We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay - I'll Be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barren River Lake State Resort Park
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Staff was excellent cabin was nice & comfy. If you are looking for peace and quiet the is the place to stay. They will take excellent care of you. I will return when I am in the area again. My only recommendation to anyone visiting the park in the winter is be prepared to drive into town for dinner when the Inn Restaurant is closed. It's about 15 miles.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwn1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Hello,

In this hustle and bustle world, we so appreciate you taking the time to share the good news! Hearing your thoughts and praise is very uplifting to our staff and myself. We realize there are many lodging choices; thank you for chosing us. It will be our pleasure to serve you the next time you are in our area.

Best Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

3 nights here en route to our home in the north and I wish we had more time. we stayed here to because of its proximity to Mammoth Cave and discovered what a beautiful place we happened upon. The golf course is scenic and intimate, as well as surprising. It is a course worth discovering. The accommodations are more than adequate and rooms have private balconies. The restaurant serves up the good ol' KY state park fare, which is just fine. Call down to the dining room for take-out and enjoy dinner in your room or on the balcony. I LOVE KY State Park resorts!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iksnezok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for highlighting some important facts about our resort park. Our location is worthy of bragging....we are so close to Mammoth Cave and the attractions in the cave region. We are also close to Bowling Green which has Beech Bend Amusement and waterpark. Of course all that after boating, golfing, hiking and horseback riding right on the park! On the flip-side...we are a perfect location to do nothing at all. A great escape place.

We appreciate you spending some time at our park and for taking the time to share your thoughts. Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice Lodge with a great pool area! Kids and adults alike will enjoy it. Great buffet in the evening in the lodge dining room, too!! Plenty of parking if towing a boat to Barren River Lake. We stayed in the actual Lodge and rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momof3bluegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort park. We appreciate the time it took to write your response and to share your thoughts. Our guests and their opinions are of high importance to us. Come back anytime--it is our pleasure to serve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My group had side by side 2-bdrm villas. Nice, clean, and spacious. Full kitchenette is stocked with flatware and dishes. Two balconies, one screened, one open are very enjoyable. Easy access to the lake. Lots of parking at ramp, courtesy dock at the ramp. You can park your trailer immediately outside your villa.

Had breakfast at the lodge. Traditional Ky buffet done very well.

There is a distinction between villas and cabins. Cabins are more rustic in a wooded setting. Villas are newer and outside the woods. Both are well maintained.

Will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for being our guest. Our villas are very popular and your comments confirm why our guests love them! Thanks again-hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed August 5-9, 2013. Our group had 2 campsites as well as a 2 bedroom villa and were pleasantly surprised. The campers, a pop-up and a small camper requested new sites once they saw an uphill walk to the bathrooms; 2 of them have limited mobility. The new campsites were perfect and the bathrooms were very clean. We were able to cook a complete dinner (steaks, potatoes, corn) for 8 on the grills at the sites. The grounds are patrolled and the ranger stopped by the last evening to give them a warning about sever weather approaching. This gave them plenty of time to get gear stored away before the storm. The storm caused a power outage in the middle of the night and the thunder made the earth seem to move.

The 2 bedroom villa was fantastic and was equipped beyond our dreams. Each bedroom has 2 queen beds and a TV. One bedroom has a master bathroom; there is a second bathroom in the hall next door to the second bedroom. The kitchen is fully equipped with oven/stove, full size refrigerator, full size drip coffee pot, toaster, microwave and service for 8. It had everything we needed to cook breakfast for all 8 of us. The dining room table seats 8. The living room was very spacious and has a fireplace. Unfortunately we could not light the fireplace and when we called the lodge office we were told it was out of gas and they do not replace gas supplies until next season. There is a nice TV in the living room. There is an enclosed porch off the dining area and a deck off the living room. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck and listening to the nature sounds. Unfortunately you can not see the lake from the villa. The villa had everything you expect from a hotel including coffee for the coffee pot and toiletries in the bathroom.

Two of us walked to the lake and as others have said the beach is closed. For information on the lake check out the Army Corps of Engineers Facebook page. This lake and several others in the area have a problem with blue-green algae and swimming is not advised. Also care needs to be taken if you are fishing in these lakes and want to eat the fish you catch; not a problem for our group.

The pool at the lodge is nice and as others have said the baby pool is closed. Towels are provided at the pool. We ate dinner our last night at the lodge and the food was so-so. We arrived toward the end of the evening so the buffet was tired looking. One person tried it and was not impressed, the rest of us ordered off the menu.

We enjoyed horseback riding at the stable in the park and it was a bargain, just $18 each. There are walking paths, and playgrounds in the park. We did not check out the marina. While we were in the area we canoed on a river, and toured a cave. The park is not near towns so we did a lot of driving. Scottsville seemed to be the closest town for groceries; the food at the Griddle was wonderful. If you want alcohol plan on driving to Bowling Green 50 minutes away.

I was impressed by Barren River Lake state park and resort and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuPageDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our resort park. We appreciate your insights and have discussed ways of improving the buffet process when nearing closing time. Thank you for being our guest , we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed here in June 2013 with a group of other campers and brought a pontoon boat.

The park was very clean and on the back "A" loop we had views of the lake. The sites were level and had water and electric with a dump station on the way out of the campground. There is even plenty of parking for boat trailers with a boat launch so you did not have to leave the campground. I was amazed how little traffic there was on the lake on that particular saturday afternoon, even with 80 degree temperatures.

We did have quite a few bugs and flies and would recommending to be sure to bring tiki torches or some sort of bug repellant but it was not much of a problem until late at night.

This is a place I would definitely return to, but be sure to bring a boat to take advantage of all what you can do there.

You are not far from Glasgow in case you run out of supplies, perhaps a 15 minute drive back into town including a Walmart.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tachdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just returned from a Thurs-Sat stay in a ‘cottage villa with lake view’. We give it a 4 ½ rating.

There were from two to six of us there at some time. All in all, everything was just fine. Can’t say enough about how good the staff was; to a person, very friendly and helpful. We didn’t have a boat but the fishing was easy from the marina. It was even lit for night fishing. Be aware, “Ky Fish and Wildlife” may have a “representative” present; we did have our licenses checked.
We had three meals there, all buffet. Breakfast and supper were great, lunch was good. (don’t miss suppers’ pudding cake!) Being very close to Glascow, we had several meals there – plenty of restaurants to choose from.

The cabin/villa was plenty acceptable, with some stains on the couch, chairs and carpet. But, it was roomy, well stocked and clean. Maybe, some washable throw covers for the upholstered furniture. The exteriors did need painting for improved curb appeal. The public area of the lodge was clean and neat.
Some of the complaints on this site we found to be true, but they were of minimal importance to us:
A) lack of WIFI: should be an easy improvement to make
B) not a view of the lake: Trees can’t be cut or trimmed but we shouldn’t have been charge extra for this nonexistent villa perk.
C) TV, poor picture quality: watchable, but shouldn’t cable be better than that?
D) The beach was STILL closed…

Being Kentuckians, we know of the cutbacks in funding for the State Parks system (along with many other departments). There is a freeze on full time hiring at Barren. The pleasant woman manning the desk when we checked in was a volunteer. Under these circumstances we believe this facility and its people are doing a very commendable job.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the "lake view" upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D, General Manager at Barren River Lake State Resort Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad to hear you had a good time! Rain, rain and more rain caused our lake level (once again) to be too high to open the beach. Hope you caught some fish; the lake is known for good fishing. The staff and I welcome you back for more memory-making any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Barren River Lake State Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barren River Lake State Resort Park

Address: 1149 State Park Rd, Lucas, KY 42156-9300
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lucas
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lucas
Price Range: £54 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barren River Lake State Resort Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort park is rolling hills,bordered by a 10,000 acre lake. Accomodation choices includes lodge room, cottage or villa. The lodge rooms are spacious and includes hair dryer, ironing board/iron and coffeemaker. The outstanding feature of this accomodation is the private balcony that offers peace and relaxtion. The Villas are two bedrooms with two beds per, two full baths, living room, dining/kitchen, screened room and deck w/grill. Vaulted ceiling and a gas fireplace add to the ambiance of this accomodation. The cottages are more rustic than the villas. Similar to the villas, they have two bedrooms, two full baths, living room, kitchen/dining room. Both the cottages and villas, are fully furnished including, bedding, terry, pots/pans, glassware, plates, flatware, coffeemaker,mircowave and full-sized refridgerator. Onsite hiking/walking/bike trail(s),golf, tennis, volleyball,shuffle board, campground, seasonal horseback riding and marina with boat rentals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Barren River Lake State Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barren River Lake Resort Lodge And Cottages Hotel Bowling Green
Barren River State Park
Barren River Lake Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing