We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this hotel a destination in itself! Ask for Joan.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed on Memorial Day weekend for a wedding. Immediately upon arrival at 2am, after a long delayed flight, I was quickly checked in, upgraded to a suite and settled in for the night.

The next morning, I slept in and enjoyed the soft but supportive bed with quality white linens. The room was immaculate with high end soap, conditioner and lotion samples. Upon leaving the hotel for the day for some sightseeing, the front desk staff was helpful in assisting me with any questions I had about the area. The hotel is conveniently located downtown, which is clean, felt safe and had many shops and places to eat.

Joan, a shuttle driver and front desk attendant was kind, helpful, funny, charismatic, and went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable.

Here are a few examples of what I am talking about:

1. The kitchen was closed at 12:00 am when I returned from the wedding, but the bar staff happily made me a huge order of French fries.

2. Joan dropped us off and picked us up from Melwood Art Center where the wedding was held. This is outside her zone but she helped me out anyway.

3. The front desk staff coordinated all taxi needs without fail or mistake.

4. Every staff member I encountered was smiling, happy and thoughtful.

This hotel must take good care if it's staff. It shows in their attitude and demeanor.

Thank you Marriott for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GannawayLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We work hard to provide excellent service but nothing can be accomplished without a wonderful and caring STAFF! Jone is such a genuinly sweet lady and it shows through her caring demeanor...I will be sure to let Jone know of your compliments! I am happy to know we were able to get that midnight snack for you...late night french fries are the best.

We hope to have you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I are from Louisville but we decided to get a room for the night just to escape from our teenage boys for some quiet time. The property is very nice, well kept, and clean. It is close to many restaurants and a nice lounge. We had a balconly room facing the KFC Yum! Center (Basketball Arena) and that is great for people watching. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. We have already booked another stay for a concert we will be attending at the Yum Center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the Yum! Center. Great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusterB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for selecting us for your "staycation"! We have such a wonderful city to explore.

We look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff was helpful getting us the rooms we needed. I'll spare the details, but we'd had a very long, stressful day. When we arrived at the hotel I was so pleased to see such very nice accommodations, and at a reasonable price. Our room was prepared just as we had requested with two cribs. We were given a huge accessible room, and extra towels. It just seemed to me that someone put care into making sure we had everything we needed. I really appreciated the helpfulness of the staff, and the nice clean room. It made a terrible day much more comfortable. If you are visiting family at the Kosair Children's hospital I would recommend this hotel. It is less than 10 minutes away, and offers a family rate. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancinggirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We truly have some of the friendliest associates here. I am glad that we were able to brighten your day just a bit! We value our relationship with Kosair Children's Hospital and want to take excellent care of their patrons. We hope the person(s) you were visiting are doing well. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

What a FABULOUS hotel! The entire staff was amazing! They treated us like royalty! We could walk everywhere so location can't be beat-if we come back to the Kentucky Derby we will stay here for sure-this great hotel helped make our trip SO fun!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joygag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Kentucky Derby is a truly magical time in Louisville. Come on back next year; we will treat you like royalty all over again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is in a good location, the price is reasonable, parking was cheap but not super easy to get to. The pool was nice but not terribly warm. Pool towels are tiny. I got a balcony room with a view...I was hoping for a river view but instead it was of a stadium! Breakfast not included. Close to decent restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Excellent location, right across the street from the Yum (U of Louisville) Arena. A number of interesting restaurants very nearby. Super staff. Courtesy car for points around downtown (didn't move my car all weekend). Had minor problem in room which was fixed immediately. Room was a little on small side, especially around lavatory. Had breakfast and dinner from bar/bistro; very good, but a limited menu. Since it was part of a package I don't know how to rate the value.

Room Tip: Low floors have noticeable street noise (but it was Derby weekend).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdgpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you had time to enjoy our pool facilities and I truly apologize if the temperature was not to your liking. I have made our Chief Engineer aware and know that he will make sure the pool is at a satisfactory temperature. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was in Louisville for a convention. This was just a great location. We were within walking distance to EVERYTHING. We were very close to the Convention Center, restaurants and shopping. The service was excellent. The room was spacious and so very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was so friendly and so helpful. I especially liked the shuttle to the airport. I would definitely stay here if I came to Kentucky again.

Room Tip: Room 316 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtchur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Marie F, Director of Sales at Courtyard Louisville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed our hotel. Being located in the heart of Whiskey Row allows our guests easy accessibility to a variety of great reasuarants. I am glad you found the airport shuttle helpful as well. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#23 of 98 in Louisville
171 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#11 of 98 in Louisville
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Louisville Downtown

Address: 100 S 2nd St, Louisville, KY 40202-1320
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#32 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price Range: £116 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Louisville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Courtyard
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing