We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roach Motel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Hurstbourne
Ranked #82 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Wheelersburg, Ohio
1 review
“Roach Motel!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Do NOT stay in this hotel!! First clue is the hooker sitting on the bench outside the lobby. Next, the night desk worker was laying on the couch reading the paper. When we got to our room, it was standing wide open (maybe the hooker needed to wash up?), and the last straw was the roach that paid us a visit about a minute after we got there. We packed up our things and went to the Drurry Inn up the street. THAT is a nice hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racheldahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    38
    50
    68
    113
See reviews for
96
48
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

As others have stated this hotel was dirty/old/worn. When we first entered the room it smelled of disinfectant (maybe this was a good thing) The carpet was filthy and stained. The beds and sheets appeared clean, and they were comfortable. The A/C unit was noisy, but it did work o.k. The bathroom area was in dire need of an overhaul. The sink had cracks around the drain and they were stained, the coffee maker was also stained and filthy. The shower/tub/ commode was more of the same, not really "filthy" but old and stained that they appeared unclean. In the pool area was the same story, not so bad as to give you the "ickys" but worn, the "jacuzzi" was broken, the tile around the pool was in disrepair. The desk clerk was friendly, but seemed a bit indifferent. The "Daybreak breakfast" was a collection of pastries, (which the clerk handled with his bare hands while restocking) bread for toasting (again the bare hands), two kinds of cold cereal (the milk was in a pitcher on the counter with ICE cubes in it to keep it cool) and packets of oatmeal. The juice machine had spots for apple and orange, but only the apple side worked, the OJ was on the counter in a pitcher by the milk. The photos in their add must have been taken several years ago, or photo-shopped because everything we saw was shabby and run down. There are a lot of places to eat close by.
We have stayed at Days Inns often in our travels, but this one was the worst

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PogiCleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL AT ANY COST.

We usually stay at a known chain like Day's Inn because you can usually expect a standard of quality. This hotel is a major exception. First we ran into its transient residents (who seem to outnumber the travellers) hanging out with the night manager in the lobby. We were rang in as Smoking Room, then the night manager told us it was really a Non-Smoking Room, but he didn't care since it was just some meaningless state law - he told us just to smoke in the room, he just wouldn't give us an ash tray. On our way to our room, all of the rooms we passed were open drunken parties with liquor flowing and drunks yelling throughout the parking lot that you have to navigate through to get to your own room. Oh yeah, and the hot tub advertised doesn't work.

Once in the room, we found there must be no maid because nothing is cleaned. Everything is broken. especially the basic necessities. The deadbolt lock is broken off. The toilet won't flush. I can't review the shower because I am afraid to use it. There is a large dark red (blood or cheap wine?) stain splattered across the carpet in the walkway to the bathroom, you have to keep your shoes on there are so many sticky stains throughout the room carpet. This whole hotel is an unmaintained disaster. And don't bother dealing with the hotel staff, the ones you see view it all as a joke.

I can't understand how the Day's Inn chain allows a hotel of this poor quality to stay part of their chain and destroy their image. If Day's Inn did any inspections of hotels in their chain, they would instantly cancel the franchise license of this hotel. This hotel demonstrates to me that you can't trust the quality of the Day's Inn name because obviously they have either low or unenforced standards of quality in their chain.

The one thing that does work is the high speed internet, which allows me to write this review right now.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris11xb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

Bed is comfortable, linens were clean but everything is broken. Management DOES NOT CARE about anything. When you arrive the first thing you see is a broken window that faces the street side, local neighbors told us it had been broken for MONTHS! Doors to lobby & back parking were never closed. We believe this is due to the air conditioning being broken, Lobby and breakfast room were very HOT. Sign says they have 2 ice machines, only one works and it dispenses about 6 ice cubes every 10 minutes. It was in the 90's, you really needed a cold drink. Two mornings we had no hot water, not even tepid. They had to 'reset', whatever that means. The carpet was so dirty if you walked on it from the shower to your shoes you had to rewash your feet. Just for fun I wiped a wash cloth across my feet & a damp Bounty across the bottom of my sandals. The shoes were cleaner than my feet after walking on the carpet. Air conditioner in the room was very noisy & didn't cool very well. I turned it off and opened the window. There was a cool breeze but no screen. There was a lamp in the room but the switch was broken so you could not turn it on. There was no cold milk for cereal, one day they used a jug with an ice rod in the middle, other days milk jug was on the counter from 6-10. Orange juice machine was broken, no coffee, pot was broken.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, SC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

Our rooms are clean and the wireless internet works (hence this review), but everything else has been disappointing. The hot tub does not work, a coffeemaker in one room and a light in the other are both broken, and it has taken several trips to and from the front desk to get working room keys. As for the shower... well, if you can hold the sprayer above your head (the clip is broken), shampoo your hair, AND keep the water from going through the huge rip in the shower curtain, you are doing well! We weren't expecting fancy, but this is definitely a letdown.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hameldame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

The carpet blackened the bottom of my feet. The sheet had blood on it, and when I asked for clean ones, the manager (who had alcohol on his breath when I checked in) handed me 3 queen-sized sheets (the bed was a king). I had to change the sheets myself due to no evening maid service. Free breakfast was donuts, cereal or toast. The sink was broken by the drain and the tub was dirty. They forgot a wake-up call one morning (which is important because of no clock in the room). 3 lamps in the room, but only two worked. It was very noisy. The hotel manager or desk clerk (whatever he was) made a joke about a female customer and if the man with her was a customer of hers, or her son. I couldn't change hotels, due to my business already paying for this one.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florence1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Kentucky
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

Pool closed by health Dept
Ice Machine Broken
room had no water in it
no orange juice becouse machine was broken for breakfest
sink ready to fall off of the wall in brothers room
Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ruhis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
East Louisville
Red Carpet Inn Louisville
Red Carpet Inn Louisville
#79 of 95 in Louisville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
East Louisville
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
Red Roof Inn Louisville East
#42 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
BEST WESTERN Louisville East
#46 of 95 in Louisville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Hurstbourne
Courtyard Louisville East
Courtyard Louisville East
#53 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hurstbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hurstbourne

Property: Days Inn Hurstbourne
Address: 9340 Blairwood Road, Louisville, KY 40222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > East Louisville , Hurstbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Hurstbourne 1.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Hurstbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hurstbourne Hotel Louisville
Days Inn Louisville
Louisville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing