We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seelbach Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seelbach Hilton
Ranked #19 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
chicago, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently and its absolutely beautiful. I took a tour of the famous spots inside the hotel which was worth it and very interesting. I did want to mention some things however, my friends and i got off a 5 hour road trip on a bus and once we arrived to the hotel we were exhausted. Michael was checking me in and we were having some issues with our credit cards so it took some time to figure everything out. Michael had the worst attitude while checking us in, not one smile, he looked extremely mad. Didn't feel welcomed at all and when you work at the front desk, a smile and willing for helpfullness is very important. I can understand if he had a bad day but we all do and we leave our problems at the door when coming into work. On a brighter note, Elizabeth was VERY helpful. Extremely professional and had a huge smile on her face, i felt at ease to ask her anything and she answered everything happily. now THATS customer service. I didnt get the names of the other front desk employees but everyone else was very helpful as well as the overnight staff. Peter the overnight manager was also very helpful and very professional. Overall the quality of the hotel is great, lots of history, and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms are rather smaller than what you think. the shower was great but the bathroom was also sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetlife e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    478
    227
    117
    59
See reviews for
212
467
50
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed during a recent business trip. Great location and staff, very charming hotel with lots of character and history. The bar area transported me back in time to the era of prohibition. The hotel was sold out during my two night stay, and my room was next to the elevators on the ninth floor. I could hear everyone stepping in and out, the crowds gathering by the halls (there was a large conference and a wedding) and every conversation in adjacent rooms. So needless to say didn't get a goodnight sleep. I complained to management and noticed a significant difference in noise level the next evening.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Miosoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We loved this hotel, however, I did not feel safe after our second night there. Twice we were approached by transient people who came in through open side and back doors not monitored by the hotel. The hotel staff responded quickly and appropriately, however transients can be prevented with locked and secure doors OR a full time security guard. The hotel is old, with classic doors. The hotel needs to invest in hotel key card access doors to ensure guest safety. For this reason ALONE I would not recommend anyone stay there. Other than that, everything else was great!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Seelbach Hilton on New Year's Eve. The hotel is beautiful and the staff was great. Being New Year's Eve, the hotel was very full and there was a wedding going on as well. The only negative and this is not a reflection on the Hotel or Staff, would be the wedding party was very loud. We stayed on the 9th floor in a larger room and everything was very comfortable. We are Hilton Honors Diamond Members and had access to the Executive Lounge. We enjoyed appetizers before our evening out and dessert before bed. Breakfast was great and the concierge was there to make sure we had all that we needed. We would definately stay at the Seelback Hilton again. A++++

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a great view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanbrown810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for just one night, but overall, I'd say the Seelbach was average. The room itself was nice, but the bathroom was one of the smallest bathrooms I've ever been in. I did like the touch of the air purifier though, and of course the old-school decor was nice. Avoid paying valet for parking because there is literally street parking on the same street which you can pay for with an app on your phone.

The bar touted itself to be one of the best in the world; however, it really didn't live up to that expectation. Upon asking the bartender why they deserved that accolade she said because of their selection and the hotel itself-not the atmosphere of the bar itself, which was pretty dark and boring looking.

The location of the hotel is nice, next to 4th Street, which is like an extended version of a commercial frat house, so if that's your thing, then you cannot go wrong staying here. Also, if you enjoy the thought of being at the home of the inspiration of The Great Gatsby, then this is your spot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in Seelbach for one night. Hotel is located close to most attractions. There is an affordable parking right next to it. Do not miss the bar at Seelbach. It is a part of the urban bourbon trail. Drinks are delicious and reasonably priced. I stayed during the off season, paid a little over $100 for the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Matvey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we were in Louisville for a wedding. While the hotel itself was very nice, it is an older hotel. The King Suite that we paid for was small and the shower is very tiny, but extremely well maintained. I believed it to be slightly overpriced. The staff was not prepared for the two wedding parties that converged on it and were clearly stressed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Renita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#6 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,679 reviews
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#9 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seelbach Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seelbach Hilton

Property: Seelbach Hilton
Address: 500 Fourth Avenue, Louisville, KY 40202-2518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#21 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#23 Family Hotel in Louisville
#24 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seelbach Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown Hotel with Old World Charm and modern amenities - Home of The Oakroom, Kentucky's only 5 Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Seelbach Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seelbach Hilton Hotel Louisville
Hilton Hotel Louisville
Louisville Seelbach Hotel
Seelbach Hilton Louisville Hotel
Hilton Louisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing