We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Morehead
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Morehead
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The only quality about this place is in the name. Extremely dirty room. Sheets were not fresh. There were small holes in the bathroom ceiling and the bathroom itself was filthy. Carpet smelled as bad as it looked. Breakfast was a joke. When I tried to check in, someone else had already taken my room. The staff had run my credit card and let someone else take my room. They even signed in under a different name. "Luckily" and I don't think I really was, they let me have a different room. Only positive about the experience was the pleasant person working the night shift at the desk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Morehead
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

During our recent vacation, we had car trouble which stranded us in Moorehaed from Friday 6/28 through Monday 7/1, 2013. The new Manager, Reema, worked with us as we didnt know just how long we would be stranded. It was obvious that the previous manager had been very lax on the staff, and cleaning needed to be improved. Saturday morning the Cleaning began, It took ALL day for all staff members to thoroughly go through the rooms on the 1st & 2nd floors to insure they were properly cleaned. They even cleaned the elevator. Reema wasnt sure if all the staff would last, but if they did, it was because they were going to do their job correctly. The beds were comfortable and bedding was clean. A little dated. I think the motel has recently changed ownership, and the previous owners had not invested in upkeep of equipment or rooms for a few years. Some burn holes in bedding, fixtures (lamps) loosely attached to the walls, air conditioning not working in all rooms. The main cleaning issue was that they were just going through the motions, not dusting properly, or vacuuming under everything or along the walls. The clock radio had days/weeks of dust on it. The fridge worked as did both microwaves. I think the staff thought they didn't work because one plug-in was controlled by the switch by the door. If it wasnt on, they didnt work. Which brings me back to "they were only going through the motions", why were there 2 microvaves still in the room, if one didnt work, remove it!!! The pool was cold, but the kids enjoyed it, however the pool room was very dirty, mud under the rubber mats near the steps into the pool, and food on the floor and walls not properly cleaned up. With all these negatives being said, I think Reema will get things back into shape, and we will definitely stay here again if going through this direction.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a working A/C. We stayed in 210 and 212 and they worked.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayco-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

First of all, if you are looking for 5-star lodging you should have either driven another 60 miles west on I 64 or stayed there to begin with. We've stayed at this Quality Inn twice for 2 nights each time in order to visit friends. The front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant both stays. The rug in the room needs to be replaced, but had been vacuumed, the bathroom was quite clean, every thing worked including the frig and microwave and the room was large and comfortable both times so our experience is not in line with the worst of the comments in the reviews of this Quality Inn. I need handicap accessibility and this motel is above average in that regard. The common areas (lobby, elevator, hallways) are in terrible condition and I don't know how the staff were as nice as they were since there was no air conditioning anywhere except in the rooms. The temperature was in the 80's and humid outside and probably not far from that by late afternoon in the lobby. They do offer a basic breakfast but no hot items. We do several multi-day road trips per year and Quality Inn is not my first choice. The Quality Inn in Morehead is an example of the reason. We have found that for the "quality" is unpredictable although so far the inn has always existed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ml W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My daugther will be starting her thrid year at the Morehead State University. This little hotel is were we have always stayed. From the first college visit til now. The staff has always been very nice and willing to make our stay great. The pool is very nice and clean. This hotel is a little out dated but is close to the college and we have grow to trust the staff. There has been staff and management changes in the last three years that, we have been staying at Quality Inn but, still the same kind helpful ways are there. We live 3 hours away from Morehead so it is nice to know we have a safe place to stay when we come to see our daugther. This little hotel has been a big part of our college experence. We stayed on the first college soar visit and we will stay on her graduation day in 2015. thank you for making us feel like family and being a part of this great experence.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMMIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed here on June 9th and we were not impressed. It needed a good cleaning. The elevator was filthy, not the kind of filth that accumulates in one day. When we went to our room, only 1 of 3 lights would work. I asked for bulbs and was able to get another one on, but one would not work at all. The bathroom floor was dirty. There was hair and dirt on the bathroom floor behind the door. The breakfast was not what we expected either. The sausage gravy appeared to have been warmed up several times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_MNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

What more can I say? The accommodations in most college towns are rarely 5-star resorts. The Quality Inn is located next to the Holiday Inn Express, which may be a little nicer, but more expensive, and the Days Inn, which I use only when other local motels are full.

On our most recent trip, it was quiet and we found no evidence of housekeeping neglect. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was neat. As with most aging motels, there are some maintenance issues which should be addressed, but nothing bad enough to send us screaming to our car. I had to ask for ice at the desk, as there was no ice machine near the vending machines. The elevator is noisy but functioning, and the breakfast was adequate, although some of the usual items were missing. In short, this Quality Inn was an average, semi-reasonably-priced (we qualify for various discounts), college town motel. In our case, the friendliness of the staff and the convenient location are why we use this motel when in Morehead.

Room Tip: They have both smoking and non-smoking, and they do accept pets. We once had to ask for another room...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentuckyHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Pros:
- Front desk staff was very friendly.
- Good size indoor pool. Pool was heated and clean.
- Good location.
- Close to restaurants.

Cons:
- Hotel room was extremely dirty. Smelled like stale cigarettes. Cobwebs on the ceiling and light fixtures. Carpet was heavily stained. Numerous stains on the walls and along the ceiling. I took pictures and would love to attach them to this review. Unfortunately, that is not possible.
- Bathroom seemed clean, but was a little iffy so we chose not to shower. Thankfully it was just an overnight stay. The caulking around the tub seemed to be old and molded. Hair dryer was old and discolored.
- Breakfast area in the lobby was very small and did not accommodate the number of guests staying at the hotel.
- Poor signage - the sign did not light up at night.
- The door of the first room we were given was jammed and could not be opened.
- Many stains on the ceiling in the hallway.

Overall, not an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Morehead
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead
Hampton Inn Morehead
#2 of 7 in Morehead
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Eagles Inn
Best Western Eagles Inn
#1 of 7 in Morehead
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Morehead, KY
Motel 6 Morehead, KY
#5 of 7 in Morehead
4 reviews
23.0 mi away
Carter Caves State Resort
Carter Caves State Resort
#1 of 1 in Olive Hill
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Morehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Morehead

Address: 175 Toms Dr, I-64 at Exit 137, Morehead, KY 40351-8413 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Morehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Morehead
Price Range: £61 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Morehead 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently off of I-64, the Red Roof Inn Morehead offers free WiFi and flat screen TVs in all rooms. Located close to many shopping and eating opportunities, this hotel is a perfect accommodation for business and leisure travel. All guest rooms include microwave & refrigerator. A continental breakfast is offered daily, and an indoor pool for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn Morehead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Morehead
Morehead Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing