We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gateway Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Newport B&B and Inns
louisville, ky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I visited Newport the weekend of Sept 20-22 for our anniversity. We had planned to attend the Octoberfest in Cincinnati. We wanted to stay in a bed and breakfast that was within walking distance. We booked at the Gateway B&B. We loved it! We checked in on late Friday night, walked to the city of Newport to eat and the next day walked across the pedestrian bridge to Cincinnati. The B&B is so convenient to everything. It is also a very beautiful, comfortable old home that has been lovingly cared for. Our room was outfitted with a queen size bed and full bath with jetted tub. It was private and quiet. The breakfast was tastey and filling and the host made you feel like you were family. A huge plus was the off street parking. We would definately recommed and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flfgvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Really enjoyed our 2nd Anniversary getaway at the Gateway B & B! Sandy & Ken were so comfortable to be with and made us feel at home. The location is great, too and we walked up Washington to the Levee and enjoyed several stops along the way. The Gateway B & B will be the place we stay again!
P.S. Thanks, Sandy, for remembering and giving us an Anniversary gift of chocolates with your kind note!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueinky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were in town for the Macy Music Fest. We had a wonderful stay at Gateway this weekend. Sandy and Ken were very warm and inviting. Our room was very comfortable, the two person jetted tub was incredible! The decorum in each room was breath taking, I saw something new each time I entered a room. The entire house is simply stunning! Would defiantly recommend!

Kam and Tina.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamau319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had a wonderful two-day stay with Sandy and Ken at the Gateway. The home is beautiful and comfortable and it was very convenient to many Newport attractions and to walk to downtown Cincinnati. Breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed talking with Sandy and Ken. We were even fortunate enough to get a demonstration of the player piano and for Ken to sing along! It was a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nancy room and it was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Just came back from a one night stay. Wonderful house with so much history. Such friendly owners Ken and Sandy make you feel at home right away. I stayed in the Nancy room. loved it! beautiful room huge windows beautiful furnishings and lovely bathroom too. Breakfast was delicious and served in their gorgeous dining room on lovely china. Great conversation with other guests. Truly a gem. No hotel could compare. So if you are in northern KY, please treat yourself and book a room here.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MADforTravelItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Sadly, we were just passing through and only stayed the one night. The Clifts are a lovely couple and their house is full of lovely treasures to view around every corner. They've been hosting guests for years now - and it shows. They know how to talk to people, how to treat them, and when to leave them be. Our room was comfortable and immaculate and breakfast was plentiful, fresh and delicious. We'll be back - to stay with them and to further explore the Covington/Newport/Cincinnati region.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karimacdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were able to spend only one evening at the Gateway, but even our brief stay was very comfortable. The innkeepers, Sandy and Ken are very personable and make you feel welcome and very much at home. They have gone to great lengths to restore this beautiful old Victorian three story house in a lovely historic neighborhood. With attention to detail, you can tell it was a labor of love for them. Ken has some very interesting collections of antique pump organs and baseball memorabelia.

The house is impreccably clean, with all the expected ammenities. There were nice terrycloth robes in our room, along with the usual toiletries and a hair dryer. The large whirlpool tub was wonderful! We stayed in the Nancy room, which is the smallest, but very comfortable for two people.

We liked the fact that there are no TVs in the rooms. If you must have TV, there is a very nice flat screen in the parlor on the first floor.

We were served a delicious breakfast of fruits, breads, bacon and eggs and goetta (a Cincinnati delicacy) cooked to perfection. They also had yogurt and cereals available.

I highly recommend this B&B and look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
Comfort Suites
#3 of 6 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gateway Bed and Breakfast
Address: 326 E 6th St, Newport, KY 41071-1962
Region: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing