We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I mean it's Graeter's!”

Graeter's Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Newport
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Handcrafted for Five Generations Since 1870. Louis and Regina Graeter started handcrafting Graeter's Ice Cream in 1870. Today, generations later, we proudly remain family owned and operated. This is made possible thanks to you, our legion of loyal fans. For a century and a half, Graeter's has remained steadfast in our commitment to making ice cream in 2 gallon French Pots one batch at a time.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I mean it's Graeter's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

It's Graeter's, What more can you say!!! It's AMAZING and DELICIOUS! The Black Raspberry Chocolate chip is so delicious and basically just choose your Favorite flavor and you are going to Love it. There's nothing like the taste and consistency of this particular brand. It's a must try ice-cream, the BEST.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
260 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Our Hometown Ice Cream is the BEST - bar none.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We have visited a lot of places and are always on the prowl for some good ice cream. Graeters is by far our favorite. Nice variety of flavors, sundaes and really love some of the specialty seasonal ice creams they come out with throughout the year. The best part for me is that the ice cream does NOT leave that pasty aftertaste that some ice creams do. I like this tuff. Some of the recently revamped locations also feature delicious pastries and coffee for early mornings. Again, something different than the Panera, Starbucks and Donuts.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank showstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dzucker@fuse.net
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Graeter's visits happen more than monthly for a reason. Another Cincinnati treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Graeters is now on Broadway in the play Dead Accounts. It is uniquely Cincinnati but now available across the country. But come in at night and share cones and dishes with friends. You have to buy any kind of ice cream with chips. The chips are really chunks of chocolate. Its hard to go anywhere else for dessert after a meal in Cincinnati because there is nothing better than Graeters for dessert.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Famous French Pot CREAM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Not only is the ice cream devoid of any icey crystals but it is so rich the flavors simply luxuriant in the cream. They other special thing are the CHIPS--glacier in size and dark chocolate really is supreme! Nice selection of old time phosphates, sundaes, and fresh whipped cream tops them to perfection. The sorbets are flavorful and also perfection! We like their orange angel food cake, candies, and buttercrust bread too! mmmmmm

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeeSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Graeters ice cream is a Cincinnati area must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Getting Graters is a mark of the true Cincinnstian. It is simply marvellous! A little goes a long way. This is densely packed, extremely tasty ice cream. Minty chocolate ice cream is one of my favorites. But vanilla or chocolate is simply amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Graeter's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Graeter's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing