We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic.....”
Review of Blackburn House - CLOSED

Blackburn House
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic.....”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

After visiting blackburn house a few times for what can only be disribed as the best sunday lunch around, we visited to try the evening menu.
we were spoilt for choice, i had the trio of pork it was presented like a piece of art and the flavour is out of this world, this was the same for the rest of our tables meals as for fernando he's great.
looking forward to our next visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garth501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ollerton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning building, shame about the rest!”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

After reading so many glowing reviews, what a disappointment Blackburn House proved to be. As a group of colleagues working very close by we were keen to try out the venue for lunch. We were impressed by the room and surprised to be the only ones in there. The waitress took our orders but was a little too keen to make money and less keen to listen to what we wanted. I opted for the fish and chips. Considering we were the only customers we did wait around 40 minutes for the food to arrive.Although the meal looked impressive on the plate it failed to deliver. Very little fish, undercooked soggy batter that was far too thick. The chips were lovely however. At no point did the waitress check we were satisfied even when she collected my plate which was still full of the inedible fish and batter. When we had finished the meal and after my colleagues had desserts which looked very nice, I was encouraged to complain (this being a first for me). The waitress's response was verging on rudeness and she clearly did not want to know. My colleagues were incensed and when we got downstairs asked to speak to the owner. I left contact details and am still awaiting an apology. Expensive and poor!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“boughton pumping station”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Had a fantastic carvery here can't fault the food was well worth the money. Glad we left room for dessert was the best we had for a long time. The surroundings were stunning also.

Jon and Sonya from Kirkby-in-Ashfield

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank femalepowerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“do not miss this lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Visited Blackburn house for the second time on Sunday and the food was superb, again we opted for the carvery option and were not disappointed. There was a choice of three meats and every possible vegetable you could imagine, all piping hot and served in really lovely surroundings. Blackburn house is tastefully furnished, it bright and airy, the staff are extremely attentive and the whole atmosphere of the place is just so nice. There is a wide selection of wines/beers/lager at the bar and we have promised ourselves that on our next visit we will choose from the main menu as there is a wide selection of starters and mains with something for everyone. I actually only live about 10 mins from here but now I have found Blackburn house the days of slaving over a hot cooker on a Sunday are long gone, the food is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irenenights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Owner at Blackburn House, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
We wouldn't want you slaving over a hot stove either. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and even more pleased that you took the time to mention it on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to seeing you again - Stay away from that stove !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our anniversary made amazingly special”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We enjoyed our 19th anniversary in the delightful surroundings the food was amazing, the manager Fernando was more than accommodating, really friendly and great to chat to :-) I have to say the best meal out to date xx 5 star rating xxxxx

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Owner at Blackburn House, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Happy Anniversary.
We are over the moon with your posititve feedback. Thank you for taking the time to note it on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing