We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and Remote”
The Lainhart Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lainhart Cottage
The kitchen at The Lainhart Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Lainhart Cottage
The kitchen at The Lainhart Cottage
Single bathroom at The Lainhart Cottage
Second bedroom at The Lainhart Cottage
Outdoor Dining Area
Additional Outdoor Dining Set
Entrance / Driveway to the Cottages
Picnic Area for Large Groups
An Overlook of the Pond
The landscape between the cottages
Beside The Elwood Cottage / Driveway
The Elwood Cottage
Just the right amount of natural Light. Come take a looksie from the balcony...at The Elwood Cottage
A breakfast nook and laundry room, too!
The Price is Right!
First bathroom at The Elwood Cottage
Second bathroom at The Elwood Cottage
Second bedroom at The Elwood Cottage
Extras in the second bedroom at The Elwood Cottage
Covered Patio
Outdoor dining area at The Elwood Cottage
Easy Breezy
Smell the Flowers
Daniel Boone National Forest -- View from the covered patio beside the Hot Tub
Hot tub at The Elwood Cottage
From the driveway beside the Pond   *all photos this listing taken May-Oct. 2012
So colorful!
Beautiful Autumn here at Hisel Valley Retreat
*all photos this listing taken May-Oct. 2012
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mc Kee, Kentucky

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erin N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Remote”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at the Elwood Cottage at Hisel Valley Retreat for one night. It was a very hot day, so we walked around the land a bit with our dog, cooked a good meal (used the grill on the porch), and when it cooled down, we went in the hot tub and did some stargazing. The cottage had everything you could need for your stay. Emery was a great host and his dogs were cute and friendly. We would love to go back! It's very peaceful there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Ohio
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
newtonr41
Venice, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to relax”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Hisel Retreat is a fantastic place to get back into the country life and relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery. The cabin was very comfortable and well stocked with almost everything you need. WiFi is available making it easy to stay in touch with the world if you desire to do so. The beds were extremely comfortable making for a terrific nights rest. You need to plan well in advance what supplies you will need as the retreat is very secluded and remote. Emery is very sociable and will help with any needs that arise.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
1 review
“LOVE IT!”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I wanted a weekend getaway in the mountains and this was the perfect location. We arrived late on Friday and by Saturday morning the first snow of the year had covered the mountains. By Sunday the snow had just about all melted. The views are stunning and the property is beautiful. The house is the perfect size for couples to up to 5-6 people. It offers just about anything you need - just bring your food. The hot tub was amazing and the overall accommodations perfection.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very clean, peaceful location
Liked least: If I had to pick something, bigger bed would be nice, but it was very comfortable regardless.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Winchester, Kentucky
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, amenities, Mr. Bowen
Liked least: If forced to pick something I would have liked a queen bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Heather M
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They thought of everything!”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I decided to take a last minute weekend trip with three of our youngest children (5,3, and 1) and it took us a few days to nail down a place that fit our requirement on size, hot tub, and of course price. But, then I found Hisel Valley Retreat.
When we arrived, I thought "WOW!" and I am pretty sure I even asked if this was what heaven was like. The view from the multiple decks is just amazing.
Emery has thought of everything you might need while you are staying in the home. Right down to the toys for the kids. The home was very clean, and really felt like I was staying in the home of a family member.
Thanks again! We can't wait to go back, and go fishing in the pond!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
This family was very nice. They left the cottage very clean, and were friendly people, just the kind of people we want to stay with us. I hope they do get the chance to come back, they are always welcomed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing