reservation.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Fabulous from the moment you pull up for valet service, excellent atmosphere, spotless and very updated for its age, close to everything we could want downtown, superior restaurants and staff. Will continue to go back whenever we are in Louisville.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Always great to hear the word “fabulous” from our guests.
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed a week here for business. The staff was incredibly nice and professional. Room was very elegant and comfortable. The lobby was magnificent old grand hotel style. The bar tender remembered my name every night as did some of the wait staff. I did not get a chance to actually go to either of the restaurants but I did order one night in the bar and the signature dish, The Hot Brown, was delicious. Located on 4th street just a couple of walking blocks from the citys revitalized entertainment section of downtown. Also just a few blocks from the Ohio River and Louisville Slugger Museum.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write. Great to hear that the bartender remembers your name.
We hope to have you back again. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 98 in Louisville
1,773 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#30 of 98 in Louisville
4,165 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202-2167 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: £130 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing