We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightfully convenient bush breakaway from Joburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badgerleur Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Badgerleur Bush Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greylingstad
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightfully convenient bush breakaway from Joburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Badgerleur is situated about 80 minutes from the bustle of Johannesburg and there are few better cures for big city blues than to unwind on their deck with a cold one in hand as herds of eland, zebra and wildebeest move across the panorama before you. We stayed in a 'normal' deluxe suite which enjoys views of this game filled expanse and features the biggest king size bed I have ever encountered in a hotel room. Although Badgerleur is perhaps best known for the organic meat and venison they farm, produce and sell at the Bryanston organic market on Thursdays and Saturdays, I was very pleased with the delicious vegetarian fare they rustled up for me as a non-carnivore, and my meat-eating husband was in his element. Host Doug and game ranger/bartender Martin are extremely knowledgeable and willing to chat to you about every aspect of their operations. Their love and passion for the land and animals they tend shines through in everything they do. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledgilexor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug pullen P, Owner at Badgerleur Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review it was a pleasure sharing time with you and your husband am and very happy we managed to meet your expectations and veterinarian diet. please forward our regards to your father and look forward to meeting him and learning from his vast knowledge and experiance.
Regards
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Badgerleur Bush lodge. We had a amazing relaxing weekend away. The staff and owners were lovely, and went to every lenght and detail to make our stay pleasureable. The food was fantastic and my fiance still cant stop talking about the chocolate mouse we had for dessert!! Absolute pleasure. absolute bliss, will definetly recommend to all my friends and family!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eloisevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug pullen P, Owner at Badgerleur Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Eloise
Thank you for the kind word and your support we continue to strive to our goal of perfection and customer satisfaction
Gordon and the Badgerleur staff look forward to hosting you, your family and friends in the near future
Regards
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Klip, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was our third visit - Badgerleur Bush Lodge continues to exceed our highest expectations. There is an amazing team here who went out of their way to accommodate us, yet again. I confess the food is one of the main reasons we look forward to another stay over - the game drives and beautiful scenery are just a bonus. We are already planning our next visit.Regards Guy and Fiona

Room Tip: All the rooms at the front face the reserve so you can watch the animals from your porch. Only in Af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug pullen P, Owner at Badgerleur Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guy and Fiona
thank you for your continued support and encouraging words of praise the staff and management look forward to hosting you on your next visit
Regards
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Spectacular setting with the most fantastic,knowledgeable,friendly owners and staff that I have had the pleasure to be hosted by in a very long while.We saw Rhino and Hippo within 2 minutes of our arrival whilst sipping welcome drinks on the deck overlooking the dam mere metres from us.

The food was exceptional and prepared by the private chef who came out to explain every course to us.Morning coffee was enjoyed in our bed overlooking the plains where we spotted 3 Rhino grazing.

Unfortunately we could only spend 1 night but will most definately be back very soon as this superb establishment is less than 1 hour from the madness of city life.

Many Thanks for a wonderful stay--Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug pullen P, Owner at Badgerleur Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Sean
Thank you for the lovely review it is great to hear that the staff and accommodation achieved the goals set. We look forward to seeing you at the lodge again soon.
May we take this opportunity to wish you and yours everything you wish yourselves for the festive season
Regards
Doug Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

It is difficult to believe that such a nice bush lodge is so close to Johannesburg. Although not very big in size the lodge does have a very good variety of game including white Blesbuck. The Nguni's and Damara's are an added bonus with very clean and well packaged organic venison, beef and lamb to purchase. The accommodation is very comfortable and the beds big with very clean linen. It would be nice to be able to pay via Credit Card but EFT works fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug pullen P, Owner at Badgerleur Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Christo
Thank you for posting your views of the lodge on Trip adviser, We are in the process of acquiring a satellite linked credit card facility and hopefully will be available in the near future
Regards
Doug Pullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

If is hard to imagine that there can be wildlife destination just next to that stretch of N3 on the way to Villiers from Johannesburg. But the hills to the east of the highway hold this small but beautiful and well-stocked reserve. The lodge's setting is in a valley with a permanent dam, surrounded by impressive rocky and bush-covered hills. Conducted walks and game drives provide closer access to the animals, birds and trees. We have stayed at Badgerleur three times over the last four years, and have always been impressed by the welcome, the clean luxurious accommodation, and the excellent food. The owner-manager is clearly passionate about his lodge and has a wealth of knowledge about wildlife, farming and the geography of this beautiful but quite unknown part of our country.

Room Tip: The more expensive (I think 'de luxe') rooms are really worth the extra cost, with lots of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eckhart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug pullen P, Owner at Badgerleur Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Eckhard
Thank you for the kind words it is much appreciated Bryan and the Badgerleur team enjoyed hosting you and your wife. a very special thank you for the mail with the latest updated birding list for our area I am sure many of our guests will benefit and enjoy having this information.
Look forward to seeing you back soon.
Regards
Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had an amazing time at Badgerleur Bush Lodge. The team do their utmost to make you feel at home. There is a lot of privacy, but they are always on hand if you need something. The location is ideal and has a spectacular view. You feel like you're miles away from everything else and can only enjoy the view and relax. The room we stayed in was beautifully presented and had everything we needed.We would definitely give the maximum rate if there was a swimming pool.
Thank you so much Badgerleur Bush Team... We will be back in summer.

Jessica & Roelof

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug pullen P, Owner at Badgerleur Bush Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Eckhard
Thank you for the kind words it is much appreciated Bryan and the Badgerleur team enjoyed hosting you and your wife. a very special thank you for the mail with the latest updated birding list for our area I am sure many of our guests will benefit and enjoy having this information.
Look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greylingstad
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
0.0 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highveld Splendour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badgerleur Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badgerleur Bush Lodge

Property: Badgerleur Bush Lodge
Address: GPS coordinates | S26 49 36, Greylingstad 1560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Greylingstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greylingstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing