We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Staff makes you feel very special! Beautiful, historical, love the live piano music in the bar! Quiet room, nice bar, bartenders know how to make a great drink and aren't afraid to experiment. Sad to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Karen,
Very pleased to read your positive comments.
The Lobby Bar is indeed a special setting!
Hope to see you back again with us. Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Staying at the Brown Hotel is like stepping into the past but with all the new convinces.
Our name is Brown so my husband (on his bucket list) was to have a Hot brown at the Brown.. He has not disappointed.
the staff is so pleasant that you feel like you are royalty...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank animalloverSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Delighted to hear when the Brown is on a Bucket list!
We hope to have you back soon. Thanks for the nice thoughts.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We just stayed here for a weekend excursion to Louisville and it met our needs and more!
The were incredibly hospitable and the location is very good for all things downtown and beyond.
The decor of the hotel and the architecture is simply unmatched by most.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P93S27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the nice thoughts on our staff and convenient location downtown.
Hope to have a chance to welcome you back soon. Please let me know when you join us next and I’ll block a nice room for you.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Brown is long on old-world charm but not quite as comfortable as a modern high end hotel. Large room, great location, convenient next-door parking, gorgeous lobby with a great lobby bar.
definitely worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Watsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From start to finish, our stay was wonderful. Staff, food, accommodations - everything! We stayed at the hotel for a conference and were very impressed with all details of our stay, including the Hot Brown casserole served at lunch. I have never had such attentive and genuinely concerned staff. Wait staff during the conference meals was friendly and attentive and made sure that we had everything we needed. Architecture is beautiful, rooms are unique and it just had a comfortable feel to it.
I highly recommend this hotel to other travelers and conference planners.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arielle2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had excellent service from the time of arrival to our departure! We were greeted with a warm welcome and a smile by Steven... who checked to see if there were any rooms available. There were! (We had not booked in advance due to last minute changes in travel plans.) At check in, we met Alexander, who not only provided efficient and professional service regarding our stay, but also provided an educational overview of one of Louisville's historic sites, as well as of the architect of The Brown Hotel. His enthusiasm and love for Louisville is a great asset to hospitality service. We dined at The Brown for dinner and breakfast. The new chef has made several changes to the menu which are positive. We departed with the assistance of bell hop Darian, who also did an excellent job. We have stayed at The Brown before (all excellent experiences) and will stay again in the future! JB & FB

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Jeannie,
Thank you so much for your kind words for our valet and front office staff…they enjoyed your note.
Pleased to hear you will stay again in future…let me know when your travels next bring you our way and I’ll block a nice room for you.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Brown Hotel is a deffinite must see if you are into historic hotels. The location is good for walking to restaurants and some sights nearby (like if you are going to a show nearby at the Palace Theatre) or eating at Saporo. Free Wify, which is a nice bonus. Parking is a little pricy at 24/day for vallet or 20/day for self park, but the valet serive was very timely and efficient. the room was large and comfortable. My only gripe would be the AC seemed to be struggling a bit and at a relatively below average temp for Louisville in August, it seemed to really make me wonder if I wanted to stay here if the temperatures were in the 90s. Overall, for the price, would choose another hotel. Still a lovely hotel, and have no specific complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesD160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Charles,
Thank you for your thoughts.
Please let me know when your travels next bring you to Louisville and I will ensure a nice, cool room…our system is well prepared to handle the warmest of summer days.
I guarantee we will exceed all your expectations if you allow us an opportunity on a future visit.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Galt House Hotel
#30 of 98 in Louisville
4,100 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 98 in Louisville
1,750 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 98 in Louisville
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202-2167 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range: £130 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing