We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice!”
Review of Ristorante Becattini - CLOSED

Ristorante Becattini
Price range: US$34 - US$55
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ristorante Becattini is located a few kilometers from Florence in the village of Poggio alla Croce (Greve in Chianti). The restaurant has a dinner room for banquet or romantic evenings with wonderful view on the hills and vineyards of Chianti. It's run by the family for four generations Becattini who has the pleasure of offering dishes belonging to the traditional Tuscan cuisine: crostini "neri" sbriciolona and raw ham, homemade ravioli and pappardelle with wild boar sauce,fried chicken and rabbit in a pan and roast T-bone steak cooked in a wood oven.
Kassel, Germany
2 reviews
“Best choice!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

During our stay in Chianti (in the wonderful apartment of family Becattini) we could visit this restaurant several times. The food and service is excellent, the atmosphere fabulous and the hosts very friendly.
Especially recommended are the mixed antipasti toscano, the homemade pasta, the mixtures grill platters and of course the Chianti wine.
A unique experience is the stunning view over the hills of the nightly Florence, which you can enjoy while eating.
Thank you for your hospitility and also for the especially uniques, like dolci and vino santo. If we will come back to tuscany, we will visit Ristorante Becattini again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    43
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Flávia & Sérgio at Becattini's”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We had splendid meals at Becattini's family restaurant while we stayed in the apartment we rented from them (but this is another great story). The food was always wonderful as we can see from the other reviews. So wonderful that my wife decided to take a lesson with Danilo and learn how to make real italian pasta (see her happiness at the second photo). At the end our family and the Becattinis had dinner together - we ate the whole pasta (fantastic!), drank some local chianti classico and for dessert, cantuccini and vin santo. And took the first photo. This time we were sorry for not eating the cinghialli ragu, but this experience was left for our next trip as we promised to the Becattinis. Great food we had in their relaxed family atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SERGIO D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great Food & Spectacular View”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We had a fantastic lunch at the Restaurant while enjoying the view of the valley below and Florence in the distance. The ravioli was especially delicious. The bread soup was wonderful too. We were treated like family by the owners and staff. We are sure to return on our next visit to the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crdhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Small Town, Big Views”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We were there early so we has the pick of tables in this low key, friendly place. We chose the corner table with the view of Florence and the hills in between. The food we ordered was basic and well prepared and we had a great time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Becattinis made us feel like family. We were so comfortable in the apartment-beds were comfortable and having a washer made”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We had 2 Fabulous dinners at the Becattini Restaurant. The wild Boar Ragu and the grilled steak were our favorites-oh! I can't forget the amazing Spaghetti Carbinera ( which happens to be my husband's specialty-he found Danilo's Carbinera even better! Better than any we've had in 3 weeks of traveling Italy! We really enjoyed our short stay, and next time I will take the cooking lesson from Danilo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Becattini also viewed

Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Province of Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing