We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Best”
Review of York Street Cafe

York Street Cafe
Ranked #4 of 106 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Johnstown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just six weeks after our initial visit, my daughter and I enjoyed another terrific dinner at York Street. We both had the Flippin' Shrimp app, which are five medium sautéed shrimp served with a bacon maple cream sauce. My entree was one of the night's specials: Three Cheese Manicotti with Smokey Tomato Sauce. The blend of favors was light, unique and flavorful. Daughter enjoyed her Asian-Spiced Baby Back Ribs, served with garlic potatoes and steamed broccoli.

Since the Cafe has no signature drink (I wish they did!) I asked for a particular combination of juices and alcohol. It came exactly as requested and was delicious. Our only other food item was a chocolate hazelnut flourless torte, which daughter said was very tasteful, rich and delicious.

We must cite the work of Chris, our server. He is knowledgable, efficient, and utterly charming. His voice is smooth as the pie he serves and he could be a model for television announcers. He actually makes you feel like you've been friends all your life, and is sincerely grateful for your choosing to dine at The Cafe.

Dinner for two with apps, drinks, and one dessert - including dessert and tax, was $82. Given the exceptional service and outstanding food, we left $100 for the bill and tip, along with our words of appreciation.

This is a very popular restaurant (see ranking above) and they only take reservations for tables of 6 or more. So for dinner either go early or after 7:30 to be sure to get a table right away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cedar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    40
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem in Newport, KY”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

.....This was a first visit for me.....met an old friend there....such an interesting place....the building itself has a history.....decorated perfectly...so many things on walls and shelves to gaze upon......and oh...the lunch was wonderful...I had the smoked salmon wrap...delicious....then a specialty coffee for dessert....sat and talked for 2 hours....we did not feel rushed....everyone was pleasant....superb service........looking forward to a repeat visit......perhaps if weather permitting...I will sit outside on the patio.....great place....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYRNINKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Off the beaten path, great menu, eclectic atmosphere. Exceptional value. The menu changes regularly and the main dishes are classics with a twist.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mertz1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Much Better Than This”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Downtown Newport, Kentucky is an enigma: part modern, cool and hip; the other part a bit worn, reminiscent of the grand days when this are was flourishing. The location of York Street Cafe HS some of both, but the Cafe itself appears to be part of the renaissance of the North Newport area, and undoubtedly within a year or two this will be "the place to go" south of the Levee.

The food is exquisite. Our apps consisted of the blue gold salad (mesclun, yellow beets, blueberries, almond slivers, goat cheese and the most AMAZING homemade Gorgonzola dressing. Companion had a tray of shrimp grilled in some confection that included bacon and other naughties that she still raved about an hour after we left. We also had basket of wonderful whole grain bread with pats of butter.

Entrees were a 1/2 grilled chicken prepared with bacon, apple cider, and other ingredients, with sides of garlic potatoes and broccoli. And an encrusted tilapia smothered in spinach, artichokes and a cream cheese topping, with sides of rice and broccoli. Both entrees were perfectly prepared, with delicate but definite flavors that commanded the diners' respect without overpowering.

One dessert was wrapped for home: a slice of red velvet cake that satiated companion's sweet tooth.

The decor is terrific: a blend of antiques, kitsch, junk, and everything in between. Some is for sale, and next door is a mercantile where other similar jewels can apparently be bargained for. The owner's decision to convert a former old-fashioned pharmacy works well, especially since the lighting fixtures, bar area and other original decor is still in place.

Dinner for two with drinks, apps, entrees, one dessert, tax, and a very generous tip for Chris, who is the most charming and helpful waiter around, came to $100, with enough good food left over for a full dinner tomorrow night.

The York Street Cafe should continue to grow and blossom along with the rest of the downtown Newport area. Please, though, don't let it lose its charm, ambiance, and above all, amazing food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cedar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax here with friends!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We eat out almost every night. This is one of our regular haunts... we can pop in for a fantastic 'catch of the day' - served fresh - beautiful presentation - or a gourmet salad, conversation board with a honey amaretto for dipping French bread with brie and fruit... makes my mouth water to think about it.

We always order 'dirty hummus' when we bring friends.. it's delicious and if you're nice to the server they will tell you how to make it! I make this for every 'fete to rave reviews.

Just go.. Relax.. and fall in love with this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kranny115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to York Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing