We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murray Plaza Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Murray Plaza Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Murray Plaza Lodge has been my family's choice when in Murray. We used to stay at one of the name branded chain hotels until we found this gem. The rooms are always clean and the ground is well maintained. The plants outside looked fresh-green and the roses were beautiful. The gazebos are nice option for family to get together and spend fun time.

Room Tip: Suite on a corner was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Kenny:

We are glad to hear that our place is your family's choice when you are in Murray. Also happy to know that our guests enjoy our gardens and gazebos with us. Thank you so much for your time and effort in writing us such a wonderful review. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    31
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
80
26
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spotless, more well done renovation than many five stars. An absolute best find. Spotless. No hotel smell. Book ahead. This hidden gem is being discovered. Fridge, microwave, and coffee in every room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Palvey:

Thank you so much for staying with us and writing us such an encouraging review. There is nothing more cheering than a guest's happy review. Hope the same smile goes back to you as you have made us smile :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okla
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed three nights at this lodge and it was a great visit! The owner is kind and helpful, staff is friendly, nice quiet, clean rooms. Would highly recommend to anyone traveling to the area! The rooms have been renovated, and updated but still keeping the charm of the old lodge it once was. Beautiful plants and shrubs surround the outside and even a couple gazebo's outside so you can sit and enjoy the fresh air.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OklaChatterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear OkaChatterbox:

What a cut nickname! Last week we had very very nice quilters from all over the country and even from other countries. Hope we could guess who you are but most of them were very very nice and very Chatterboxy, in good ways. Can't wait for you all to come back next year. Thank you for rating us with such kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Staying at the Murray Plaza Lodge is a trip back in time. The clerk was very friendly and made you feel welcome. It has been completely renovated. The exterior is nicely landscaped with shrubs, trees, and a gazebo. Our room was renovated with a new window, door, paint, bed, etc. When renovating they kept many of the other original furnishings. They did not serve breakfast. Overall, it's a great value. We would definitely stay at the Murray Plaza again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alamo341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and appreciating what we have done here. The trees and shrubs you mentioned are getting greener every day and the roses are about to bloom in a day or two. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The level of customer service here is way above the bar. The Owner takes great pride in the property and it shows. My daughter will be at Murray State in the fall and I will definitely stay here every time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Shannan:

Welcome to Murray! Thank you for staying with us and taking your precious time to write us this wonderful review. Nice Guests like you have made our place clean and pleasant place to stay. Thank you for helping us feel proud.

- Ray and Helian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My family stayed at Murray Plaza Lodge when we were visiting relatives in the United States. Murray was a beautiful small town. Murray Plaza Lodge itself was a great attraction to us. All rooms were bottom floor and it had large parking space, big lawn and three big gazebos, all of which are rare to find in my country. We had three rooms. The rooms were very well organized and clean. On one morning we fixed some simple Korean dishes using microwaves in rooms and had breakfast in the big gazebo. That was fun experience.

The owners were very accommodating. They speak multiple languages (especially the hostess is from Korea, so she speaks Korean and English). It was convenient for us to have someone who speaks Korean when we needed help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hyeonbeom j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hay, look who's here! Thank you for remembering us and writing us such a wonderful feedback. We really enjoyed having your family here. The beauty of having this business is meeting people from all around the world, and from my home country. Isn't it fun to see someone speaking your language where you didn't expect? Please say hello to your family for me and Ray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteno, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband, myself and family stayed at this Lodge many years ago and stopped staying there because it had deteriorated so badly that we did not enjoy staying there. However, in 2013 while visiting the trip advisor web site I came upon the Murray Plaza Lodge and started reading some of the reviews and decided I would call for reservations. I was a little skeptical about booking our room, but the pictures were so pretty and I guess our curiosity got the best of us and we wanted to see for ourselves if this was the same place. To our surprise, the place looked like the pictures and it was a pleasure to stay at this Lodge. Not only was the office and rooms refurbished, but the grounds around the Lodge were beautiful and the gazebos added to the beauty. Our room was very clean and it had a fridge, microwave, nice TV and coffee pot.

It being our 50th wedding anniversary we wanted to go to Patti's Village and while asking for the restaurant's phone number, Hellian told us she would call and make reservations for us. We were so impressed with her and her husband. They are very thoughtful, friendly and very accommodating.

We were so happy with our first visit, when we went back to Murray in September 2013 to visit relatives we called and made reservations to stay again. What amazed me was all I told Hellian on the phone was my name and she remembered me. I don't remember a fancier hotel remembering me. I know that a lot of people like the fancier hotels and I have stayed at those too, but I do not believe that you or your family would not be disappointed to stay at Murray Plaza Lodge. We are looking forward to our next visit to the Murray Plaza Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helian O, Owner at Murray Plaza Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Barbara:

Thank you for not forgetting us and writing us such a kind review. We are glad to know that your curiosity about our rooms resulted in good stay. We will study and work all the time to make every aspect of your stay enjoyable. Looking forward to your next stay!

- Ray and Helian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Murray
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Murray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
20.1 mi away
Quality Inn Paris/Ky Lake Area
21.8 mi away
Wingfield Inn
Wingfield Inn
#1 of 2 in Mayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Plaza Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Plaza Lodge

Property: Murray Plaza Lodge
Address: 506 S 12th St, Murray, KY 42071-2914
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Murray
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Murray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Plaza Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murray Plaza Lodge is the only independently owned hotel in Murray, Kentucky (KY). All rooms are very clean and 100% smoke/pet-free. Special rates for Murray State parents/alumni, AAA, senior/AARP, military and government. Murray State University 6 blocks. Kentucky Lake and Land Between the Lakes in 20 minutes. All rooms located on first floor. Front door parking. Beautiful gardens with three big gazebos. Every room has AC/heat, microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Murray Plaza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing