We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brown Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Breckinridge Inn(Louisville)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,098)
Filter reviews
2,098 results
Traveller rating
1,441
453
140
41
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,441
453
140
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby barclub levelhistoric hotelpiano playerbell staffberry piemodern amenitiesdowntown louisvillesouthern charmcorner roombeautiful lobbyvalet parkingroom was largean older hotelbourbon trailbed was very comfortablefourth street live
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,444 - 1,449 of 2,098 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

From the moment we arrived until the moment the valet retrieved our vehicle for departure, we were very impressed with the beauty, elegance, and service at The Brown Hotel. The lobby is as stunning as it appears on the website, and the front desk staff was so friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and a comfortable size. We especially enjoyed the touches still in place from the original hotel, such as the mail drop from each floor - although it is not in working order anymore, it was fun to see it remain for nostalgia. The club level lounge was a treat - the hors d'oeuvres and cocktails were a nice start to our evening. The flyte of bourbon at the hotel lounge is not to be missed... don't leave without a taste of Kentucky bourbon! When we returned to the room from dinner outside the hotel, our bed was turned down and a robe set out for us. The Hot Brown sandwich is not to be missed, either - make sure to visit J,. Graham's Cafe for this local taste of history. The hotel is within comfortable walking distance to 4th Street Live. Although we didn't partake of much of the Louisville nightlife, it was nice to be close to all the happenings.

If you are planning to visit Louisville, I highly recommend The Brown Hotel. We loved it and will definitely return to visit again.

Room Tip: Club level floors include private lounge with perks such as cocktails and hors d'oeuvres.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.
Pleased to see you experienced much of what the hotel has to offer, with our famous Hot Brown, a flight of Kentucky bourbon and our nostalgia.
Please call my office when your travels bring you back our way…I would be pleased to handle your reservation.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have stayed at The Brown Hotel as both a guest and meeting planner and I am always pleased with the accommodations and the staff. Everyone is very helpful, the food is wonderful and the hotel itself is just beautiful. This is our third year holding one of our sales meetings at The Brown and I hope we can return year after year! The location is great so it makes it easy to plan events around the hotel and the staff does a phenomenal job taking care of our group reservations, menu recommendations and banquet services. I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMH763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I can't express adequately how impressed I was with The Brown. The hotel has SO much character. It was beautiful! Nothing like the cookie cutter chain hotels. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we felt like valued guests. For example, when we happened to ask about something across the street, the employee told us about it, then found us again to give us information she had printed out about it. While eating breakfast, we ordered the famous Hot Browns, and the waitress, although extremely busy, went and found the recipe and gave it to us. The room was spacious, well appointed and pristine. It is within walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment type venues. I would absolutely stay here again, and would without reservation recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsuesams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,
It is always nice to receive kind words like yours.
Great to see our staff going out of their way to serve our guests.
Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We came to Louisville for 2 nights prior to going to Bardstown so we can watch the Super Bowl. The location of this hotel is about 2-3 blocks away from the 4th street square which is where all the restaurants and bars are in the downtown area and all walkable. The staff at The Brown hotel are helpful, courteous and super friendly. We stayed on the club floor which was fun. You need to use your room key to get to the floor and there is a free continental breakfast in the morning and free picky foods and wine and beer in the evening. Carol was the staff who worked in the club room and she was helpful and friendly. Bed was super comfy and the room was very clean and smelled great!! Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Louisville. The fact that this hotel is almost 91 years old and still has it's original furnishings makes this historic hotel have so much character. And don't forget to try the "hot brown"!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice thoughts on our staff.
Delighted to hear you enjoyed our club floor, which does offer a great value.
We hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The staff is first rate and extremely helpful. it is a nice old hotel.

The restaurant was very good. The staff in the restaurant was both helpful and knowledgeable.

I would recommend this hotel especially given the alternatives in Louisville.

.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 343rickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews