We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Favorite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morehead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Knobs Campground
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This was our 8th or so trip to Twin Knobs and it was great as always! The campsite was nice, bathrooms clean, staff friendly, etc. etc. I have read some of the other reviews where people were unhappy about the rules...and there are a list of rules that you are asked to follow, but honestly all of them were very reasonable. My kids had a blast playing at the beach and riding their bikes around our camp loop with some friends they made at a neighboring campsite. We spent time fishing, walking, hiking, and lounging around camp. It was a fun and relaxing trip. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Sheena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have camped at this camp ground for almost 30 years.I agree with some, things have changed but it's still a good place to take your family.Each camp site is graveled, you must park your camper or stake your tent on the tent pads. Each site has a picnic table and a fire pit. The area is wooded and most sites are shaded. Years ago you could go in and pick out your own site but now you have to take whatever they give you. The wild life isn't what it use to be. We didn't see any deer on our last visit but we also didn't see any skunks roaming around the camp site. They do have raccoon, chipmunks, squirrels, and plenty of birds. They have rules, quiet time begins at 10 pm, don't park on the grass, you must back into your camp site, put your fire out when you leave and don't use the fire pit for a trash can. The host do roam the roads in their golf carts looking for any trouble makers, they also clean the vacant camp sites and keep the restrooms clean. Electric sites are available. The beach is very nice, no life guard is on duty so watch your kids. They have several trails to enjoy and fishing is always an option. There are several boat ramps and rental places along the lake. The restrooms are new with family showers and bathrooms. Kids always enjoy riding their bikes around the camp loop. They do enforce the speed limit, as low 10 mph in the camp loops and tickets start at $125.00. Yes, there are rules, but they are there to protect you too. The thing I like best is the sites are more private than most camp grounds. You can't reach out your camper window and touch the neighbors. The price has gone up over the years, who said camping was cheap???? It is a good family facility and it's all about making memories!

Room Tip: H is a good loop for camping but it is reservation only. The J loop has several good sites that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tyme4relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I stayed with our children last summer and had an excellent time! everyone was friendly. It was clean. No loud noise. The water was fun on our boat and the beach was the girls favorite place. Our girls loved it and so did we! We plan on returning this year too!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RachelMckMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We spent four nights camping and fishing here, April 18- 22 2013. We had read some negative comments but they were so UNFOUNDED. The campgrounds were very clean and well maintained, Thousand Trails are the new operators & they go out of their way to be friendly & helpful. The bathrooms and shower are modern for a campground, these areas were cleaned every couple of hours. There is nice blacktop area to park on and then a gravel pad to park your camper. This area had a drainage system underneath it so even if it rained you stayed dry. Although we never caught one fish, the terrain was beautiful and I definetly want to return again. Sherri & Steven

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank BrisbinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The campground is well maintained and the hosts are very friendly. I saw hosts keeping the campsites clean as well as the fire rings. The new rest rooms are clean with hot showers. this is 1 of the best campgrounds I have visited. I will be visiting this campgrounds again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donaldg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We spent 3 nights again, June 7-10, 2012. Lake level was back down to around normal. Water temp cool, but refreshing. Water was crystal clear in most areas. We could see the bottom in 8-10 ft. of water. Great lake for the jet skis. The lake wasn't too busy. We stayed in Loop H, same site as last year. Lots of shade throughout the day helped keep the tents cooler. The campgrounds were clean, and bathrooms remodeled since last year, with family style facilities, Showers and facility privacy were so much better. Campground was quiet overall, and the weather was perfect. Cool nights, warm, sunny days. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Only some sites are reservable online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeffryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed @ Twin Knobs Campground April1 to April 4 with our Grandson. Upon our arrival there was not anyone at the front gate but that was not a problem as we just went into area "J" and selected a location. This was a double site as we had a boat, camper and car. the double site was very convenient for our situation. The Camp site was quite falt with two picknic tables.
Every camp site had been totally cleaned of trash and leaves before our arrival. All the roads and sidewalks had also had all the leaves blown off of them.
Bathrooms and showers were modern and clean. But it appears that there could have been additional showers, there was only one for male and one for female.
While I was concerned before our arrival due to a bad review, I found the camp extremely nice and would return.

Room Tip: Area "J" is the closest to the boat ramp if that is of interest. No permit required if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank PapawMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead
0.0 mi away
Best Western Eagles Inn
Best Western Eagles Inn
#1 of 7 in Morehead
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Mammoth Cave
0.0 mi away
Carter Caves State Resort
Carter Caves State Resort
#1 of 1 in Olive Hill
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Morehead
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead
Hampton Inn Morehead
#2 of 7 in Morehead
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Morehead, KY
Motel 6 Morehead, KY
#5 of 7 in Morehead
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Knobs Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Knobs Campground

Address: 5195 Kentucky Highway 801 South, Daniel Boone National Forest, Morehead, KY 40351
Region: United States > Kentucky > Morehead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Morehead
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Twin Knobs Campground Hotel Morehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing