We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here while our daughter participated in the Louisville Ironman. The hotel is stunning, taking you back to a time of elegance, beauty and professional service. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Hotel lounge is a treasure with wonderful unique drinks. Main level cafe food is excellent. You have to try the "Hot Brown" ( we had it for breakfast with fried egg on top). Delicious. The service, personnel and ambience were top notch. It's close enough to the Fourth Street Live restaurant and shopping area without being right in it. Talking about making another trip to Louisville from Michigan just so we can stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMax2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Delighted to read your good thoughts.
Please call me when you next travel down from Michigan and I’ll reserve a nice room for you.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    386
    121
    32
    22
See reviews for
244
640
70
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Pros:
First-class service
Great food and drinks
Clean rooms with good amenities and size
Historical hotel (the only cool part is the check-in area and restaurant/lounge... rest of the hotel just seems out-dated)
Bellmen are outstanding

Cons:
Not in the best part of the down town
Parking is overpriced (It's $3 across the street vs $24 at The Brown)
No pool
Fitness center is a joke
Rooms are strangely decorated and smelled unpleasant in my opinion
Not for young people (most guests seemed 45+)
Not that many places within walking distance
Staff is very good but at times they come across as arrogant
Good for business people I suppose
Walls are very thin and you can hear mostly everything
Wifi was spotty at times and not always easy to connect

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The beds here are amazing!!! Best night's sleep. Upgraded to the club level, defiantly worth it. Privacy, smaller groups, good food and drink selection in the Club Level. The Bar Lounge was also good, had the lobster Mac and cheese which was delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face Broadway St. Too much street noise will wake you up early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AD22084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Everything about the Brown says the highest quality. Staff are especially terrific. Bellmen are helpful. Food is great at J. Grahams (lunch or breakfast) and the English Room is one of the very best restaurants. We stayed on the Club Level and found the Lounge a wonderful place in the morning and in the early evening.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice review. Our staff enjoyed your compliments.
Please let me know if every I may be of assistance in future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff goes beyond. Room I had was comfortable plus I never heard any guest complain. So close to Main Street where many historic and of course Ohio River.
Hotel, though built in 1923, has upgraded facilities. Is accessible to those in wheelchairs. Great lounge area. One can have their favorite drink, or try new one. Order food. Terrific.The "hot Brown Sandwich" is delish and huge. Overall a great hotel to stay.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDW808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for the review of our Hot Brown – we have guests drive for miles to have this special sandwich…which we first served in the 1920’s.
Please let me know if ever I may be of assistance on a future visit.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auburn, alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The service is top notch. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms lovely, but what really makes the experience is the service you receive from the employees. The free airport shuttle is really nice too. The only downside is that it is a the far end of 4th.

Room Tip: the rooms that end end 01 or 31 are corner rooms and have more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ualsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Always nice to receive a positive review from a frequent traveler like yourself.
Thank you for recognizing the service you received from our staff.
Please let me know when your travels next bring you our way and I’ll block a nice room for you.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice, once for work and once while waiting for the movers to come with our bed. It has a great location on Fourth, close by to restaurants, including the Bluegrass Brewing Company (with great staff!). I was also able to walk to good coffee at Heine Bros. Coffee and to work down by the river.

Parking isn't free, but you have the option to valet or self-park. They also have a shuttle, which I did use the first time I stayed.

The whole building is beautiful. They have done a nice job of preserving the architecture while updating it so it looks well-cared-for. The staff are courteous, prompt, and professional.

The workout facility was pretty good. I stayed in rooms that were large and beautiful, with fantastic beds, walk-in closets, lovely updated bathrooms. The wifi is free and actually works. The floors are very quiet.

I hope the next time I stay here it is for a romantic get-away, because they have club floors with more fanciness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haparev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad W, General Manager at The Brown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
So pleased to read all your great comments.
Please let me know when you return to Louisville for a romantic getaway. I will make sure we meet all your expectations.
Hope to have you with us in the near future.
Regards,
Brad Walker
Vice President and General Manager
bwalker@brownhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Seelbach Hilton
#18 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#6 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#9 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Hotel

Property: The Brown Hotel
Address: 335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202-2167 (Formerly The Camberley Brown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corners of Fourth and Broadway in downtown Louisville, Kentucky, The Brown Hotel is one of Louisville's most treasured landmarks. Built in 1923 at a cost of $4 million by J. Graham Brown, the hotel was a magnet for many prominent guests and celebrities during the 1920s through the 1950s. In 1971, two years after the founder passed away, The Brown closed as a hotel and later reopened as the Board of Education building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Brown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing